We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Condos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Pointe Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added High Pointe Resort to your Saves list
High Pointe Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   10254 East County Highway 30A, Panama City Beach, FL 32413   |  
Hotel amenities
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great Family Condos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We just returned from our first trip to the Gulf area. We spent one week in this area with three children, and can't imagine staying any place else. The Seacrest Beach/Rosemary Beach area is beautiful, and not as populated by tourists as Destin and Panama City Beach. We drove to both of those during our stay, and were very glad to get back to Seacrest Beach. We walked across the street to the shops of Rosemary Beach daily. High Pointe Resort itself was amazing, a very short walk down to the beach from the rooms. The pool was very large and the kids enjoyed it. We will definitely be going back next year, and wouldn't think of staying anyplace else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Found this May 10 2010 review way too late as I made the mistake of booking this unit. After checking in we found a note that the MBR shower did not work and would not be repaired during our stay. Unit is very dated with old TVs, patched holes in the walls, very dirty carpets and table ware (placemats) and some windows fogged up. Represented as a high end luxury condo but is more like a very tired, budget hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We tried High Pointe for the first time the first week in Oct. We rented directly from the owner...Dwight Fohner. It was very easy and everything went very smoothly. They were doing construction which was VERY annoying....but besides that it was wonderful. The condo was well furnished and the location was great! The pool/hot tub/kids pool is very nice. The beach is great for kids because the waves are not that bad and it is shallow. You do have to go up/down 47 :) steps to get to the beach. The condo also came with two beach chairs and an umbrella which was nice because you have to carry all of your stuff up and down the steps. You can walk across the street and be in "Rosemary Beach". The stores there are convienent but expensive. There is a Mexican restaurant that we took the whole family to and it was great. It was nice to walk across the street in the evening and sit outside and have an ice cream with the kids or if you prefer a drink or two. We will definitly go back....next time we will bring all of the family!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in room 13W 5/3/12-5/7/12 & it was fantastic. I booked the room online from Garrett Realty & the room looked exactly as the online pics showed. Everything was very clean & comfortable. The kitchen was fully stocked with more dishes than I've ever seen in a rental before. The king size bed in the master suite was very comfortable. The first floor direct gulf view was to die for! The pool was very nice & the 2 beach chairs & umbrella that were included was a nice perk. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone coming to this area.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms in the East or West buildings will give a direct gulf view. Because the resort sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have come to High Pointe for one week for the past 6 summers. It is a great resort for families with young children. The view from our unit 21W is unbeatable -- corner condo with wrap-around floor-to-ceiling sliding doors onto ocean-view balcony -- although it is in need of a few update inside. Still, the location to the beach as well as the beautiful private pool and walking distance of many cute cafes and shops makes it a perfect place for a family vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, Louisiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is such a nice place to stay in this area! We stayed in W33 and it was truly beautiful!!!! The views from the entire condo are breathtaking!!! We loved sitting on the balcony daily!!! The beach is beautiful and not crowded at all. This is the kind of place you never have to leave. There is so much to do in the area. Lovely bike trails and walking areas!!! Great pool! Great bar with good bar food! Only be warned it is a long way down to the beach probably 50+ steps down and back up again over and over....but well worth it! You leave in great shape from all the step climbing!!!

Room Tip: W33 is beautiful!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

High Pointe is a nice resort. Roomy, large bedrooms for a condo rental. Nicely decorated. Loved being right on the ocean and the pool was great. Stayed in unit # 1114 which is a ground floor unit and convenient for walking right to the pool or beach. No carring beach stuff up the stairs or elevators. Property is well maintained. Great for families with children of all ages. Loved being able to bike ride to dinner and surrounding areas. This resort is literally right next to Rosemary Beach without the higher price. Our unit #1114 was recently renovated. The floors were all hard tile with few rugs to help absorb the sounds of hard surfaces, and floors are very slippery with wet feet. Hard to keep noise level low when others are sleeping in the condo. The kitchen is lacking in some basic utinsils. Needs more dishes and plastic cups. There were no measuring spoons and the knifes were very dull. Didn't have any utinsils to use for grilling. The complex has plenty of grills on site for cooking. Overall, we loved the place and will return for another vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to High Pointe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Pointe Resort

Address: 10254 East County Highway 30A, Panama City Beach, FL 32413
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — High Pointe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Pointe Resort, is a private, gated, true Gulf front condo complex (not a hotel), whose condo units are privately owned. Our 4* family resort offering the finest amenities, located on the south side of Scenic 30A in South Walton County between Rosemary and Alys beaches. High Pointe Resort features its' own private, 600 ft. Long snow white beach and private Beach and Cabana Club. You can enjoy 35+ shops and restaurants, plus the daily activities of Rosemary and Alys beaches only 2 blocks away, and the Villages of Seacrest across the street. Then return to your private gated resort for relaxation and the crystal clear waves of the Gulf and enjoy our many amenities. The amenities at High Pointe Resort keep vacationers coming back year after year. In the center of our 15-acre resort is an expansive 6,000 sq. Ft. Lagoon pool with waterfalls. The pool meanders around large sunny and shaded pool decks with plenty of lounge chairs, tables and chairs. There is also a separate kiddy pool and a heated spa pool. Activities include 2 lighted regulation composite tennis courts, golf practice net, shuffle board courts, volleyball and water sports/activities on the beach and barbecue grills located throughout the resort. Kids love the fenced playground area made just for them. During high season there are daily organized kids' activities with kids' night out sessions (so you can get away for a romantic dinner). The 18 mile 30A Scenic Bike path starts directly at our front gate. The High Pointe Beach and Cabana Club features Crabby Steve's Bar & Grill. Crabby's is for guests only and overlooks the Gulf with fantastic sunset views. Sitting high atop the dune bluff, it has one of the best Gulf views on 30A and is a great place to grab a bite to eat at reasonable prices, without leaving the resort. High Pointe Resort is located 10 miles west of Pier Park in Panama City Beach; 20 miles east of Sandestin Golf & Beach Resort and 20 miles from Panama City Beach International Airport. Panama City Beach, Destin and Sandestin offer boat rentals, charter fishing, water parks, world-class golf, more shopping and restaurants if you feel like leaving the beautiful 30A area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your High Pointe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Pointe Hotel Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Pointe Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.