We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best jambalaya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dee's Hang Out

Dee's Hang Out
10440 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32407-3514
850-249-4264
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best jambalaya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

very small restaurant but great jambalaya and delicious fresh shrimp. highly recommend if you want a low key dinner in a not so upscale place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    156
    45
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“great, local seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

when we got to this hole-in-the-wall place and saw that there was a 25 minute wait, i figured the food must be worth trying. i also knew that this was the typical fried and salted seafood that isn't really healthy but you have to have at least once when at the beach. the hushpuppies were light and tasty. the best fried pickles i have ever had. the appetizers were large. my father loved his oysters on the half shell, which he has had many times. my mother loved her blackened fish tacos. tiny place that was packed out and had TVs for watching football. worth a short wait for some local 'grub'.. oh and service was very quick.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not as good as last year....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I really loved the food here at Dee's last year. But this year, something was different. It tasted, well, like a frozen fish dinner! We tried several items, I had the Seafood Gumbo, it was only ok. Husband had oysters, we knew that they were having trouble getting oysters because of all the rain but at least they could have been colder. The seafood platter was pretty sad, over cooked tiny shrimp, tough not so fresh fish...the bread was so dry it crumbled when we tried spread butter on it. Hmmmm, it was a sad evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great She Crab Soup!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A dear friend who lives in Pensacola recommended Dee's as a dining choice while we were in Panama City Beach. Excellent choice. Service was fast, food hot and fresh. We had fried pickles, crab cake balls for appetizers. Fried fish of the day for entry. My friend ordered the Jambalaya and thought it was average. It could have been influenced by our already stuffed bellies from all the appetizers. We got doggie bags and finished up the meals they night in our hotel room. A line will develop during normal lunch and dinner times, so you may have to wait. The restaurant is in a strip mall and does not offer outdoor seating, a view or an overflow area. A line is outside under the eaves. It was sunny and we went around 4 and had no problem being seated right away. But when we left, a line had formed along the front of the restaurant. Definitely a great meal and worth your time to stop by. You gotta order the soup!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sept 2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A very small place. I would advise on going around 5 or 6 pm. The service was good. The food was average. Me and my husband both had crab cakes. The macaroni and cheese and cheese grits were really good. I loved the she crab soup. I would go back for the soup.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dee's Hang Out also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Dee's Hang Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dee's Hang Out, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.