We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will never stay anywhere else.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Driftwood Lodge to your Saves list
Driftwood Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15811 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Flora
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You will never stay anywhere else.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I spent a week here in May and heading back in October for another week. This place feels like home. The staff is always so nice, accommodating and helpful for anything you need, any time of day. Enjoy chatting with the guests, many of which come back time after time. This is a no frills hotel, but who needs frills when you have a place that makes and treats you like their own family?? Excellent location to anything you would need. We first starting coming here when our kids were newborns, they are now 26 and 22, and I have started bringing the next generation with us. We look forward to each and every trip there...love the movie night and homemade fudge and soups....

Room Tip: all rooms here are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwoodpcb, Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for making us your place for family memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    42
    9
    9
    4
See reviews for
84
59
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My sister and I spent five fun days last week at the Driftwood Lodge. We used to come here as kids and rediscovered it a few years ago. Owned and run by the Gilmore Family, it's such a friendly place and so relaxing. We enjoy seeing familiar faces when we return: Lennie with his home-made peanut butter fudge for movie night and Ramil's smiling face at the front desk. We met Suzanne this time, a third-generation Gilmore. We always try to get a cabana room so we can be right down by the beach with a kitchenette. We noticed some very nice upgrades this visit: new shelving in the bath room, a flat-screen TV, WiFi, new lounge chairs on the deck, a PC in the communal sun room. We enjoy the traditions like the weekly outdoor movie (and Lenny's fudge), watermelon daily at 1:00 followed by watermelon seed spitting contests for the kids, popcorn every afternoon in the sun room, hotdogs and Mexican Cokes at the Tiki Bar. The Driftwood is conveniently located near Pier Park, so a movie theatre, lots of restaurants and shopping are just a short walk away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwoodpcb, Owner at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
It has been our treat to provide our guests a great family vacation for over 55 years. We love it when "Old Drifters" come back and rediscover us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medora, IN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We loved this property! Very well maintained. Staff was so nice! Rooms were cleaned daily and always a great job!

So many little things, too! Daily free watermelon, popcorn, etc. One night was movie night. Grandkids loved that! The Cabana Room was perfect for us. Very convenient to beach.

The staff was always helpful if you had questions about surrounding area-things to do, directions, etc.

Price was very fair for accommodations!

Also was very convenient to Pier Park.

Absolutely loved it!

Room Tip: Cabana rooms are best accessible to beach and have the most room if you want to cook on grill. Tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Driftwood Lodge are the perfect vacation spot for any family! Located on the west end of Panama City Beach and in walking distance to Pier Park, this hotel offers family fun options for everyone. My older sons were able to take an amazing surf class directly in front of the hotel while my younger ones played on the sand and in the pool. Another great feature of the Driftwood is the beach side bar/playground. My husband and I were able to enjoy refreshments while our kids played on the play set and sand toys.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a beach side view. I would reserve a room on the second floor. It is a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I were headed back to Atlanta from Destin and decided to take a detour and drive to PCB for lunch! After arriving in PCB, we decided to try and find a room for the night! We didnt want to spend the standard $300 for one night, so I decided to check out Tripadvisor and I came across the Driftwood Lodge! I am the worlds pickest traveler... I actually have to see a room before I purchase! Anyway, I was a bit nervous about the Driftwood, however once I looked at a room, I was sold! Yes, its older, but our room had been renovated and was very CLEAN! The Driftwood had a very friendly atmosphere! I really loved the fact I could leave my room and be on the beach within a matter of seconds! NO 10 MINUTE waits for the elevator! The Driftwood is my new home away from home! A++++++++++++ YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwoodpcb, Owner at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are so glad to know you had such a great experience and we look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I've only been home a week and want to go back!! I meant to take a video of the property and room but forgot :( We had a large double down by the shuffle board and it was perfect. Spacious, comfy bed and pillow, even the sleeper sofa was doable! Small patio with a picnic table was great for hanging out after the sun goes down. It would be nice to have a laundry facility for the building but no biggie, its right next door. The property is SO clean and the beach is right out your door. The beach and water look just like the pics. It is a great place for hanging with the family. We met old friends down their and made some new memories. Can't wait to book for next summer! The kiddos and adults will like the stay. And grown ups you can always head across the street to Donovan's for a cocktail and some karaoke - kids wanna sing too well a few steps further is Shuckems.

Be sure though to sign up for activities early as they do fill up and no one supplied that information. The surf camp is amazing - young and old alike will enjoy! Just book the place if not not into froofroo and over priced! Very clean and NO problems at all!!!!

Float on my friends~

Room Tip: Large double by the shuffle board - full kitchen and plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwoodpcb, General Manager at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We strive to provide families a great place to vacation. Surf Camp, Watermelon Time and our games are definitely a big hit with kids of all ages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We just finished our week trip for the 6th year in a row. We first chose the this hotel because of the price and location, but Driftwood is more than just a place to stay.... it's our second home.
They offer so many things for the kids to do, sand castle contests, pool games, sack race on the beach and much much more. Fresh popcorn is available everyday and evening, movie night on the sun desk every Friday with homemade fudge made by one of the employees.
It is a short walk to Peir Park mall which has many fantastic restaurants, and just a bit pass there is Dustys Oyster bar (family friendly).
They offer a few different room options with large kitchens in some and the cabana rooms are just a foot step to the beach. Oh, @ 1:00 everyday from Memorial Day to Labor day is "Watermelon Time" best darn watermelon one will ever have.... and it's a natural sun block.
If you want a large fancy mega resort then this is NOT the place for you, but if you want somewhere that makes you feel like family, offer very clean rooms with AC that would freeze a polar bear then this is the place. We keep coming back year after year. We have met many nice families there and now we all return at the same time in June... sort of our reunion.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwoodpcb, Owner at Driftwood Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for trusting us with your family’s vacation. I was delighted to read your review, and was especially pleased to read your kind words about our resort. It made me happy to know you feel at home with us. Our family considers it a privilege to share the beautiful place where we work and live with our guests. We would be thrilled to welcome you back when your travels bring you this way again.

Hospitably yours,

The Gilmore Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Address: 15811 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driftwood Lodge is located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. A large shady palm lined courtyard wraps around our beachfront heated pool and sundeck. The courtyard is where our guests find themselves making new and often lifelong friends. Throughout the year there are planned activities, ranging from cook-outs and sunset parties to Easter Egg Hunts and other children's games. Pier Park shopping and entertainment district is located within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Driftwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Panama City Beach
Driftwood Lodge Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.