We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Breeze Motel

Save Saved
You added Summer Breeze Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Summer Breeze Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9227 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32407   |  
Hotel amenities
Sanford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Value in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were attending an event in Panama City Beach and wanted to stay nearby. Using a search engine, we found Summer Breeze Inn Motel listed as one of the least expensive near the beach. We called and confirmed the rate and availabilty and were guaranteed a room upon our arrival. The first thing you will notice is the paint job on the building....it's kind of bright, did I mention yellow? The building is a two story strip motel design with a swimming pool out front in the parking lot. The check in process was seemless and we stayed in room 109. The room had a full kitchen, including full size refrigerator, two double beds, tub/shower and separate bathroom. There were signs of beachfront corrosion on the metal fixtures in the kitchen, but we didn't utilize any of them, so I just assume they all work. The bathroom was extremely clean and the fixtures flowed ample amounts of water to get the job done. The air conditioner worked well and chilled us during the night. Cable TV included a couple of premium movie channels. The walls are not completely soundproof, but we were not bothered by outside noise. There were some signs that you wouldn't want to leave valuables in your car, but remember, this is a tourist area. The office moniters the grounds with a closed circuit television. While the motel is not on the beach, it is under a 1/2 mile walk to the surf following the side street. There is ample shopping, including restaurants, souvineor shops and play parks. One stop shopping for forgotten items at nearby Walmart.

Overall, this is an older facility is overall good condition conveniently located near the beach for a fair price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    3
    2
    17
See reviews for
9
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was one of the cheapest places to stay, and since a couple friends couldn't make the trip, we needed a cheaper place to stay. The room was clean, and there was even a kitchenette. The pool was kept clean and the overall atmosphere of the motel was laid back, which was nice. I don't know if we were put in a smoking room, but the room smelled like cigarettes. It's not too far of a walk to an adventure park, Domino's, Ripley's, Dip'n'Dots, and a few other souvenir shops. The beach is probably a 15 minute walk. The room looked a little run down, but I wasn't expecting anything fancy for $54 a night. The staff was very nice and I am happy to have gotten a deal in Panama City Beach!

Room Tip: Maybe request to have a non smoking room if they have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We decided to head down at the last minute. This motel had vacancy. I was afraid from all the other reviews I read. It wasn't a 5-star hotel, but it served our needs - a bed and a shower. It is in serious need of updating. The appliances were clean but very old. The room was clean and smelled good but just old. The staff were pleasant. It was adequate for our needs.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify "smoking or non-smoking" and rooms on left side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Some of the previous reviews seem just plain hateful! When I stayed (Jan-Mar 2012) the rooms had been freshly painted, the staff was courteous (To the people who knew how to act right! Some guests were rude and the staff had to be blunt...sometimes people are jerks!) The hotel isn't new by any stretch of the imagination, but the housekeepers did an excellent job keeping the place clean. I never saw any bugs in my room. For the money I spent, I thought it was totally worth it. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you like to avoid eating out all the time, ask for a room with a kitchenette...I saved so much mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011 via mobile

Yes this isnt the sandpiper or calypso but for the price its great. There was no bugs at all. No odor. Very clean and I didn't here noise once (other than what came by on the road). Coming in after reading reviews I was afraid to even open the door, but this place isn't near as bad as the other reviews say. The staff isn't the most professional acting but they are courtious. Maybe we lucked out and got the one nice room here, but I really can't a huge problem with the place. I would def stay here again

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

First off, the photos and video of this motel are enormous lies!!! I booked this motel for a 3 day trip for my nephew and I. The price was in my budget and had the necessities while being only one mile from the beach. First day there, we got a room that was filthy and smelled of cigarette smoke when it was supposed to be a smoke free environment. The front door had no latch so it was difficult to lock, while you could still see light coming from around the sides of it, as well as light coming through the holes in the curtains, as if they had been eaten by moths! Our mattresses looked as if they had been 20 years old or so, stains and everything still there along with cigarette holes and ripped open pillows, and we didn't even feel comfortable sleeping on them after washing the sheets, so we ended up buying sleeping bags to lay on the beds. The water usually had 2 temperatures, hot and hotter, and they provide you with 1 roll of TP in the bathroom. The carpets are filthy, there's roach crap around the circuits on the walls, and decon under the beds. There's only 1 washer and dryer to do laundry with on the top floor, and the refrigerators shut down for 3 hrs every 24 hrs so they don't freeze over, and the only part you get on HBO are previews...and believe it or not, the tv was the only good thing about this room! We never took off our shoes the whole time we were there, and took everything of value with us where ever we went. They try to charge extra for anything else you could possibly need, extra keys, phone service, etc...you name it, that's why it's so cheap! Maid service only vaccumed and changed out our trash once through out our stay, and the night before we checked out, this guy started knocking on doors trying to find the person that was going to sell him some dope!!! Needless to say, we will never be staying there again, and I'd advise you to do the same!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We had booked a few days at the Grand cayman (which was also a huge disgusting mistake) but went down a day early and the only thing available was the summer breeze. WE asked for non smoking and the first room we walked in had been smoked in everyday for the last 100 years. so we asked to be moved.they told us that was a non smoking room, so after a little arguing we were told we would have to pay an extra 10 dollars for the kitchen that was in the other non smoking. when we walked in that room it it smelled as if 100 dead fish had been in there. So we asked to be moved again. we ended up in a "non smoking room" that smelled like a bar. but we stayed. we wore our shoes the whole time. When we turned on the water to the shower, at first came out grey(but so did Grand Caymans) and burned our eyes. i did not see any roaches but i do believe they were with us! the location was ok. and they gave us some extra free toiletries when we left. that was nice of them. The manager is a man, so if you must stay here send the woman into take care of issues. That seemed to work best for us. and the axe body spray and hand lotions were given to the kids!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Summer Breeze Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Breeze Motel

Also Known As:
Summer Breeze Hotel Panama City Beach
Summer Breeze Hotel
Address: 9227 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32407
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Summer Breeze Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 miles from the beautiful white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico. Our privately owned motel is near many major attractions! Parking, Wifi and HBO are always free at our property. Kitchenette rooms are available for your convenience. Under New Management in 2014! Many upgrades in progress. Come spend your next vacation with Summer Breeze Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Summer Breeze Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Breeze Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.