We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Andrew Bay Ferry Company Shell Island, Dolphin & Restaurant Hopping Cruises
3824 Hatteras Lane, Bay Point Marina, Panama City Beach, FL 32408
+1 850-866-8815
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Ferries/ Boats
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: St. Andrew Bay Ferry Company is the only year-round and pet-friendly tour operator in Panama City. We are the only tour operator that takes guests to the center of Shell Island, where the locals go. There are no state park restrictions, so grab your dog, fill your cooler with your favorite adult beverages and join us for the best experience on Panama City Beach. We are also Panama City Beach's first and only Restaurant and Bar Hopping Cruise. Become a "Looper" on one of our Historic Grand Lagoon Loop Cruises.
Kent, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not for Old People”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

No where did any of us read anything negative about this trip for senior citizens. Senior citizens should not go unless you want: to walk on a long pier with no rails, have any back or walking problems, or balance problems, and there is no bathroom, but they have a small boat selling food items. This trip is for younger couples with children who don't have a beautiful view at their own units as we did. The kids that we saw really enjoyed playing in the water. The beach was no better than our own beach. The shuttle drivers hit lots of waves which kids love. It was an awful trip for me. That being said, the people who helped me were very nice. Simply put I should not have been there. George who ran the shuttle and the lady who used a golf cart to get me back to the parking lot were really super nice. If you are a senior in excellent shape and want to go to a crowded island with very few shells - then wait for up to 30 mins for a ride back to the park, go for it!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    6
    0
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great dolphin tour with Capt. Lorraine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The dolphins and snorkeling are the main attractions people like to see, but Capt. Lorraine's tours are so much more than that! She gave us info about the local area's history and she knows tons of stuff about all the wildlife in the area! The boat is not too big, so she took us to some areas around Shell Island that were not too crowded and really personalized the whole trip for us. She had refreshments on board for us and asked us about what we wanted to do and where we wanted to go, instead of just running the same old circuit as all the other tours. She was careful when driving the boat so we didn't get slammed around. The boat also had lots of cushion space for us to sit and lounge on while out on the water. There was also a great sound system on the boat and we got to listen to fun "island" music while we were out! It was a great time and we plan on scheduling a "Sunset Cruise" with Capt. Lorraine very soon!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a rip off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I went to the shell island website and viewed pictures and read info regarding cost and schedule for the ferry. I thought this place was going to be as beautiful as the described but no, not at all. Apparently a storm hit near the area and turned the beach into dark redish brown water. Now, I am not mad at nature because things can happen. But I am thoroughly disgusted with the company that put up a sign saying 'no refunds due to weather'. The sign didnt make sense until we got over there. They charged $18 per person to shuttle you to an island where boats and jetskis are sharing the same area as beachgoers and all the water is dark red with debris. You had to take a overcrowded school bus and then a boat and all for nothing. People were clamoring angrily to get back to the mainland. It was a great deal of time and money waisted. The company should at least warn interested individuals before so eagerly taking the hard earned income of victims. They new exactly what they were doing.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Affordable way to get to Shell Island.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Cheap way to get to Shell Island. Come prepared because store is very expensive. Bring your beach stuff with you. Friendly staff and very informative. Other shuttles are more expensive and don't go there as often.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
“ferry probably out of business”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

No activities planned for June and website says ferry is for sale.I would say this business is kaput unless somebody takes it over.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal L, Owner at St. Andrew Bay Ferry Company Shell Island, Dolphin & Restaurant Hopping Cruises, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
The vessel is for sale, of course the business is closed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Andrew Bay Ferry Company Shell Island, Dolphin & Restaurant Hopping Cruises also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to St. Andrew Bay Ferry Company Shell Island, Dolphin & Restaurant Hopping Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Andrew Bay Ferry Company Shell Island, Dolphin & Restaurant Hopping Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added St. Andrew Bay Ferry Company Shell Island, Dolphin & Restaurant Hopping Cruises to your Saves list