We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osprey on the Gulf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Osprey on the Gulf to your Saves list
Osprey on the Gulf
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   15801 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$299 up to 3 nights
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Plymouth, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were extremely happy with the Osprey! Had never been to PCB, so wasn't sure what to expect, but was really happy we booked there. I agree that there are some little things that could use improving on, like the lack of Kleenex in the room. As far as the size of the TV, it was just fine for us, we weren't there to spend time watching TV anyway. The balcony and view were amazing except after dark when we go visited by "bugs"! I don't know if this is just something common in Florida or what, but we just avoided the balcony after dark. We will bring some bug spray next time. This will not stop us from returning, it was well worth what we paid for it! If we wanted fancy, we could have stayed at one of the highrises for alot more money, but we were there for the beach and relaxation which we found at the Osprey! The staff was extremely helpful when we needed it! Parking was a little tricky in the garage, but we managed. We are already planning our 2014 vacation for PCB and the OSPREY!! See ya next year!

Room Tip: All rooms have an excellent ocean front view! No "ocean view" here, only ocean FRONT!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwoodpcb, General Manager at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Glad to know your stay was so great that you already have plans to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    88
    19
    18
    7
See reviews for
134
119
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by how well kept this motel is. Rooms were clean,view was great, and everyone was very friendly. In a good location for shopping, eating, etc. However, we didn't sleep very well because of the mattress on the bed. We will definitely consider staying there again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwoodpcb, General Manager at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are excited about your next vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

this was our second stay this year and was as great this time as last. we love this place! employees are friendly and beach is where we hang out all day! never went to pool but it looks nice in passing! This was the first time in my life to see a shark evacuate the gulf waters!!!! That has nothing to do with motel just thought it was cool! The wife and I flew in to ECP and didnt even rent a car. Veteran shuttle service picked us up at airport promptly ( flight was over 2 hours late but Robert waited for us the entire time so he didnt miss us) and took us back day of departure! New Walmart is walking distance ( 1 mile) from the Osprey but sidewalks only go half way! again not motels problem. we will be back next year as soon as I can book a flight there! Love what the Gilmore's have here, a nice quite comfortable hotel thats not a 30 story highrise with all the comforts of one! keep up the good work!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwoodpcb, Owner at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We work hard to make sure you have a good vacation. We look forard to seeing you all again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at the Osprey and loved it. The room was clean and efficient, exactly what we were looking for. We liked the hotel's close proximity to Pier Park Mall. We walked over everynight for dinner and stopped to listed the live music played at a lot of the open air venues. The views from the balcony was great. One night we ate dinner on the balcony and watched the sunset. Overall wonderful visit. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwoodpcb, General Manager at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We can't wait for you to come back! FYI - the sunsets in October are spectacular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Loved, loved, loved the Osprey!! Will sooooo stay here again. Room was great, clean, spacious. Balcony view of the Gulf was awesome! Was within walking distance of almost everything we wanted to do. Beach access was first rate! Staff was extremely friendly & helpful. Grounds were clean & welcoming! I can't say enough about my experience. I was visiting for a weekend trip with a best friend. Will definitely come back with husband as well. Location is great for whatever kind of getaway you're after!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwoodpcb, Manager at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you and your husband real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wife and I stayed 8/28-9/2 for a spur of the moment, quickly planned, much needed getaway. Osprey had a good rating as well as a good price for a beachfront room. Check in was easy, desk was always friendly. Parking on the property is extremely cramped and limited. You'll probably have to unload everything and the pull across the road and park in their lot over there. This wasn't an issue to us, but I could see it being a problem for some. Not sure if I had overlooked this in the planning, but I wasn't aware of it until check in. $10 deposit required for room keys, (real keys), and wristbands for the property. I found this policy slightly odd, never once did we put on one of the wristbands, and were never asked about them.
The room itself was nice enough, clean, and comfortable. Lavatory/vanity is very small, which was an unwelcome challenge for my wife. The lower vanity door was also broken at the hinge and would fall off in your hand when you opened it. Kitchen area is functional, but no dish soap or dish towels was a bit strange. No paper towels for kitchen either, so take this in account when shopping for snacks or whatever. Flat screen TV was about a 26", no movie channels. Balcony was nice and large, great view. Sliding door was a challenge. You better have some strength about you to get it open.
Coffee in the mornings, some donuts would be nice. Pool is VERY small with no room directly around it for deck chairs. Four or five kids in it and it's full. Great beach area with easy access. Tiki bar on site was nice.
I could go on and on about little negatives, but in the end we feel like we got what we paid for, which is all I ask, and if we were coming back soon we would more than likely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwoodpcb, Manager at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. When you come back, remember that we operate the Driftwood Lodge next door and guests of the Osprey are invited to enjoy the amenities at the Driftwood, too, for example, our cook outs, games and watermelon time! We have addressed the maintenance and housekeeping issues with our staff and expect your next visit to be an even better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was very happy with this motel. We have an efficiency with a king size bed and a kitchen, and our room had a beachfront balcony. The staff was friendly and the price was great. I'd stay there again. It's very close to Pier Park, which is a great outdoor mall with lots of restaurants. You could see dolphins swimming from our balcony.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwoodpcb, Manager at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
"Not too fancy, but everything you need." Thanks! We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Osprey on the Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osprey on the Gulf

Address: 15801 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Osprey on the Gulf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the Gulf of Mexico, Osprey On The Gulf offers the family vacation of a lifetime and the memories to match. If you are looking for a vacation that offers the combination of tranquility and adventure in an atmosphere of natural beauty, let the the Osprey on the Gulf serve as your perfect family vacation spot. Each room offers full kitchen and extra large private balcony over looking the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Osprey on the Gulf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osprey On The Gulf Hotel Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osprey on the Gulf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.