We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sugar "Splendid" Sands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Sands Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sugar Sands Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Sugar Sands Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   20723 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413 (Formerly Sugar Sands Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Aurora, Indiana
1 review
“Sugar "Splendid" Sands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was our famlies fourth trip to PCB in 8 yrs. and each one has it's own memories. West side in my eye's is the Best side.At Sugar Sands, which is our favorite value, is out of the way and actually with the exception of the Thunder Beach Rally, quite quiet.We've meet some very nice & interesting people there.The Staff were alway's pleasant and helpful in our room need's as well as suggested places to dine or explore, it helps to get to know the locals.Yeah there were some room and building issue's, But we're only there for a week and for the money it was PERFECT! The pool, Sparkling, the beach,alway's clean, surf fishing ,could always be better.WiFi worked fine,All in all, we hated to leave and can't wait to visit again nexted year!

Room Tip: My Wife & I took our 1 1/2 yr. old grandson and of course his mommy and daddy, so we had a Plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    59
    19
    29
    58
See reviews for
98
51
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blue Ridge, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This Hotel was a little older in Decor, but very comfortable, had no issues with the room,Clean, no issues with front desk,Managers were friendly and easy to understand, Parking was a little tight, and the overflow lot was across the street behind another business, but the path was well lit. This property is located at the western end of PCB, It seemed to be fully occupied but the beach was not crowded. we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: I like the 5th floor for the veiw, You had a good veiw from all the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is our 3rd year in a row staying at Sugar Sands and it is our favorite place for sure. The front desk staff is wonderful. The rooms are great and exactly what you expect for a beach trip. We love it because it is at the end of the beach and not smack in the middle of all the crowds. The pool is perfect for spending the afternoon after you have been at the beach all day. All rooms have a great beach view! Normally we stay on the 1st floor but this year we stay up top and I think that we will request that from now on.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

After staying at numerous places on Front Beach Rd, I feel qualified to report that this is one of the worst. Was promised a remodeled room with wi-fi and service for 4. Got a run down filthy room with bugs - no working microwave - no wi-fi, and service for about 2.5 people in my family of 4. After traveling for 20 hours to get there, this was not what I had in mind. But like a crazy person, I thought maybe someone would be kind and understanding and assist with my concerns. No.
Instead I was met with rolling eyes and sighs by the management of the building that they had to listen to my concerns. Not only was I bother to them with my complaint of bugs in the room - they refused to do anything to assist. Instead they offered that we are welcome to leave if we wish with no refund.
They have 2 buildings. One is newly remodeled with wi-fi and they stuck us in the dumpy side and they don't care if you didn't get what you paid for. They just tell you that if you don't like it - leave. They were unfriendly - uncaring and downright unhospitable. Never again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights because they wouldnt refund our money. Should say Laguna Beach.It is the last Hotel on Beach Front Rd. Takes an hour in traffic to get to shops any places to eat.ETC.Rude staff and old rooms out of date.For 150.00 a night they coukd sure put some money into the place. the room next to us was vacant. I asked for a alarm clock and was told they didnt provide them but could clearly see clock on nightstan in the vacant room. The pool was cloudy and full of sand.Never seen anyone even attempt to try to clean it.The private balconys was also a lie.we had to leave our blinds pulled the entire time. The pool chairs with people facing our balcony was 2 ft . We couldnt enjoy to even smoke out there in our pjs without people in our faces.We were put in a handicap room with no.The bathtub and a hugh bench that was attached to the shower wall and took up all the space.The rooms are very old and outdated.

Room Tip: Sand Piper was great and the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

6 days 5 nights - even with the fickle Florida weather raining for a good part of our stay, we had a great time in panama city! The hotel is great with an unbelievably helpful (and patient) staff, nice pool, and incredible view.

You really are RIGHT ON the white sand beach - and with "dune restoration" sites on either side of the property, the beach is clean, well maintained, and doesnt feel like its surrounded by bustling hotels and businesses. We will definitely be back and strongly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were booked to arrive during Tropical Storm Debby and the hotel was nice enough to let us change our reservations to come a few days later so that we would have nice weather. Overall its a nice place to stay. The only complaints were that the tile floor was dirty and we noticed the cleaning crew only had a vacum cleaner and not a mop so that explained that. The toilet needed repairs because the water never cut off and you could hear it all night long. The price was good and the staff was nice.

Room Tip: We stayed on the beach side on the top floor and the rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Sands Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Sands Inn and Suites

Address: 20723 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413 (Formerly Sugar Sands Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sugar Sands Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sugar Sands Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Sands Hotel Panama City Beach
Sugar Sands Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Sands Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.