We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, right on the beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Lodge
15811 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$20 off room rate
Ranked #4 of 53 hotels in Panama City Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, right on the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night & it was everything we were looking for: Clean, beachfront, reasonably priced. We were on 1st floor, big picture window framed a beautiful view of the Tiki Deck & beach. Also had a nice private patio & picnic table. Front desk hosts were friendly & had just popped corn for the guests that were visiting in the common living room. We will be returning. I think this would be a great place for a family reunion.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    36
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
75
56
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I went to Panama City Beach during the week of Christmas. I read some reviews from the Driftwood Lodge and settled there. I had one of the cabana rooms which was pretty much on the beach. The room was clean and nicely furnished. The bed slept comfortably and it also had a little kitchen to it. There was no stove but grills outside were there to use. I did grill out one night where I bought from the local fish market. The front desk staff was very helpful with the few questions I had. The internet did not work due the cabana rooms being brick. They told me the internet worked fine in other parts of the hotel. I wished the weather would of been a bit nicer but the Driftwood Lodge had nothing to do with that.

Room Tip: If you want to be on the beach grab a cabana room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Well Pa and I returned again in the fall to visit Driftwood Lodge without all the grandkids and as usual it was really great. The couple that went us in May also returned with us (no grandkids there either this time). They loved it too. Really great atmosphere and the weather was really nice. The staff was so glad to see us and asked where the kids were and how they were doing they never forget anyone thats what makes it so nice, then when we returned home the kids asked about the staff so therefore everyone remembers, therefore the feelings are great ( memories are made) and cant wait to get back to vacation time. So Driftwood watch out in May hereeeeee weeeeeeeeeee come again. Love uns.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This was our second year staying at Driftwood. Last year we stayed in the beachside Cabanas when we brought our kids and those rooms are right on the beach. This year for our 10th Anniversary we went back without the kids and stayed in an upstairs King Efficiency. This is an older hotel and some people might prefer the newer built tower hotels, but this place is family owned with lots of personal touches you won't find other places. They knew it was our Anniversary and when we got in our room there was a pair of wine glasses for us, filled with candies and sitting next to Driftwood t-shirt. There was always a staff member either sweeping or washing sand away or maintaining the grounds. Throughout the week they have contests, events, movies and more which only strengthens their family atmosphere. Plus, you can't beat the price, especially for a hotel that is within walking distance of the pier and Pier Park. I highly recommend this places and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I just wanted to say a quick few words about the Driftwood Lodge. My family (3 brothers, Father and everyone's spouses) all stayed here for a full week the weekend after Labor Fay. It was my family's second time to stay and my first. I can not say enough about how nice the owners, staff and other vacationers were to all of us! As other reviews state on this site, you truely felt like part of the family! They took care of ever need that you could think of. The housekeeping staff were on top of their game the entire stay. The front desk was always staffed by a friendly smile that spoke good english! The grounds were very well maintained and no thrash what so ever! It seemed like every afternoon there was some type of cooking going on by either the owners or guest wishing to share with everyone that wanted too!
We have booked the same rooms again for next year and like so many others we will be part of the Driftwood family!

Room Tip: Stay in the Bungaloos. It is closet to the beach. We rented all four units so we had the entier plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We absolutely love the Driftwood. The setting is just beautiful and even when raining, we can just sit on the balcony and enjoy the view and sound of the ocean. Wonderful landscaping and friendly staff and activities. I do agree with a shelf in the bathrooms for personal items. Unfortunately, we tried the Tiki Bar several times and it was not open (understand there are extenuating circumstances). We enjoyed that last year - visiting with the owner, playing shuffleboard, & drinking in the rain. To be able to just walk out to the beach in the evenings is so peaceful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We just returned from a week-long stay at the Driftwood. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is incredible. Since it's a family-owned property, they take great pride in making the guests happy. My only complaint is that the bathrooms are small ~ a shelf for personal items would be helpful. We are repeat guests and plan on returning again as soon as we can arrange a trip back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Driftwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Lodge

Address: 15811 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
#3 Best Value Hotel in Panama City Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Driftwood Lodge is located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. A large shady palm lined courtyard wraps around our beachfront heated pool and sundeck. The courtyard is where our guests find themselves making new and often lifelong friends. Throughout the year there are planned activities, ranging from cook-outs and sunset parties to Easter Egg Hunts and other children's games. Pier Park shopping and entertainment district is located within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Panama City Beach
Driftwood Lodge Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Driftwood Lodge to your Saves list