We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Sands Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Sands Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Sugar Sands Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   20723 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413 (Formerly Sugar Sands Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was a little worried at first, but upon seeing the room, I became a fan. The room was clean, nice view of the beach, decent bathroom, and awesome kitchenette with dishes and a little stove. My friends and I had a good time there. It was close enough to restaurants and entertainment, yet far enough from the hustle and bustle so we could have beach space without crowding. It was a plus that reception desk people were nice!

Room Tip: you may not want to stay on the ground floor, facing the beach since there's a lot of people tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    61
    22
    30
    59
See reviews for
100
52
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My family of 4 stayed here in June 2013. We chose it because of its quiet location. The beach was not crowded. Our kids had plenty of room to play. My 7 year old learned to swim in the hotel pool. Both kids loved this place and cannot wait to come back.
The hotel itself is old and worn. The matresses were thin and uncomfortable. But, we saw no bugs anywhere in the buildings. The appliances and bathroom fixtures were rusty. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They replaced a broken chair very quickly. Tourist attractions were a 15-30 minute drive. If you want a quiet stretch of beach, and you do not mind the worn carpets and beds, this is a good option.

Room Tip: I would ask for one of the top two floors to avoid the noise of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We love our first time stay and the staff went above and beyond. The 1st night the elevator went down and since we were on the 5th floor the night guy quickly explained up front that it may be down for a while. He offered us a room in the other tower and without hesitation even offered to assist us with our luggage. The new room was indeed much larger and we really appreciated the upgrade. Our initial room was fine however my mom had a bad knee and David at the desk told us up front it may be hours before repaired and we may want to take the upgrade. Thank you very much for the great service and honesty! Sugar Sands is in a quiet location, yet close to shopping and never did we have any problems with parking at the property. Despite a few showers the beach was awesome and the view breath taking. Linda @ the desk in the morning was also very helpful with requests. House keepers serviced us daily with a smile and anything we needed we were told at check-in to just ask. Thank you again and we plan to visit our new beach "getaway" soon in October.

Room Tip: Best to call ahead as we did and make sure you let them know how many in your party. We never knew t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very friendly. Our room was clean and we had lots of towels. This hotel is located outside of the busy area which is good if you're looking for a little seclusion. The hotel is located right on the beach. Almost everything you would want to visit is on that same street so you won't get lost. I got a good deal for two nights and I don't regret it. The hotel is a little dated but it was a good night's rest and quiet. The only downfall, is the parking. If you're gone the entire day & come back late, expect to park across the street on a dirt lot. There isn't much parking on the premises, so get back early for a spot. Other than that, it was a great deal and I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield il
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very clean. Had a balcony overlooking the ocean. Full kitchen. Maid service daily. Plenty of clean towels and wash clothes. Just minutes away from all the restaurants and shopping.
Worth the money. This will be our choice next year on our anniversarry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have had a wonderful time in Panama City Beach! This hotel is right on the beach, with a pool and hot tub that is also steps from the beach.The staff is friendly and helpful, the place is clean and neat (if a little dated), and it is away from the noise and partying of PCB proper.

Highly recommended for families not wanting the nightlife.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach! Get a low floor for convenience (elevator is slow) or a higher floor for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

After reading some of the negative comments, we were nervous to book a room here. However, with the price per night and the location away from the busy part of town, we decided to take a chance. So glad we took the chance, because the experience was great. I was greeted with a smile at check in and when I had a question one night the staff was helpful. The cleaning ladies were amazing. They were very friendly and even took time to talk to our kids. The room was clean as well as the pool area and beach. The only downside to our stay here was the parking wasn't the best (not a big deal) and the amount of rainfall. So to sum it up if your looking for a 5 star hotel on a 1 star budget this is probably not the place for you. If are looking for somewhere with a reasonable price to stay away from the crowd this is a great place! Thanks Sugar Sands for a wonderful stay! P.S. hopefully someone enjoys the huge box of pb crackers & cookies that we forgot:/

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Sands Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Sands Inn and Suites

Address: 20723 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413 (Formerly Sugar Sands Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sugar Sands Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sugar Sands Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Sands Hotel Panama City Beach
Sugar Sands Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Sands Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.