We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so so place.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts to your Saves list
The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15013 Front Beach Rd., Panama City Beach, FL 32413 (Formerly Best Value Inn Beach Front Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“so so place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Well after staying here a few nights ago, it has some pros and cons. PRO.. staff was wonderful, clean room, bed was good, beautiful balcony to see beach, clean towels, cold ac, clean pool. CON.... no coffee or dryer in room, no phone directions, outside dirty, very old tv didn't play good, no ice bucket or cups in room, most ice machines had no ice most of the time, and the worst problem was parking at dinner and supper time the restaurant next door customers would take most of the parking spots this really suxed.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    20
    12
    32
See reviews for
37
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We chose this hotel based on location, price and the website's promise of newly remodeled rooms.

If you are considering the reef...read this first:

1-Our room on the second floor had NOT been remodeled. It was dimly lit, shabby with worn out looking furniture, linens, carpet, etc...

2-In fact, our room had NOT even been properly cleaned after the previous occupants checked out. The beds were made, but the linens were soiled/ dirty. The carpet was covered in bits of wood and sand. There were no towels...none. The toilette didn't flush. Lovely.

3-Upon arrival, our room was UNLOCKED. My husband had to go in and check
the room to make sure it was safe. Doors are locked via metal key vs. keycard. Kinda scary.

5 min in that room and we were back in the lobby...complaining. I have NEVER refused a hotel room before... But, honestly... I have never seen one this bad before.

To their credit, the hotel staff moved us to a condo unit across the street... No beach view, but MUCH nicer (for the same price). There's a separate review on the Origin
At Seahaven Condiminuums. We enjoyed our stay there. But, as for this place...don't do it. There are thousands of hotel rooms in PCB. Choose another place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The room we stayed in was 362 very old and unclean the tv had to be changed immediately the toilet paper holder came off in my hand the whole room looked old and out of date the beds were broke they had no support whatsoever we have stayed here before it never looked this run down ice machine didnt work either. find somewhere else even if you pay more

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband & I stayed here the weekend of our anniversary. I was told that it had been recently renovated, but it was obvious there wasn't much renovations done. New paint and carpet. We were on the 4th floor. Our room smelled horrible and wasn't very clean! The roof above the shower leaked, the drain didn't work. So when you showered, you were ankle deep in water by the time you were finished! Traffic noise all night! We were woke up several times a night from people running around outside and yelling! NO parking whatsoever!!!! And when you do find a parking space, it's really tight! The elevator was gross and slow! The pool is small and in the parking lot, we didn't even go to the pool b/c of those reasons! We will never be back and don't recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Ok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is our 3rd year in a row to stay here.It is nothing fancy, but we like it and the view is fantastic! It has recently been renamed The Reef. They have added a security gate to the beach which would be okay except for the fact that the day it was installed, none of the occupants of the Reef were given a key!!!?We were told we could walk TO THE OTHER END OF THE BUILDING TO GET TO THE BEACH! WHAT?!!! Whose bright idea was that? In all fairness, we complained at the office and were provided with a key, but not much of an explanation. The clerk secretly slid us an access key and insinuated i should just keep quiet about it. The rest of our vacation we felt like we were "sneaking" in as unpaid guests which we weren't.Next year we will call ahead and ask if the guests will be provided with a key to this beach access that is handily attached to The Reef. If this gate is not going to be open to Reef guests, we will stay somewhere else. Hopefully, the management will look at this and give the guests reasonable access to the beach. That locked gate serves no purpose other than to alienate the guestsof the Reef. As I have said, we have stayed there 3 years in a row. Whether we stay there next year TOTALLY depends on getting access through this gate. The ball is in your court management team of ORIGIN. What are you going to do? (P.S. The gate did not exist when we checked in on June 7th, but appeared on the 3rd day of our 12 day stay and really made us angry! Otherwise, we had a decent stay at this hotel.)

Room Tip: Upon check-in, demand a passkey to the beach access. Rooms on the 1st floor have kitchenettes, but l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I was there with my family, we spend Memorial weekend the price was fair and the room very clean , everything work perfect . I "ll be happy to come back

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in May. No security. 4 stories with one very old slow elevator thats showed wear and tear from Spring Breakers tearing up the elevator interioir. The first room we were given was on the 4th floor with an adjoining room. The lock was broken on the door between the rooms, the headboard was broken off the wall on one of the beds, so we requested a room with a lock, at this point we knew what we were in for and just wanted our room to be safe (if possible). The second room was on the 3rd floor. The carpet did leave your socks black, the tub had a few hairs in it that I had to remove and disinfect with a can of Lysol. The TV was not a flat screen and only had a few channels that were clear. The free Wi-Fi was only available in the check in office so no need to bring your laptop to use in your room. No coffee pot in room. Great ocean view from balcony but it was so dirty from cement on the railing from re-doing some repairs. The 2 plastic chairs had cement on the too. The airconditioner cover was broke off and when you sat on your balcony the hot fumes from the airconditioner made it unbearable. Traffic noice all night, drunk teenagers roaming all night. Had to keep airconditioner on High to drown out what sounded like a cross between soul train and new york city. We survived and had fun, so I guess its all good for the price we paid, Oh yeah one more thing pool is in the parking lot,so dont get too excited about relaxing around the pool. Our room was not a kitchenette so if we wanted ice for our cooler we had to get it by 6am cause the machine only made one batch of ice per day. They did give us 4 free drink tickets to Sharkeys for the inconvenience of everything. Oh yeah, prepare to circle the parking lot for about 45 minutes everytime you want to leave and come back because they only have about 12 spots for parking. One good thing is the door was so misaligned you had to slam it with your shoulder to open or shut it which was a good burgerler alarm. We will not stay here again, but we did survive to tell about it!

Room Tip: We only stayed here because of the price. Inspect your room before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts

Address: 15013 Front Beach Rd., Panama City Beach, FL 32413 (Formerly Best Value Inn Beach Front Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Gulf front property was previously the America's Best Value Inn. After undergoing upgrades in 2013 this 80 room property is ready to welcome new guests! Located right on Panama City Beach and less than one mile to Pier Park. Amenities include pool, private balcony, easy Gulf access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and BookIt.com so you can book your The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Value Inn Beach Front Hotel Panama City Beach
Best Value Hotel Beach Front

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef at Seahaven Beach Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.