We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point to your Saves list
Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4000 Marriott Dr., Panama City Beach, FL 32408   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Wow we had an awesome week up here ! Very clean resort , awesome staff ! Great pools and hot tubs ! Lovely walks in the area , beautiful surroundings and gardens ! The staff did poolside cook outs , fresh n good ! Trivial pursuit was also fun by the pool especially if u were sipping on a frozen Margarita or ice cold beer ! Mmmmmmmm

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    78
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
99
60
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have never been to this side of Florida before. The beaches have white made of quartz (and we were told it comes from the Appalachians as a result of friction from the seawater). There is nothing like it, even in comparison to the beaches of the Caribbean. Marriott's Legends Edge is about 10 minutes away from the PC beach area. We flew in via the ECP airport where it seems like only Delta has access to it. Although there are taxicabs lined up, we found Absolute Taxi (run by the lovely Igor) to be pleasant (phone number 805-319-6350) and therefore I highly recommend that you use him. It cost us $60 from the ECP to the Marriott, about 28 miles. We did notice a lot of car rental booths in the airport itself. Some things that I highly recommend for you to do while you are there -- the Dolphin Encounter run by Capt. Anderson's Marina, runs everyday from 5:30-6:45 at $12 per person, I believe from March through Oct. 30. The Marriott organizes the same dolphin trip every Wednesday which also costs more as you are picked up and dropped off from the Marriott. It is only a 5 minute drive to the marina, so take your pick. We saw what I thought were hundreds of dolphins playing. Also visit the Panama Beach City Winery (I made a separate review of it) and if you can, do it on your first day so you can buy a couple of bottles for you to enjoy during your stay. And if you do get bored during your stay, drive to Destin, about an hour, where there seems to be more happening in their beaches plus the premium outlet stores are there, and New Orleans is a 4 1/2 hour drive away. Overall, the Marriott is quiet and relaxing, I do find it catering more to the older crowd. I took away 1 star as I was disappointed to find their one and only restaurant (Blue) is permanently closed. Great Jack Nicklaus golf course for golf lovers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This property was absolutely fantastic. My family and I visited in early August for a week to relax and enjoy some fun in the sun. This Marriott property is well worth a visit. The villas are clean, inviting, and very spacious for a family of 4. The property is near the golf course at Bay Point but is also within a 5 minute's drive of the marina where fishing charters and head boats are available. Check-in was a breeze as was check-out. The associates at the property were at our beck and call for anything we needed. The pool and sauna was fantastic. The BBQ grills worked fine. Frankly, if you're interested in a timeshare ownership with Marriott, you could do a lot worse than Legend's Edge.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, SC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This resort is one of the nicest we have stayed at, but there is not much to do here if you don't golf. Plan to drive to beaches and restaurants and shopping. The pool area is nice, and there are daily activities planned. The staff treated us warmly. We were never asked to tour the resort. The villa is spacious and very comfortable--and tastefully decorated. The views are beautiful. We stayed on the 4th floor of the Bluebelle building and had a view of the bay, the pool, and a small area of the golf course. We did not golf, but the area courses are beautiful. One important feature for our family is free WIFI! WARNING: Part of this resort has been sold to Wyndham, so some of the pictures and reviewers that show a boardwalk and private beach, or mention a free shuttle boat to Shell Island are no longer accurate! I booked our vacation with the mistaken impression that there would be a private beach area--one reviewer had even mentioned free chairs and umbrellas--so you can imagine my disappointment on arriving to find that I was mistaken. There was even a picture on the Marriott website for this resort showing the boardwalk and beach area! I should have asked someone affiliated with the resort before booking--believing pictures and reviews is my own fault. I do not fault tripadvisor because these amenities were once included.Just be forewarned! (I have contacted Marriott about removing the picture from the website. We shall see what happens.)

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the bay. Make sure you have a car because there aren't many p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bakersfield,CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We just completed our second stay at the MVC at Legends Edge in Panama Beach City. Both stays have been in late August. Yes, August can be a delightful time in NW Florida. Warm, yes, but the daily thunderstorms offer cool relief...and excitement. We are from CA, and rain isn't seen much in the summer. So, we look forward to the big black clouds. The biggest problem from the rain has been the shortage in oysters. But there is still great seafood to be enjoyed, especially at many of the unique cafes both along the beach and in the old St Andrews district, which so great. And, beginning in mid August, the kids are back in school, both in GA and FL. Consequently, the resort and the restaurants are not crowded. So, for some great food, golf, and relaxation..come to the FL Panhandle!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

What a nice facility. Its not on the beach but based on the crowds, parking and everything else that comes along with the beach experience, we enjoyed being able to bring our family, which included a total of 9, back to our timeshare to relax by the pool or just take an enjoyable walk to the pier which was about 15 minutes away. The beach only took us about 15-20 minutes to get there because of traffic lights. The staff were wonderful. After driving 13 hours from TX Lisa at the front desk could not have been a more accommodating host. She gave us the option of a room ready then or if we'd like to wait she was willing to get us into an even nicer room with a great view. Fourth floor on the bay/golf course end.

The hotel is in good condition, the pool area was not too big but just right for little kids. Our granddaughters enjoyed the crafts the resort had for them and the ladies running it were so nice and made my girls feel special.

If you enjoy a relaxing place, this resort is for you. Its away from the hustle and bustle of the busy tourist locations and allows you sit back and enjoy life.

Stay away from Hammerhead Sharks restaurant. The food was expensive and not that good. Its a typical tourist trap that looks like fun but it wasn't worth the expense. We really enjoyed Pinaapple Willy's. If you get there after 6:00 it will get busy, we had to park in the overflow parking, but the wait was still less than 30 minutes and for the cost the food and the atmosphere were great. We got to set out not he pier right at sunset so it was wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the end have larger patio's and are quieter. Try and stay away from the rooms right by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Legends Edge is a small, beautiful property.

Here are the highlights:
- Our room was clean and recently updated (although a bit smaller than some Marriott Club accommodations).
- The staff was friendly and helpful. Our kids especially enjoyed the crafts in the Wreck activity center. The were a wide variety of activities offered and they were very reasonably priced...
- The pool and hot tub were pretty with plenty of seating.
- The resort is located in Bay Point which offers lots of natural beauty.


Cons:
- Location, location, location, right? Please note this resort is in PANAMA CITY BEACH, and it attracts a Panama City crowd. We thought that since it was in Bay Point, it might be different. It is not. If your idea of a great mountain get away is Gatlinburg, TN, this is the place for you. If you prefer Highlands, NC, you won't like it here. It is a place for people who like their food fried, their bodies tattooed and their prepositions at the end of their sentences. That's why they make chocolate and vanilla, right? Just know what you are ordering and you will be fine.

If you still decide to go, here are some hints:
- Some rooms have spectacular views - request a room with a water view...
- If you walk down to the Wyndham, there is a boardwalk/pier out to Lime's, which is a great place for a drink at sunset. (food is not great, but the waterfront view with live music some nights is really special).
- There is a really good Publix about 2 miles from the resort.
- At night, there are lots of very loud frogs. A higher room might be better for avoiding this noise. Do note that there is only one elevator per building, so be ready for some stairs or a wait.
- Beach access is an easy 10 minute drive away, either at St. Andrews State Park or Rick Seltzer Beach Park.
- We saw a lot of wild life on the property (snakes, bunnies). I think a first floor room would be a bit creepy (and would not have a view.)

Room Tip: Ask for a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
9.6 mi away
Legacy by the Sea
Legacy by the Sea
#23 of 45 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City Beach-Pier Park Area
Hampton Inn & Suites Panama City...
#9 of 45 in Panama City Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#15 of 45 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Panama City Beach
Hampton Inn Panama City Beach
#11 of 45 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
7.6 mi away
Paradise Palms
Paradise Palms
#29 of 45 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Bay Point Resort
Wyndham Bay Point Resort
#34 of 45 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point

Address: 4000 Marriott Dr., Panama City Beach, FL 32408
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Legends Edge At Bay Point Hotel Panama City
Marriotts Legends Edge
Marriotts Panama City
Marriott Panama City
Panama City Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.