We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legacy by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Legacy by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Legacy by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15325 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 53 hotels in Panama City Beach
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Legacy by the Sea is a great value for the location and room size. I have stayed here many times for the last couple of years. Rooms are not fancy and could use a little updating to give a fresher look, but has always been clean and everything in working condition. I don't stay in the room much so as long as everything is clean and working then I am happy. I also recommend checking for good deals online at Bookit.com. I usually stay in April or May and always find a good price on bookit otherwise the rates are high for what you get. Barefoot Beach club restaurant next door is a great place to have lunch and dinner. Great food for great prices.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    152
    56
    33
    31
See reviews for
171
156
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbiana, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Orginally had reservations at Beachcomber. Upon checking in, Beachcomber was doing some re-modeling and said I the option of going to Legacy, which is owned by the same company. My stay was 3 nights. Karen at the front desk was awsome, very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the service was great. I look forward to going again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I booked this hotel with an open mind. The pictures looked extremely dated but my experience is that a book should not be judged by its cover. In the case of the Legacy, judge away! The front desk staff was rude and seemed very defensive. I get the feeling that they have a lot of problems with the spring break crowd, and they automatically assume that any young person will be having a crazy party. The room was very large but dirty. The furniture looked as though there was a keg party on it. the kitchen was fully equipped but also dirty, the fridge had mold growing on it. Perhaps we got unlucky and got one of the bad rooms... The bedding was not clean, there was sand in it. I called down to ask about changing it and they told me I had to come get the bedding and change it myself. There was a nice balcony overlooking the beach, all rooms have this which is very pretty. Being on the beach and free parking are the good things about this hotel. Please note if you are below a certian age you must pay a damage deposit. The continental breakfast was coffee, muffins, maybe cereal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

good customer service from ms cindy.clean room and watch beach from your room . staff member are very friendly.location is close to shopping plaza & pier park.any problem comes while you stay , it was taken care by staff member promptly.

Room Tip: beach front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Went for a girl's vacation and was frightened that it looked too run down for my taste. Boy was I enlightened! Yes, it was older furniture but in great shape. We had a serviceable kitchen (we did't cook but had the fridge and a sink, stove, and mirror) that was great when we had 3 ladies all getting ready at the same time. One bedroom with 2 double beds and tv and mirror, the kitchen area, bathroom/showe was very large, then a stuffing with a pull out couch/bed and then our balcony right on the beach. We saw stingrays and porpoises from our room. If you go out the front door, that's the main strip where all the action is. Restaurants and shopping all within walking distance. I will go back as the staff was amazing as we our flight was cancelled and we had to stay in the airport that night. We called and Legacy deducted that from our bill...no problem. Breakfast was included and quite good. Promise that this is a very well-hidden gem!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Floirda
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a very nice hotel right on the beach, within walking distance of Pier Park. I stayed here this past weekend (out of season) so I received a good rate through a 3rd party booking company. ($69/night)

I stayed in a king suite which was very clean and well stocked - the bed was very comfortable. The room included a small kitchen with stove/oven, microwave, sink and all the utensils/cookware/glassware needed to enjoy any meal you care to prepare. All was very clean. The living room had a dining table that could seat 4, a queen-sized pull-out sofa, a comfortable chair...2 flat screen TVs, one in BR and one in LR. The balcony was clean, right off the living room...with 2 chairs and a table. The view was beautiful...and the beach was very clean.

Amenities included a continental breakfast...very simple - bagels, muffins, cereal (hot/cold), donuts, juice and coffee but as noted, you could prepare breakfast in your suite. A small weight room with a treadmill, elliptical and stationary bike...no weights...and was supplied with towels. The pool deck was decent size - right on the beach...and the hot tub was pretty large...seated 12 and was quite hot...very nice on the cool days. All looked very clean...didn't experience the pool but did use the hot tub...very nice. I would say the only opportunity there would be to supply towels...I didn't see any during my visit and had to bring one from my room.

The staff was very friendly...check-in was a breeze. The do have wifi in the rooms but for a small fee...I think $3.99 a day. I didn't use it...didn't have my laptop with me but they do have a computer in the lobby for guest use. The overall grounds were very nice...and it seemed like there was plenty of parking...both covered and uncovered. Although, this wasn't season so not sure if that's an issue then nor if it's free then as it was this past weekend.

Overall, I was very pleased with Legacy by the Sea and I would most certainly visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: There are no grocery stores within walking distance...but Pier Park is very close with any other typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I've stayed at the Legacy twice in the last 3 months. I travel a lot and love to stay on the ocean.

The Legacy is absolutely great. The staff is always friendly and helpful-everyone from the front desk to housekeeping to maintenance. My 64 year old mother obviously has problems getting around. The front desk staff, Cindy, noticed right away and offered to give her a parking pass so that she could park close to the hotel and not across the street where guests often have to park. Later, when I cut my finger and was downstairs later, Cindy noticed and offered me an antibiotic ointment and a bandaid.

The rooms are not over the top, but they are more than adequate, especially at the price. Each room has a living area, kitchen, and bedroom. Everything in the room looks new and everything is very clean. They have waste baskets in every room of your suite, which is very convenient and helpful. Each kitchen is equipped with silverware, coffee pots, dishes, and large bowls. And all the furniture is comfortable, including the beds.

If you love an oceanview, this hotel has the feel of a condo without the condo prices. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: For only $50 extra dollars a night, the penthouse is much larger and has two windows to view the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Legacy by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy by the Sea

Address: 15325 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Legacy by the Sea 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legacy By the Sea offers standard hotel rooms to jacuzzi suites and penthouse units all with Gulf-front balconies and amazing views. Free continental breakfast daily from 7-9 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Legacy by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy By The Sea Hotel Panama City Beach
Legacy Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legacy by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.