We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Reef” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts to your Saves list
The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15013 Front Beach Rd., Panama City Beach, FL 32413 (Formerly Best Value Inn Beach Front Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Richwoods
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Reef”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had no hot water lukewarm at best. The ceiling about the tub looked like it was falling down.The outside of the refrigerator was rusted inside appeared clean. The microwave inside looked dirty not sure if it was rust or dirt. The little coffee pot was not clean and had mold in it. We tracked sand in and ask if housekeeping could vacuum when they came to our room and was told they only vacuum once a week on Mondays. The only thing I like about the room was the access to the beach. If I had not paid for 2 nights in advance I probably would have gone to a different hotel on the east end of the beach. There was no Wi-Fi in the rooms only in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeahavenBeachResorts, Manager at The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi Marion

We appreciate your review of the property. I hate to hear that you had a negative experience while you were in town. We have started the process of replacing appliances, etc. that are in disrepair. The general housekeeping and maintenance issues are unacceptable and I will definitely address them. Would like to speak to you personally about your stay at your convenience. Please free to contact me via email or phone.

Renee Reyer
Seahaven Beach Resorts, AGM
reneereyer@seahavenbeach.com
850.636.6550
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    14
    10
    28
See reviews for
27
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cadiz, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Let me start by saying, if you like NO room service this may be the place for you! They came to our room to deliver towels only. They had a coffee pot, but no coffee except for the pack we got the first day. They gave us one roll of toilet paper and of course we ran out! Didn't realize we didn't have any till late that evening and we had just been to Wal-mart, and the front desk was closed. How nice! Showers were a joke, we stood in water almost up to our knees and honestly the tub was filthy. It's a shame, because with better management and better housekeeping this could have been a nice stay. It's so obvious they don't care about their guests at all. No where to even clean sand off your feet from the beach. No upkeep of the grounds at all. Vomit lying on the ground. The owner has too many property's here in PCB to care about this one. Drive up the street and spend the extra money.

Room Tip: Sharky's was awesome! The waiters there rock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeahavenBeachResorts, Manager at The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Kimberly

After reading your review, I can't quite figure out which property you stayed at. It can't be The Reef because our front desk is 24/7. Please contact me to discuss your stay so that I can address your issues or direct you to the correct property.

Renee Reyer, AGM
Seahaven Beach Resorts
888-607-0006 or 850-636-6550
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

This place needs some updating and new towels theyre stained. Beds are ok, doors dont shut or open without a fight. Beach is great but pool sucks and no hot tub. Parking is a mess! Floors are slick with fine layer of sand. I would stay again if the room had a fridge and I lysol wiped everything first. Otherwise its pretty rough :(

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeahavenBeachResorts, Manager at The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Amy

Thank you for the review. This winter we do plan on updating some items and the building. Towels and line are on that list. The pool is a good size but due to the lot there just wasn't space to make it beachfront and that is also the reason for the limited beachfront parking. We do have additional parking less than a block away. We wanted the prime beach views to be from the rooms, not the vehicles. I will address the floor cleanliness with our staff, that is unacceptable. Please feel free to call me in regards to your stay or future stays with Seahaven Beach Resorts at any of our properties.

Renee Reyer, AGM
Seahaven Beach Resorts
888-607-0006 or 850-636-6550
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This trip started as a nightmare August 2,2013. My brother, his wife, and my son were in Panama City for a wedding, which did not get booked. Here we are frantically searching for lodging on or near the beach on a friday afternoon. The assistance of a smartphone was our one saving grace. We found (2) two rooms @ The Reef at Seahaven. Unfamiliar with the area we drove some (10) miles to get to the west end of the beach near Pier Park. OMG!!!!!! PARKING WAS AWFUL!!!! to say the least. If you take it upon yourself to willfully stay here please do so at "your own risk." You have to check in (15 minute time limit) and they are VERY adamant about this time limit. Remember this vital information because it is crucial to the review. There is a restaurant that is owned by the people who own The Reef, called Sharky's. Customer's who eat at Sharky's have just as much right to park there as customers of The Reef. Most of the parking is done by customers of the Restaurant!! Roughly around (40) available parking slots where do the customers who stay at The Reef park? Down the street from The Reef in the Sharky's parking lot on the opposite side from The Reef!!! LOL... One has to cross the busy high traffic area and walk down to the Sharky's parking lot to get in their vehicles. We got out with our luggage and proceeded to walk back to The Reef. Our one saving grace was a courteous driver, who informed us he would be back to pick us up to carry us to The Reef, shortly. He already had individuals who were just as frustrtated and hot to take as well. I wish I had gotten his name because of his courtesy and professionalism. Can't complain about the rooms,because you get what you pay for and we were thankful for the availabilty. waht can be said is that the rooms are somewhat dated. But the views are gorgeous and something to wake up to in the morning. Also if you are on a budget, at Sharky's if you stay at The Reef children eat free. to sum things up the parking is a logistical black-eye for this development.

Room Tip: If you are a mature couple the west-end near Pier Park is quieter. Less partying younger crowd. Traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeahavenBeachResorts, Manager at The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi Celene

Happy we could help in getting your group in for the wedding. You are absolutely correct, during busy season The Reef parking is extremely limited. We do try to push the Sharky's patrons to the overflow lot across the street from the restaurant. Without locking the parking lot down, it's extremely difficult. The only time we are really strict on the 15 minute wait in front of the check in area is when we have a very high number of arrivals for that day, otherwise, we do not bother anyone with the blue parking passes that are in that area. The gentleman I believe you are referring to is Howard and we agree, he is great! We have him roaming the parking lot specifically to help with the traffic back and forth between The Reef and Sharky's. We are constantly working on improving this and hope to make it much easier in the future.

Thank you for your review and feel free to contact me directly in the future. 850.636.6550

Renee Reyer, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munfordville, Kentucky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at this Resort July 24-27 (2013) do not waste your money. Parking is small area we had to park 1/2 block from room, our baloncy door stayed jammed, no extra towels unless you give them one for one, one burner on stove worked, deadbolt wont work(rm. 158)..

Room Tip: Do stop in!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeahavenBeachResorts, Manager at The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi John

Thanks for your review. I do apologize that you did not enjoy your time at the property. Parking is definitely an issue for us during busy season and are working on ways to improve that in the future. As far as the issues in the room, I hope that you notified the front desk so that we were able to resolve the issue. The salt air definitely takes it's toll on the mechanics of the doors at beachfront properties. We typically place towels for the number of people that the room holds; we don't provide extra towels for the pool or beach. I would like to discuss the maintenance issues with you, if you have a moment. Please call me at 850-636.6550.

Renee Reyer, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deatsville, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Think twice before staying at this place, because you will throw out your shoulder trying to open your door because they stick. The mattresses were very lumpy and hard, mold in bathroom, rooms had very bad odor to them. The parking lot shared with Sharky's so if you left in your car to drive somewhere, you were lucky to have a parking space when you got back, unless you parked across the street. The hotel wasn't located close to nothing but Sharky's. This place needed to have a complete overhaul from top to bottom, after staying here, I have decided forget price I'm willing to pay more to have better it's worth it, it was that bad. NASTY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeahavenBeachResorts, Manager at The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi Deborah

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We certainly appreciate your feedback, whether good or bad. We will definitely take a look at the mattresses to see if they do need replaced. In reference to the mold and smell, it sounds as if the air conditioner may have been off prior to your stay and something we definitely need to look into. I would like to hear more about your stay so that I may address the issues specific to your stay. Please contact me at 850.636.6550.

Renee Reyer, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and has one of the best views of the ocean in Panama City. It's in one of the lowest price ranges, so it's not plush at all, just the basics. The pool is on the street-side of the hotel. You don't get anything fancy. It's just a decent place to stay that's inexpensive and clean and has a great view. Next door to Sharky's restaurant which is a great place to eat beach-front and hear good music. Parking is limited, but additional parking is across the street, very easy to access. The location is convenient to everything on Front Beach road. If you are shopping for a place to stay in this price range, this is a great choice. We would go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms would have a good ocean view except the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeahavenBeachResorts, Manager at The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi!

Just wanted to say thank you for the review. We absolutely love hearing the positive's! Too often we only hear the negative about anything these days. Seahaven Beach Resorts Management & Staff certainly appreciate! Hopefully you will come back to visit us again, if so, please contact me directly so that I can help you with your accommodations. 850.636.6550

Renee Reyer, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts

Address: 15013 Front Beach Rd., Panama City Beach, FL 32413 (Formerly Best Value Inn Beach Front Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Gulf front property was previously the America's Best Value Inn. After undergoing upgrades in 2013 this 80 room property is ready to welcome new guests! Located right on Panama City Beach and less than one mile to Pier Park. Amenities include pool, private balcony, easy Gulf access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Value Inn Beach Front Hotel Panama City Beach
Best Value Hotel Beach Front

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.