We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Beachside Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Beachside Resort to your Saves list
The Beachside Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21905 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413 (Formerly Grand Cayman Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were booked into this hotel for 3 nights as part of a marketing package for Wyndham timeshare. We were exhausted from our trip or we would never have stayed even one night. Our first impression was great as the receptionist was warm, friendly, and helpful. It went downhill from there. The door to the room was dirty. We had 2 small spiders on the bed. The carpet was dirty and soiled. There was a full-size refrigerator, sink, and microwave but absolutely no kitchen housewares: Not even paper towels, deposable dishes, or silverware. The "resort" is located out of the main area of town with only one little old-fashioned diner close by for breakfast. We checked out after only one night.

Room Tip: Our 7th floor room had a great view but was very run down and dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Beachside Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
I wanted to thank you for taking the time to share some feedback concerning your recent visit. First, I would like to offer my apology for the cleanliness issues you experienced. I've passed on your notes to our housekeeping team so that they can incorporate them into their on-going training. Second, I'm sorry that Wyndham seemed to give you an inaccurate impression of our property. We held lengthy discussions with their time share team, they are fully aware of the room types we offered them and the ones we did not. None of the Wyndham rooms are equipped with full kitchens. I'm sorry that they led you to believe otherwise. Once more, I'm so sorry that you were unhappy and, again, thank you for letting me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    90
    30
    18
    7
See reviews for
81
76
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atchison, Kansas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay at Beachside Resort. Like others I would not call it a resort, but the location is good. We had a gulf view and a balcony which was what we wanted. The room was fine but it is the view that you are paying for. I thought it was funny that they provide a ironing board, no iron, but no broom. After the first time we went to the beach we had a sand dune in the bathroom. Who irons at the beach? The room was clean not really updated.

Room Tip: Get a gulf view room. Worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Beachside Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Madaboutred ----

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to share some thoughts about your recent visit. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. It's interesting that you asked "who irons at the beach?" It would seem that many people pack like I do. They throw their garments in the bag and then iron once they arrive. I'm also sorry that you felt you needed a broom. I'll pass this along to our Housekeeping team so they can redouble their efforts when servicing rooms. Again, thank you for your feedback and when you get the itch to see the beach again, we'll be here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This isn't Wyndham inn but the staff are very friendly and threw view from our balcony is beautiful. I can see the swimming pool and the beach. I would have to say that this hotel is nice I wouldn't say it is a resort though. I will be bringing my family back. And it is on the quieter side of front beach street. Everything is new in the room. The bathroom looks brand new too.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Beachside Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I'm so glad to read that you enjoyed your time at Beachside. I also love the pictures you posted, especially the new pool area. And I'm so glad that you will be bringing the family back. We'll be waiting for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking for basic accomdations for a beach trip... We weren't expecting anything fancy but we did expect clean. This place was just plain dirty and run down. The clientele was pretty rough...not our cup of tea. We came to the realization that we need to stick to destinations away from the Florida panhandle in general and Panama City Beach in particular. The whole area is economically very depressed and is very sad

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Beachside Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I'm sorry to read that you were unhappy with your visit. I have spoken to our new Housekeeping Manager about your comments. We have recently gone through a complete overhaul in our Housekeeping Leadership team. It seems that many of the issues you experienced have been addressed by this change. The hotel is located in a quiet beach community where most of the homes are used by their owners as rentals or as a "get away from the crazy" beach house.. And the town has much to offer with an expanding sports facility and the ever growing Pier Park entertainment sector. I'm sorry that you were unable to enjoy these area gems. Again, I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place was ok . I wouldn't really call it a resort, it's nothing more than a hotel with an outdoor bar, pool, hot tub, and beach access. It's a little further away from Pier Park and the rest of the attractions of Panama City , so it's a little more quiet which was nice. However you're going to have to drive to get almost anywhere or anything.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Beachside Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent visit. While we are located on the western end of Panama City Beach, we are only 6 miles from Frank Brown Park and all the excitement that is Pier Park. Many of our guests find that the extra 5 minute drive is well worth the quiet and peace they experience when they are staying here. I hope you found the same to be true. Thank you again for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

My husband was recently diagnosed with ALS and wanted me to take him to the resort we visited thirteen times over the past several years. He wanted to seal the wonderful memories we made at the resort. I contacted the resort's general Manager, Mr. John Lee, and was able to secure the perfect accommodations that met my husband's challenges. When we arrived, around 1:00 p.m. our room was ready and we did not have to wait until 4:00 p.m. Mr. Lee had arranged for a greeting gift that kept up in "goodies" all week long. I cannot express our gratitude enough to Mr. Lee and all of his staff for the exceptional care, given to us during our stay. Angels of Panama city Beach can be found at this resort.

Thank you

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Beachside Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2015
Suzanne --
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent visit. I'm so glad that you and your husband enjoyed your time back at the resort. I hope you both had a chance to not only remember the past, but make new memories that will carry you into the future. When you are ready to return, just let us know and we'll do all we can to lay the groundwork for more wonderful memories. Until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

I had read the many, many reviews on this resort from our tripadvisor group. With mostly positive remarks, we settled on booking this "clean, but worn, friendly hotel just enough away from Panama City Beach's downtown noise". And it was everything we expected. Everyone was friendly to your face but service requests were seldom followed up on. Checking in was a bit of a problem as the room keys didn't work and it turned out the door lock was broken so we were ushered to another room. Once settling in, we set up our computers only to find the wifi slow to the point of be useless. The front desk sent someone who moved the "hot spot" closer to our room. It worked for a day or two.
The first two days we went without housekeeping, scheduling error according to the front desk. The remaining 5 days housekeeping did a poor job in never vacuuming or washing the floors.
I disposed of one cockroach a day, seven in all and the front desk explained it as because we were on the first floor.
Otherwise the location and a second or third floor room would make you stay worth it for the price. Note comments below on first floor rooms.

Room Tip: Book the main building on any floor above ground level. The noise level and lack of privacy on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at The Beachside Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
I'm sorry to read about the issues you encountered while staying with us. It is always our goal that ever guest have a perfect visit, it is clear from your review that this was not what you experienced.
The missing hotspot for the internet was actually a first for us. Of all the things we've had occur over the years, having a guest remove this was not something we had on our radar. I'm sorry that this caused you issues. Also, the item you discussed concerning housekeeping, this is not acceptable and has been addressed with their management team.
Again, thank you for letting me know about your experiences and again, I'm very sorry that we failed to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Beachside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachside Resort

Address: 21905 Front Beach Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32413 (Formerly Grand Cayman Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Beachside Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need to create unforgettable memories is right here, including the world’s whitest beaches, beachfront pool and hot tub, comfortable newly renovated rooms, and hospitable service 24 hours a day. You’ll find the sugar white sand of Florida’s famous Emerald Coast beaches steps from our doors. We’re conveniently located at the quiet end of Panama City Beach, Florida close to local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Beachside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Cayman Hotel Panama City Beach
Hotel Grand Cayman
Sea Witch Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beachside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.