We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a JOKE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Reef Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Panama City Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Reef Condominiums
Save
You added Ocean Reef Condominiums to your Saves list
14415 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Morristown, Tennessee, USA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“This place is a JOKE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Due to circumstances we could not control we had to change our "normal" vacation week & could not reserve the condo we stay in every year. So I started the process of finding something else. I thought I had found something equivalent, boy was I wrong!!!!

Lets start with parking! Ridiculously tight parking spots, and only 1 assigned spot for a 4 bedroom unit. The spots are so tight we had to get out of the car before pulling it into the space. Luckily we were able to get a spot in the very small overflow lot across the street & we never moved that car.

Holy Elevator problems!!! There are 3 elevators for 180 condo units. And 1 of those elevators was down the first 3 days of our stay. The lines waiting for those elevators on the day of check in was ridiculous! So bad that we elected to carry the majority of our things up the stairs to the 23rd floor, not kidding! And not a great way to start vacation! We made 1 trip up the stairs, came back down the stairs & the people who were waiting on the elevator were still waiting!!

Ridiculous excuse for a pool- Then day 1 of our trip we look off the balcony & see the pool is closed. On our way to the beach we ask the guard what was going on & he said routine cleaning & that it would be open the next day. It didn't open again until day 3 of our trip. But if you think you are going to get 1 of the 10 total pool chairs down there you better get up at 6 & put a towel on one to reserve your spot. But this pool is so incredibly small, we opted not to swim in it at all, kind of ridiculous. And apparently it doesn't have a filter system on it, it has to be manually cleaned, which they do once a week. Yuck, no thanks!

Our expensive and not worth it unit! I'm not sure where to start on that! It seemed decently clean but the master bedroom had what appeared to be smeared blood on the master bathroom door & the doors hiding the water heater unit. GROSS! Big enough for me to see, not sure how the cleaning lady missed it. Pillows-dear Lord if they were any thinner they could have been used as paper! I mean pillows go on sale quite often at Kohls, could it kill them to replace them?? I paid 3700$ for the week, that's a lot of pillows! The dryer took forever to dry a load of towels, we had to run the towels thru at least 3 cycles to get them dry. And I'm talking about the towels in the unit, not beach towels.

The only positive things I can say is other than the blood it appeared clean, and it is on the beach.

We will not return & would not recommend this facility to anyone.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    9
    4
    8
See reviews for
33
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was my first time to stay in PCB for a week and would come back to this property again, especially if we got the same unit. Our view from the 22nd floor was spectacular! The condo was appointed as if it were the Ritz-Carlton. Every amenity you could imagine was in this unit. The furniture, beds, TVs, and even the ceiling fan in the living room were all upscale luxury. The balcony on these places are so big you can dine outside on the table and chairs and still have room for a few other chairs to sit in after dinner.

The beach was beautiful with it's white sand. Our condo had a beach wagon we could load up with our chairs, umbrellas and coolers. There were a lot of people on the beach but we found a spot that was pretty open most of the week. Never felt crowded.

It is fair to say that we would agree with all the other comments about the parking situation. There is only one parking space per unit. That was clearly spelled out by our condo owner, so we were prepared. Know that fact in advance and you can avoid all the hassles from condo management. Remember that the office manager and their staff are only enforcing the rules, so as they say, don't shoot the messenger. There are about a dozen other spaces across the street to park, but they were full the whole time we were there.

The other issue about this place are the elevators, especially for check-in and check-out. Because people are bringing so much stuff to put in each condo the elevators are full a lot of the time during peak hours. We witnessed several people pull their cars right up to the elevators, blocking the path of other people trying to get on the elevators. Very rude, but then when you see the license plates of where they are from you understand. And you know who you are.

My suggestion to anyone wanting to stay here is to rent a place on the higher floors. When you need to go down on the elevators you are the first ones to get on. We witnessed numerous times where people on the middle floors were bypassed because the elevators were full.

One of the things we liked about this condo was the location. There are some comments to the contrary, but we had no issues. This area seems to be newer than some other areas of PCB. Within just a few miles you have Pier Park, a Walmart, a Publix, and Buddy's Seafood Market. What more do you need? There is a restaurant called Runaway Island that is only a few hundred yards away and is so new that it doesn't show up on Google Maps. The food and seating on the beach are spectacular. There were several other places not too far away that you could walk to, if the traffic is backed up (which is usual during peak season). We went to Jeannie's One Stop diner for breakfast and loved it. Everything was fresh and the service was quick. We also went to Sharkey's, which we enjoyed. Both places could be walked, if necessary.

If you can get your mind set that parking and the elevators can be a problem, this is a great place to go. If you are going during peak dates I would be most anywhere has similar problems. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Book the higher floors. The elevators are easier to access going down from these floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The condo was perfect, everything was as promised. Reasonable rates for the level of this condo. I rented from a private owner and they made sure and followed up with me after I got there to make sure everything was ok. Nice location, pools and great view.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

First day here our car was towed after being told we can park in a free spot. We were only given one spot. Also we are required to have these tacky wrist hands on around the property and be prepared to get rudely spoken to if it's in your pocket. Our room said sleeps six but we weren't given enough bands. This is my first on this trip and I can't relax bc of these guards. We spend good money to stay here and are coming out more out of parking for tow fees. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell Springs, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Was told our family would have three parking spaces ON the property, then after booking and paying for a 4 bedroom condo, get a letter in the mail stating 2 cars would have to park across the street! Upon arrival there are NO carts for luggage and one person had to stay with each car so they wouldn't be towed until we could move two of them across the street. After making several trips up the elevator to get all the luggage to #709, my husband went across the street to the tiny lot and there were no empty spaces, so he had to park 1/2 a mile away and walk back after being on the road for 11 hours! We spent a lot of time moving cars during our stay and everyone was on edge. The condo was nicely decorated as promised but not without flaws, stepped on the tack strip in the second bedroom and it stabbed my foot twice and my daughter stepped on it too so we had to step over it all week. The tub in the master bedroom didn't drain properly either. The location was in a rundown area as well. The pool area was closed for an entire day due to someone defecating in it twice so we didn't even use the pool at all. Not what you would expect for $3700, would never stay here again or recommend it to anyone. By the way, don't waste your time trying to complain to anyone about it because there is no one around, and when you do find someone its not their job!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern IL
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We rented this condo after a friend had stayed there and loved it. It was exactly what we wanted! Spotlessly clean, convenient to what we wanted to do and very close to the beach. We enjoyed the huge hot tub and swimming pool as well as the beach. We also used the grills several times for cooking dinner. Very convenient to Pier Park and close to the local Wal Mart, huge balcony. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: 1104! Millie and Corey were great to work with
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We wanted to try a little different Florida gulf coast destination and found Unit 2102 on VRBO. The condo was great but we were disappointed in the location. I would have wished we would have gone to Destin. Panama Beach City area has much more of a "tourist trap" feel and some of the area is a little run down. However, we were pleased with our condo. It was a spacious two bedroom with a great view and a very spacious deck. The swimming pool and hot tub were fine but nothing to brag about. Hotel was write on the beach and there really wasn't any place for nice landscaping around the building. This is a owner condo facility so what you get will really depend on the individual unit. If you chose Ocean Reef, I would careful check the individual reviews for each unit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Reef Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Reef Condominiums

Address: 14415 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Panama City Beach
Number of rooms: 161
Also Known As:
Ocean Reef Condominiums Hotel Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Reef Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.