We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scalded by shower!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Sands Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Sugar Sands Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Sands Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   20723 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413 (Formerly Sugar Sands Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 52 hotels in Panama City Beach
Plant City, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Scalded by shower!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

exit signs hanging by wires, balcony railings loose, elevator buttons barely working. I was scalded by the shower, had to bail out and cut my foot. Will not return! Phone did not work right, and cover was off the phone jack. Got $84 off of my 3 night stay which was around $450 bucks. They said nothing was wrong with the water. It did change to boiling on me, I have pictures. I would like to warn others about the hot water. (Watch children and older people.) When I went to tell the clerk about it and get bandaids for my foot, he asked if there was a man in the room, I said yes and he said it was his fault. No joking matter! pictures posted. Bed was clean, so was shower, beautiful view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    58
    19
    28
    56
See reviews for
96
50
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Sugar Sands appears to be a Independent owned Hotel operated by a management company. This is the third time we have stayed there and our experience on the condition of the hotel is basically the same each time, It is located on the West end of PCB away from the crowds and parties. Almost no traffic this end of the beach, even during Spring Break - This maybe good and bad as the three nights / four days we were there I never saw a Police Vehicle drive by or for this matter anywhere between the hotel and 98A to the west end - Winn Dixie.
Hotel is starting to show the wear and tear of the beach weather - lots of rust in the rooms and outside - old outdated appliances and fixtures - lots of mold.

Plus is the price, location and employees, whom were and always are friendly and there seems to be lots of them.
Our first night there as we drove into the parking lot we were met by three young male in their 20's smoking Pot right in the parking lot - they along with two other rooms would sit out on the balcony's each night smoking - the first night as soon as I walked out on to the balcony the rooms to the left and right were both urinating off the balcony's (all this at 6pm) at least after the first night those two rooms left and it was quite except for the 420's below us.

Again the hotel has gone through so updating be a few rooms have not

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We did not have reservations, just stopped by as we were travling south. The guys at the desk, David & Clay? Welcomed us with open arms and David even showed us a room to make sure we were comfortable with our stay here. We loved it and stayed additional nights. The pool, hot tub are beach front and rooms face the ocean. The desk guys gave us great tips on where and what to do! We also like this spot because it is not a busy section of the beach and it gave us a feel of our own little beach house. Great family spot!!!! Thanks again front desk and we will be back next year.

Room Tip: The A unit is the best!!! with large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our Family has been staying here a couple times a year,for over 20 years.
If your going for a Beautiful Beach, nice deck, clean pool, and Hot tub this is your place!
Rooms are large enough, but in needed of maintenance.
This hotel is located far west from most attractions ,but with plenty of Beach room.
A quick drive on Beach Back road brings you in to the busy areas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We visited over Spring Break. I liked the fact that the hotel was away from the wild spring breakers. The hotel needed a lot of updates. Pool was nice. Hot tub was very small. The showers coming from the beach had leaky hoses. Laundry facility needs a change machine. Parking is very tight. With some remodeling, this would be a very nice hotel. I would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingoer, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location is ON the Beach and that is a fantastic plus. Otherwise nothing to brag about, but the location make up for the rest. The hotel needs renovation, specially the kitchen was ready to be thrown out, but all-in-all, for the money it was great as we only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is an excellent location, on the beach. Quiet area (west end). The rooms are spacious (had a King/Queen) with a kitchenette. The balcony is roomy and beautiful view of the ocean. Could do without the runoff area though.

This hotel needs a renovation.

Room Tip: first floor gives you direct access to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Sands Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Sands Inn and Suites

Address: 20723 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413 (Formerly Sugar Sands Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sugar Sands Inn and Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sugar Sands Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Sands Hotel Panama City Beach
Sugar Sands Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Sands Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.