We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about the view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Sands Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Sands Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Sugar Sands Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   20723 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413 (Formerly Sugar Sands Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Ozark, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All about the view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The staff was great but it is a bit rundown. The sleeper sofa was broken and the bathroom fan was loud.all in all we loved being on the beach. No I would not stay here again.The price was not to bad but the floor was dirty and they did not give full maid service. there was water damage to the tiles and the beds sheets had stains and the bed,well we did not sleep well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    61
    20
    30
    58
See reviews for
100
51
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for Spring Break, since I was under the age of 25 I had to put a 300.00 deposit down. The hotel was good because it was on a quiter side of town, yet a close drive to all of the 'spring break action'. I stayed in the older motel style efficiencies that are across from the actual larger hotel. Could not beat the price of $90.00 a night for it being right across from the beach and the high demand for rooms that week. The room itself was OK. Everything worked just fine, but the fridge was rusty and the walls were warped. It was an old place, but it was clean and worked just fine for a place to sleep and shower at night. I had a pretty decent experience with the hotel until it was time to get my deposit back. The hotel ended up charging me $20.00 for two 'stained towels' that had eyeliner and makeup on them from washing my face and a kitchen towel that I used to clean up spilt orange juice with. Absolutely ridiculous! Unlike many college springbreakers, we were very conscientious with how we treated the room and left it exactly like it was when we first unpacked. It's a shame they had to 'scam' us after all we did to ensure that we would get our entire deposit back. I'm just glad they didn't take MORE of our deposit for other ridiculous things.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Cons - No Hair Dryer in room, No ice machine, and spinner in microwave did not turn.

Pros - On the Beach, Clean room, comfortable room, great shower pressure, and plenty of hot water. Full kitchen, with full size fridge. Balcony overlooking the beach. Heated Pool, and great Hot tub, both kept clean. Motel was at the end of the strip so to your West there was NO other Hotels or homes, just a 1/2 mile of beach to wander and enjoy. For the price, very hard to beat

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was dissapointed to learn that the hotel "didn't have record of my pre-paid reservation", after my flight landed, although I had an email confirmation weeks in advance. I had to scramble on a holiday weekend to find a room with an ocen view and comprabible to Sugar Sands price range. I chose Flamingo which is much more centrally located and near Pier Park. I used to be a big fan of Sugar Sands, but I will be staying elsewhere from now on due to the miscommunication.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My father and I have been traveling to Panama City Beach together for years (ever since I was in 7th grade). We used to go to the Sea Witch, but once it shut down we started going to Sugar Sands and have never had any reason to change. Is it the fanciest place in the world? No. Also, to be fair, we always go when there's a cheaper rate, so we usually end up paying 100 dollars per nite as opposed to the 150 that has been mentioned. However, our priority is the beach, and the access is unparalleled. Since it's smaller than the massive resorts, the beaches aren't as insanely crowded, and it's easy to get right down to them. The staff has always been helpful, and the room itself is fine; the kitchenette works great for preparing morning/noon meals. If you want a Hilton experience, then this might not be what you're after, but if you want a nice, clean, dependable, relatively quiet place to relax, Sugar Sands is your place.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was our famlies fourth trip to PCB in 8 yrs. and each one has it's own memories. West side in my eye's is the Best side.At Sugar Sands, which is our favorite value, is out of the way and actually with the exception of the Thunder Beach Rally, quite quiet.We've meet some very nice & interesting people there.The Staff were alway's pleasant and helpful in our room need's as well as suggested places to dine or explore, it helps to get to know the locals.Yeah there were some room and building issue's, But we're only there for a week and for the money it was PERFECT! The pool, Sparkling, the beach,alway's clean, surf fishing ,could always be better.WiFi worked fine,All in all, we hated to leave and can't wait to visit again nexted year!

Room Tip: My Wife & I took our 1 1/2 yr. old grandson and of course his mommy and daddy, so we had a Plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This Hotel was a little older in Decor, but very comfortable, had no issues with the room,Clean, no issues with front desk,Managers were friendly and easy to understand, Parking was a little tight, and the overflow lot was across the street behind another business, but the path was well lit. This property is located at the western end of PCB, It seemed to be fully occupied but the beach was not crowded. we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: I like the 5th floor for the veiw, You had a good veiw from all the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Sands Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Sands Inn and Suites

Address: 20723 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413 (Formerly Sugar Sands Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sugar Sands Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sugar Sands Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Sands Hotel Panama City Beach
Sugar Sands Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Sands Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.