We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Afternoon in October” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shell Island Blue Dolphin Tours

Shell Island Blue Dolphin Tours
3605 Thomas Drive, Treasure Island Marina, Panama City Beach, FL 32408
(850) 234-7245
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Jeffersonville, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Wonderful Afternoon in October”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a fun and informative afternoon in October with Captain Mike. It was a cool day, but water was warm for wading on Shell Island (found several sand dollars). Began to think we'd miss on finding dolphins, but to our delight, 'Scar' swam alongside and charmed us all. Later we came upon a large pod and witnessed wild dolphin leaping in the air, crossing paths just like the trained ones do at Sea World. Fantastic day - thanks Mike!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    8
    2
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ansonia, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience!! Ask for Captain Brian!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had reservations for a dolphin tour on a Monday afternoon, there was a mixup and another party had taken our reservation. The people at Blue Dolphin more than made up for the inconvenience of changing our plans and taking the tour on Tuesday morning. Capt. Brian was quick to answer our questions, very polite and friendly during our tour. He made sure to give us a heads up when the dolphins were heading our way and everyone in our group was able to have a once in a life time experience with wild dolphins. My husband and I even had the opportunity to be in the water while a mother and calf passed under us. Breathtaking experience!! While there are other boaters and jet skis in the area, most are there to see the dolphins. We were there to swim with the dolphins and our Captain was a big part of making that happen. We will recommend this tour to our friends and family any time!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best day ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We heard of this tour from the friend of a friend and were very lucky to have visited so late in the season because we were able to book a tour just one day in advance. All employees were helpful and responsive and our captain (Brian) was top-notch. We went on the tour in October -- perfect day and the water was still warm and clear. Saw a couple different pods of dolphins and were thrilled to jump in the water with them. So different than those depressing "swim with the (imprisoned) dolphin 'adventures'" we have run into (and never participated in). At $50 per person, it was also far cheaper than any other dolphin encounter I've ever seen. Because the dolphins are wild, we did have to do a fair bit of chasing in the boat and jumping in to try to meet them as they moved along, but that was all part of the fun. A couple of lucky times we were interesting enough to them that they came and checked us out. Could even hear them talking underwater -- felt like we were on a wildlife show. It was everything we could have asked for and if we hadn't been on such a short visit would have instantly re-booked for the following day. Best. Day. Ever.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dolphin tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Ask for Russell, he's the best!! I took my two children (ages 12 and 15) on the tour, and they absolutely loved it! We will be back to do the tour again next year! Russell answered all the questions the kids had, and helped them search for sand dollars and shells. We saw quite a few dolphins, and the kids loved being in the water and swimming with them.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Payne, Alabama
2 reviews
“Great Experience - Ask For Brian As Your Captain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a fantastic time on our dolphin tour. Between the dolphins and looking for shells, it was a great day. Our boat captain (Brian) took the time to make sure everyone had fun and answered all of our questions. The water was very clear, and we saw a lot of dolphins. And we also saw a small stingray while we were looking for shells. I'm very thankful that we were able to take a tour during our vacation.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shell Island Blue Dolphin Tours also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Shell Island Blue Dolphin Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shell Island Blue Dolphin Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shell Island Blue Dolphin Tours to your Saves list