We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blew me away!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osprey on the Gulf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Osprey on the Gulf to your Saves list
Osprey on the Gulf
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   15801 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$299 up to 3 nights
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Blew me away!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Just checked in at 11am with a top floor room awesome service in the lobby tips and coupons. With out the hassle of some timeshare bull crap. Rooms are recently updated. Awesome view. Awesome location. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy S, Owner at Osprey on the Gulf, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at the Osprey. It means a lot to each of us when someone takes the time to recognize the work we do. We hope to see you again the next time you pass through Panama City Beach.

Hospitably yours,

The Gilmore Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    88
    19
    18
    7
See reviews for
134
119
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Osprey Motel is currently the #2 rated hotel in Panama City Beach on Trip Advisor.

Trip Advisor is normally great to find top rated hotels but we were totally steered wrong with this motel.

We checked in, went to the room, walked back down to the lobby, and checked out. We were willing to lose our non refundable deposit. Yes, it was that bad.

Here were the reasons why:
-10am checkout policy with a $10 charge for each additional hour of late check out
-$10 cash deposit just to receive your room key!
-Extremely dated rooms (note: a $200 flat panel TV thrown on the wall doesn't count as a remodel)
-Poor paint job with stains on fixtures
-Nasty, old style comforter (you know, the kind that you wonder if they wash)
-Balcony had nasty railings with the paint chipping off.

The location is ocean front but that was about the only thing desirable.

We learned our lesson the hard way this time!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

we walked in with 2 couples for 2 rooms and within minutes we had the keys for huge studios 4th fl with big balconies right on the ocean, completely equipped, big kitchen just everything you need.
right opposite there is a liquor store, minimarket and several restos and within a 10 min walking distance a big shopping and restaurant arcade, big supermarkets within a few miles
the beach is awesome and the Osprey has several heated pools, free coffee and wifi downstairs, relaxed and lovely staff

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Well, I am back and a bit late in writing my reviews. We had our wedding in October and drove from Texas to PCB. I booked us into the Osprey based on reviews and one of my customers that recently stayed there too. Wow, we were trying to budget our money and still have a nice honeymoon. The Osprey really helped in that department. The hotel is celebrating its 25 year but the building sure does not seem that old. It has been kept up to very high standards. All the rooms are gulf front. There is some parking under the building and a big lot across the street. Who knew that the new development of the pier park would be so close to the hotel as it is now. We loved the location as we did not even drive anywhere a few days. We just walked to the shopping and to eat out. The helicoptor tour operator has their helipad behind the hotel but it was not noisy at all. I thought it was great to be in the room or out on the balcony watching the surf and then go out the other door to watch the helicopters come and go.
The room has a small kitchen with a full size fridge, sink, microwave and was stocked with dishes. We did not use the dishes but we could have.
How the staff keeps up with this hotel is amazing. Each day the floors were first swept and then mopped too. There was a broom and dust pan in the closet they used and I appreciate that is was there for me to use a time or too from some of that awsome white pcb sand. We made sure to leave a tip for our house keeper each day. She saw us leaving late one day and made a point to stop and thank us for the good tips, ask if there was anything else we needed and point out there are is a washer and dryer on each floor. That was great because I had not really thought about it but then I did wash all the beach towels I brought.
We stayed right at the beginning of the off season so we only saw a few kids. The couple staying a few doors down told us they stay there 3 times a year and that during season there are a lot of familys and activities for the kids.
I will try to post some pictures later, but I will say that we plan on coming back. I was happy with the room, the location and the staff. There are newer high rise hotels all around, but the quality of the osprey and its fair pricing will allow us to come back and stay a day or two longer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are gulf view with private balcony and have a small kitchen just like my first one bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for only one night not knowing it had extended stay amenities. I found the room to be very clean and very well maintained and updated for an older place. The staff was super helpful and friendly. The view was amazing and access to the beach was right out the back door. Walking distance to pier park and lots,of great restaurants. Only down side was the hot tub and pool were a bit undersized for the number of people. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We've been coming to PCB for many years and would NOT consider staying anywhere but here with the Gilmore Family. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. We have met friends here and look forward to coming every Spring and Fall. The 'chowder' on Wednesday is fantastic.

Room Tip: There are rooms for any pocketbook, just pick one. All have great accfess to the beach, fishing and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

There is nothing not to love about the Osprey. The rooms are nice and clean. The location is close to pier park. They have a tiki bar an the bartender makes excellent drinks. I can't say anything bad about the Osprey. Plus they give a AAA discount! What's not to love about this place?!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Osprey on the Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osprey on the Gulf

Address: 15801 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Osprey on the Gulf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the Gulf of Mexico, Osprey On The Gulf offers the family vacation of a lifetime and the memories to match. If you are looking for a vacation that offers the combination of tranquility and adventure in an atmosphere of natural beauty, let the the Osprey on the Gulf serve as your perfect family vacation spot. Each room offers full kitchen and extra large private balcony over looking the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Osprey on the Gulf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osprey On The Gulf Hotel Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osprey on the Gulf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.