We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point to your Saves list
Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4000 Marriott Dr., Panama City Beach, FL 32408   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mahopac, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice small resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I spent one week of Spring Break at Legends Edge during the last week of March.The weather cooperated with no rain.The weather was in the 60's but it was windy and felt like 50's.Sweat shirts were needed.The hot tub felt good and of course young kids were still in the pool. The pool was small, the hot tub was a good size.The resort was clean and had been redone.The balcony was also decent sized and the only view was the pool which would get kind of loud early in the morning.The master suite was facing the pool.You could see the sunset from the balcony but it was not a great view.The marketplace didn't even have a starbuck's cafe.The market place was also very limited. No onsite bar when I arrived.They had a grand opening of the tiki bar, but it only had packaged drinks and beer.The young adults with me enjoyed the zumba classes, but the exercise area was also small and crowded.The staff was nice, but didn't inform me where to find the garbage shoots or the recycling bins.They have a fire pit which I thought was different, it felt good on the chilly days.The resort was 10 minutes from downtown.The public beach access spots were hard to find.The resort was gated and the streets were deserted.There is one restaurant/bar within walking distance.Hopefully the food served there was better than the take out I had. They got the order wrong and the food was over cooked.Sharkys had great food, the crab cakes were amazing.The college students had fun at Sharkys during the night and Club Lavela was also a hot spot.There was a heavy police presence down town which made you feel safe during busy Spring Break week.Taxis were very accessibe during the night.There were several around the popular venues waiting for customers.Wonder Works was a must see,Ripleys believe it or not, not so much.Schooners restaurant's food was not very good, but it was a good place to go to the beach.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    74
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
96
59
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Tripoli, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the off season for Marriott and Panama city but still had a great time. I was disappointed the resort fire pit seemed to never be available but the pool and hot tub were immaculate. We did a lot of the activities and for two adult couples we were entertained. The activity coordinator was friendly and the front desk staff got to know us. Best part if going around Christmas? Gingerbread cookies and hot apple cider every night! This facility also has a nice sized gym. Everything is so clean! Definitely worth apurchase

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for seven days over Spring Break, which was late March this year. Weather was cool all week with a little rain the day we arrived. We did get three beach days in the mid to upper 60s with little wind, which were perfect. The first Beach Day was at St. Andrew's State Park, which had a nice protected inlet for the kids on a day when the surf was still rough from the storms. The other two days we went Rick Seltzer park, which we highly recommend. It was free, the parking was plentiful, the walk to the beach was short, and there were restrooms. The resort's pool and the hot tub are both nicely heated and could be used on the sunny days that never left the 50s.

The resort was well maintained and our suites had recently been redone. The resort is off the main strip in a small golf community. As near as I can tell, it was intended to be a large Marriott complex but they sold off most of it, so now it is a small Marriott timeshare, a Marriott Grand Residence, a Holiday Inn resort, and a Wyndham resort. On site dining options are limited.

Panama City Beach's mostly touristy restaurants are a short drive away. None were great but all were OK. Schooner's was worth it for the sunset, not the food. The Boat Yard was OK and we liked the Shrimp Boat in Historic St. Andrews. We liked the Egg and I and the Waffle and Omelette House for Breakfast. Finns provided some great Fish Tacos one day for lunch.

Pier Park was a nice way to spend a few hours on a cooler day with plenty of shops and restaurants. We drove route 30A, but were disappointed with Seaside since we couldn't even find a parking spot. Rosemary Beach, however, was great and should not be missed.

We played one round of golf on the Meadows Course, including our 10 year old on his first full 18 hole round. The course workers were great and the course was well maintained. At $42 with a cart ($28 for the junior) it was reasonably priced as well.

The resort lived up to normal Marriott standards with one twist. They noticed we had three units reserved over two weeks and called us before we arrived to understand our plans and how they could best meet them. It worked out great by letting us have two units next two each other for the periods where we had the extended family on site. Our only nit was that, after reading how wonderful the staff was, we found them rude, especially the ladies who patrol the pool area looking for people who didn't have their wristbands and picking up towels that, although they may have appeared to be abandoned, actually belonged to one of the many people in the large hot tub.

Although this is not on our list of resorts or beaches we intend to return to, we had a great time and would recommend the resort for anyone who wants to visit Panama City Beach.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Tried this Marriott Vacation Club resort for spring break. Panama City Beach has a pretty interesting spring break reputation, so we were somewhat hesitant at first. However, after staying there, we can gladly recommend. Basically one should think of this resort as not even connected to PCB. The amenities were basic for a MVC - nice pool, etc. - other MVC sites have more - but this one is cheaper and had an opening. On the good side, the pool always had a chair (which can be an issue at some MVC destinations), was very clean, and was great for families (good set of activities for kids and some for adults too). The staff were GREAT and very helpful too. Rooms were very good too. The down side is that it is off the beaten track - but you can't be both in the thick of things and secluded at the same time. Would have been nice to have an on site restaurant, but would return.

Room Tip: not telling. want to keep them to ourselves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We are Marriott owners and traded our unit for this one last year over the 4th of July week. We stayed in a really nice 2 bedroom-2 bathroom apartment, very spacious, great kitchen, laundry closet with washer and dryer inside of the apartment, on a high floor with a screened porch overlooking the pool and the Bay. Our Master room with a king bed was very comfortable, they also got us a crib and a high chair for our infant son, very convenient. There are two big grocery stores fairly close to the property to stock up the kitchen (we had driven there from Texas, so we had our car).

Unfortunately when we got there both my son and I were sick, and we stayed two days in the apartment recovering before we even set foot on the beautiful pool. My husband and daughter enjoyed themselves in the pool all day long, and to my surprise it wasn't very crowded, I expected much worse being a holiday week. When we finally got better we really had a good time at the zero entry side of the pool, perfect for little ones, and the water temperature was just right.

We went on the recommended boat tour to Shell Island, it departs from a nearby dock a couple of days a week, the island is absolutely gorgeous. Amazing beaches, and you see a few dolphins swimming in the Bay on the way there. We also drove to St Andrews Park, another fantastic beach, everybody visiting Panama Beach City should definitely check it out. Beautiful scenery, water color, temperature, and enough space for a lot of people so you don't feel crowded (and you can choose between the Ocean beach or the beach facing the Bay, and there is a shuttle to Shell Island from the park as well).

Staff was friendly, grounds were nicely maintained, the only missing thing here was the beach! The location is also a bit far from the "action" (restaurants and shops), but if you have a car it won't be too much of an issue.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here since 1986. Yes, that's a long time. The property is well maintained, and the staff is friendly. We did notice this visit the cleanliness has skipped a little since last year, but perhaps we are still in the off season and the full staff isn't working yet. Activities for kids are available, and the pool and hot tub are great. Family atmosphere, not ON the beach but we go to the nearby state park for that activity!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I wanted a quick weekend get away from the NH winter. The resort is beautiful and clean. Room was a pleasant surprise although too much carpet freshener. The office staff was very helpful. The pool is beautiful but can get crowded. We were there during college spring break week - by accident - and the pool area was very loud and had a lot of college kids drinking. The partying when on into all hours of the night. Would definitely stay again on this property but not during college spring break. Loved the screened in porch. ST. Andrews park is a must see. You will need to rent a car if you want to leave the property. Limes restaurant is good for lunch outside at the Wyndham hotel. Make sure you go to 30 for drinks. It's walking distance from hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point

Address: 4000 Marriott Dr., Panama City Beach, FL 32408
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Panama City Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Legends Edge At Bay Point Hotel Panama City
Marriotts Legends Edge
Marriotts Panama City
Marriott Panama City
Panama City Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Legends Edge at Bay Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.