We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved the hotel & grreat location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osprey on the Gulf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Osprey on the Gulf to your Saves list
Osprey on the Gulf
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   15801 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
South Elgin, Illinois
1 review
“We Loved the hotel & grreat location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

what a find!
if you want a great view and be right on the white sand beach, and also be close to a fantastic shopping mall, as well as a long fishing pier, this is the place.
the room was clean the walls & floor are solid & did not pass through any noise. so if you choose to sleep at night you can.
we'll be back soon

Room Tip: if you watch a "tsunami" movie you may want to be on the higher floors, All the rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwoodpcb, Owner at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing how much you enjoyed our resort. I'm so pleased to know that your family enjoyed their time at the Osprey. I'm flattered that you think it's worthy of time to write a review!

Thank again for your kind comments.

Hospitably yours,

The Gilmore Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    94
    20
    18
    7
See reviews for
142
127
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our stay at The Osprey. We stayed on the 2nd floor in a king bedroom. We had such a positive stay from the minute we stepped on the grounds. We were greeted by helpful staff, found our room to be extremely clean and, were given extremely helpful advice regarding our travel plans the day we were leaving. This place cares about its guests. Popcorn was popping and cleaning crew were very attentive to the hotel grounds. The furnishings are clean and comfortable and the balcony is very spacious. The room is very homey feeling and the bed was very comfortable. This is not a modern hotel with granite countertops and work desks. We cooked in the kitchen area. It is about as small as I can manage. Keep meals simple (cereal, sandwiches and snacks) and you will have plenty of space. We ate at a Thai Restaurant (Oishi) that was recommended by the staff and loved it. We also visited St Andrews State Park as the staff suggested. Thank you Osprey for a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwoodpcb, General Manager at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
I am so happy to hear you had such a positive stay with us. Am glad that you enjoyed some of our favorite spots to eat and see in PCB. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I do look forward to having you as a guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilden, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

we have stayed in many places at panama city beach. The Osprey is the best. Wonderful view , clean rooms, and friendly helpful staff. It feels like home. We love to vacation there with all our family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwoodpcb, Owner at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. I was delighted to read your review, and was especially pleased to read your kind words about our resort. It made me happy to know you feel at home with us. We would be thrilled to welcome you back when your travels bring you this way again.

Hospitably yours,

The Gilmore Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murray,ky
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

we stayed here again may 2013 we have stayed several different places over the 35 years been going to pcb and we always come back to osprey its not the Hilton but its a good beach place right on beach with balcony full kitchen and rooms are spacious not to happy they are taking out the sliding doors the new ones who be good if had a window so could open to hear ocean at night they have a beach bar that has good drinks and snacks the people running it are super nice all the owners have been nice and friendly over the years also as many other has posted they own motel next to them so can use both pools and its so close to pier park we walked to it each night... ok my only suggestion and ive made it better is I wish you had donuts n coffee in morning and furnished coffee in rooms I always forget to bring mine with me lol o well we love sitting on balcony in m orning and have r donuts from the donut place down the road... o yeah at pier park is a target n new walmart along with a lot of restaurants and outlet mall......

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwoodpcb, Owner at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for trusting us with your family’s vacation. We appreciate your kind expressions of appreciation, and are especially grateful for you recent stay. Our family considers it a privilege to share the beautiful place where we work and live with our guests.

Hospitably yours,

The Gilmore Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here at Osprey two years while in Panama City. We love the view and the family feel of this place. We really enjoyed grilling out while having a view of the ocean one night and then second night we had brought food from home, cooked and had supper on our balcony with awesome view of gulf. Great access to beach and pools were always clean and just the right temperature. The only reason did not give five stars was because the dishes provided had a moldy type smell. It was also in the cabinets when you opened them in kitchen also. Not sure what this was from. I soaked dishes in hot soapy water overnight and washed next day and this helped a little. Overall this is a place we would definitely stay each year we come.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwoodpcb, Guest Relations Manager at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with Trip Advisor. I am delighted you chose to come visit us again. I agree there is no better view than the one from your balcony. I am glad that you had the chance to enjoy some of the properties amenities like the pools, grills and in room kitchens. Our family takes pride in the Osprey. It means alot that you positively commented on our cleanliness and family atmosphere. We enjoy sharing our piece of paradise with others. I am sorry that you had to deal with an unfavorable experience with the in room dishes. I will address this with our Head of Housekeeping. Never hesitate to share your concerns with us while you are here. We would like to take care of them. I look forward to seeing you again.
Hospitably yours,
The Gilmore Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Osprey for three years in a row. It has always been comfortable, safe, and clean. There is plenty of parking, the staff is friendly, and the hotel accommodates families nicely. The best aspects of staying here are having access to both the Osprey’s and the Driftwood’s amenities. That means two clean pools, a tiki bar, and a hot tub. The Osprey has a beautiful deck with plenty of chairs, sliding chairs and (free) deck umbrellas out on a spacious deck. The Driftwood has a large patio area filled with rockers that overlook the ocean. Both the Osprey and the Driftwood are within walking distance of Pier Park, which has lots of shops and things to do. The place is reasonably priced compared to the other hotels around. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Every room has a beach view. No worries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy S, Owner at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
I was delighted to read your review, and was especially pleased to read your kind words about our resort. It made me happy to know you feel at home with us. Our family is blessed to live and work in such a beautiful place. We consider it a privilege to share this wonderful beach community with our guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Panama City Beach.

Hospitably yours,

The Gilmore Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels in my day and was not expecting much from this place but what we got was a nightmare. We expected a family friendly hotel and all that really meant was a small popcorn machine in the lobby, some games over 20 years old with missing pieces and seriously casual atmosphere. When we got to the room it smelled bad, the bedspreads were filthy it looked worse then I can imagine a motel 6. There was no seat cover on the toilet, the bathroom didnt look cleaned and we didn't even want to take our shoes off. We were in the room about 30 minutes when two massive roaches were crawling on the wall. We knew we had to leave. We had already paid for three nights in advance, that is how they get you. We went to the front desk and asked for any assistance but the manager was rude and refused a refund. We lost over $400 and drove back to the Holiday Inn Express in Pensacola where we could actually sleep at night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy S, Owner at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
I am sorry you were disappointed in the Osprey. We pride ourselves on being a family friendly resort. It is true we offer popcorn in the lobby every evening but we also have daily and weekly activities for the whole family to enjoy. Each day we have children's activities. These include tug-o-war, sack races, big splash/little splash contest and other fun, silly games where the kids win can win ribbons and meet other kids from all over the country that are guest of our resort. In addition to our children's daily activities, we have weekly events for the whole family. These include a sand castle contests, surf lessons, jewelry making classes and outdoor movies.

I am also sorry the room did not meet your expectations. Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in their work. Certainly mistakes can happen, we would have happily sent housekeeping to your room to correct any errors or omissions. Regarding the reservation deposit, we do require a 14 cancellation notice for deposit refund. If you had chosen to cancel your reservation, you would have only forfeited your deposit.

Hospitably yours,

Tracy Schoppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Osprey on the Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osprey on the Gulf

Address: 15801 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Osprey on the Gulf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the Gulf of Mexico, Osprey On The Gulf offers the family vacation of a lifetime and the memories to match. If you are looking for a vacation that offers the combination of tranquility and adventure in an atmosphere of natural beauty, let the the Osprey on the Gulf serve as your perfect family vacation spot. Each room offers full kitchen and extra large private balcony over looking the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Osprey on the Gulf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osprey On The Gulf Hotel Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osprey on the Gulf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.