We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the Parking!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts to your Saves list
The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15013 Front Beach Rd., Panama City Beach, FL 32413 (Formerly Best Value Inn Beach Front Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where's the Parking!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This trip started as a nightmare August 2,2013. My brother, his wife, and my son were in Panama City for a wedding, which did not get booked. Here we are frantically searching for lodging on or near the beach on a friday afternoon. The assistance of a smartphone was our one saving grace. We found (2) two rooms @ The Reef at Seahaven. Unfamiliar with the area we drove some (10) miles to get to the west end of the beach near Pier Park. OMG!!!!!! PARKING WAS AWFUL!!!! to say the least. If you take it upon yourself to willfully stay here please do so at "your own risk." You have to check in (15 minute time limit) and they are VERY adamant about this time limit. Remember this vital information because it is crucial to the review. There is a restaurant that is owned by the people who own The Reef, called Sharky's. Customer's who eat at Sharky's have just as much right to park there as customers of The Reef. Most of the parking is done by customers of the Restaurant!! Roughly around (40) available parking slots where do the customers who stay at The Reef park? Down the street from The Reef in the Sharky's parking lot on the opposite side from The Reef!!! LOL... One has to cross the busy high traffic area and walk down to the Sharky's parking lot to get in their vehicles. We got out with our luggage and proceeded to walk back to The Reef. Our one saving grace was a courteous driver, who informed us he would be back to pick us up to carry us to The Reef, shortly. He already had individuals who were just as frustrtated and hot to take as well. I wish I had gotten his name because of his courtesy and professionalism. Can't complain about the rooms,because you get what you pay for and we were thankful for the availabilty. waht can be said is that the rooms are somewhat dated. But the views are gorgeous and something to wake up to in the morning. Also if you are on a budget, at Sharky's if you stay at The Reef children eat free. to sum things up the parking is a logistical black-eye for this development.

Room Tip: If you are a mature couple the west-end near Pier Park is quieter. Less partying younger crowd. Traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeahavenBeachResorts, Manager at The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi Celene

Happy we could help in getting your group in for the wedding. You are absolutely correct, during busy season The Reef parking is extremely limited. We do try to push the Sharky's patrons to the overflow lot across the street from the restaurant. Without locking the parking lot down, it's extremely difficult. The only time we are really strict on the 15 minute wait in front of the check in area is when we have a very high number of arrivals for that day, otherwise, we do not bother anyone with the blue parking passes that are in that area. The gentleman I believe you are referring to is Howard and we agree, he is great! We have him roaming the parking lot specifically to help with the traffic back and forth between The Reef and Sharky's. We are constantly working on improving this and hope to make it much easier in the future.

Thank you for your review and feel free to contact me directly in the future. 850.636.6550

Renee Reyer, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    20
    12
    32
See reviews for
37
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Munfordville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at this Resort July 24-27 (2013) do not waste your money. Parking is small area we had to park 1/2 block from room, our baloncy door stayed jammed, no extra towels unless you give them one for one, one burner on stove worked, deadbolt wont work(rm. 158)..

Room Tip: Do stop in!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeahavenBeachResorts, Manager at The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi John

Thanks for your review. I do apologize that you did not enjoy your time at the property. Parking is definitely an issue for us during busy season and are working on ways to improve that in the future. As far as the issues in the room, I hope that you notified the front desk so that we were able to resolve the issue. The salt air definitely takes it's toll on the mechanics of the doors at beachfront properties. We typically place towels for the number of people that the room holds; we don't provide extra towels for the pool or beach. I would like to discuss the maintenance issues with you, if you have a moment. Please call me at 850-636.6550.

Renee Reyer, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deatsville, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Think twice before staying at this place, because you will throw out your shoulder trying to open your door because they stick. The mattresses were very lumpy and hard, mold in bathroom, rooms had very bad odor to them. The parking lot shared with Sharky's so if you left in your car to drive somewhere, you were lucky to have a parking space when you got back, unless you parked across the street. The hotel wasn't located close to nothing but Sharky's. This place needed to have a complete overhaul from top to bottom, after staying here, I have decided forget price I'm willing to pay more to have better it's worth it, it was that bad. NASTY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeahavenBeachResorts, Manager at The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi Deborah

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We certainly appreciate your feedback, whether good or bad. We will definitely take a look at the mattresses to see if they do need replaced. In reference to the mold and smell, it sounds as if the air conditioner may have been off prior to your stay and something we definitely need to look into. I would like to hear more about your stay so that I may address the issues specific to your stay. Please contact me at 850.636.6550.

Renee Reyer, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and has one of the best views of the ocean in Panama City. It's in one of the lowest price ranges, so it's not plush at all, just the basics. The pool is on the street-side of the hotel. You don't get anything fancy. It's just a decent place to stay that's inexpensive and clean and has a great view. Next door to Sharky's restaurant which is a great place to eat beach-front and hear good music. Parking is limited, but additional parking is across the street, very easy to access. The location is convenient to everything on Front Beach road. If you are shopping for a place to stay in this price range, this is a great choice. We would go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms would have a good ocean view except the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeahavenBeachResorts, Manager at The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi!

Just wanted to say thank you for the review. We absolutely love hearing the positive's! Too often we only hear the negative about anything these days. Seahaven Beach Resorts Management & Staff certainly appreciate! Hopefully you will come back to visit us again, if so, please contact me directly so that I can help you with your accommodations. 850.636.6550

Renee Reyer, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

It started with us pulling into the property lot to find a young male (20's) vomiting in the parking lot and there were no available parking spaces. The lobby was clean and the front desk staff friendly. I booked the following: “Room Double Room, 2 Double Beds, non-smoking room, Refrigerator & Microwave, Beachside Includes: Free Parking.” Once finding a parking space across the street, we made our way to the room. On the way, we found the male mentioned earlier had vomited along the sidewalk and was still on the stairwell expelling even more. Once making it to our door, I noticed trash strew about in front of the door. Upon entering the room, we were immediately hit with the smell of cigarette smoke and a 2” long Palmetto Bug running across the floor. The room had very dirty grout (Tile) and the carpet was dirty and “tacky” to the touch. When the bedspread was pulled back, we saw stained sheets and dried vomit on the side of the mattress. The extra blankets were very stained and dirty. Desk Staff had no other rooms available and refused to refund our money. The nighttime maintenance lady responded, cleaned the mattress, and sprayed an air freshener that masked the cigarette odor for about 20 minutes. Asthmatic son slept with a shirt over his head. Absolutely no cellular or wireless service available in the room. Wife complained to desk staff in morning when we checked out and we did not get a call from management as promised. We Will never stay again and will NOT recommend ANYONE stay here. ***Very disappointed*** :(

Room Tip: Do Not Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is in a great location! Convenient to shopping/restaurants. The beach was beautiful! Staff was friendly. Rooms were a little outdated (decor, tv) but overall the room was clean and comfortable. Great place for travelers on a budget!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just spent 3 days at The Reef. This place is AWFUL!!! After seeing our room we asked to be moved and were told that we couldn't get moved as they were 90 percent occupied. They have 4 properties and I really don't understand why we couldn't get moved or get our money back. The attitude at the front desk was well to say helpful would be an understatement. The pictures on their website are very deceiving. The rooms are nothing like the pictures. They said the rooms had been renovated. Don't believe this!!! We had even called before we got there and asked them were the rooms clean and had been updated and were told everything was great and not to believe the bad reviews we had read. All I can say is take your family somewhere else and run!! After doing some research on other rooms at diff places we could have found cleaner cheaper places that were also beachside. We spent over 548$ for 3 night of misery. The room was nasty and dark.You had to wear beach shoes or the bottoms of your feet would be black after a few min of walking on the carpets. The towels were yellow and bathroom had old urine stains on the toilet seat. The stove and frig were rusty and when you turned on the front burner of the stove you got shocked. Dead roaches were in the cabinets and when we showed staff all they said was well that's just awful but nobody did anything to fix it. Our air wouldn't work and we couldn't get out of our beach front door. They did replace a/c unit with one that worked but was so loud you couldn't even hear the tv. The supposedly stocked kitchen lacked enough things to prepare a meal and we were still left going out to eat. There was a large gap at least an inch or more underneath the front door that the roaches that were running around everywhere could crawl under. We had to stuff a towel under it to keep them out. One of our double beds was slanted and the mattress had a big sink in it that would cause you to roll downhill. My husband daughter and I were left to sleep in the one ok bed we had. Pool was nasty and areas of mold was present around it so we didn't even try and swim in it. Forget getting a parking space. You will have to go to overflow parking lot that is way far down form motel and lug your stuff back and pray you can get across the street safely as traffic is bad. We were not the only family to have problems we met 5 others that had issues and one girl that was in tears because she would have to wait to get her money reimbursed back from booking agency which could take days and she was on vacation now and needed the money for a better room. Naturally they offered to book her in another one of their properties for a 300+upgrade fee. I complained multiple times but got nowhere. Finally after getting home was able to speak with property manager and was told they would reimburse me 113.69 back to my debit card (how they came up with that figure I'll never know) but as of yet nothing has been posted on my card.

Room Tip: go to another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts

Address: 15013 Front Beach Rd., Panama City Beach, FL 32413 (Formerly Best Value Inn Beach Front Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Gulf front property was previously the America's Best Value Inn. After undergoing upgrades in 2013 this 80 room property is ready to welcome new guests! Located right on Panama City Beach and less than one mile to Pier Park. Amenities include pool, private balcony, easy Gulf access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and BookIt.com so you can book your The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Value Inn Beach Front Hotel Panama City Beach
Best Value Hotel Beach Front

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.