We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chateau Motel to your Saves list
Chateau Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   12525 Front Beach Rd., Panama City Beach, FL 32407   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Panama City Beach
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Got a deal for $ 99/nite. Checked in at 3 am with no problems, wished the front desk had been a bit more friendly and accomodating about a poolside unit but hey I was paying for a $ 99 room so beggars can't be choosers. The room was adequate, bed comfortable, a bit on the hard side but still very comfortable, clean, ac blew cold, balcony opened right up to face the beach...We were please with our "2" nite accomodations at the place on our way to Disney World. Coffee in room, when we asked for extra towels they were provided, and the location is great. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    80
    40
    30
    43
See reviews for
130
79
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My family has been going to Panama City Beach for 50+ years. From my grandparents down to us grand kids, we've stayed in several of the hotels on the strip. This is by far the best one I've found. My favorite by far was the old Beachcomber but hurricane Andrew blew it away so when it came to finding a new one, we were worried. This one matches it very closely though. A very down to earth and friendly staff, clean, quiet rooms, awesome customer service, smack in the middle of the strip and right on the beach. It's not a high rise conglomerate or snotty timeshare....just a small hotel doing its thang. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Older hotel. Clean rooms. Pool spotless. great location. Room misrepresented when booked, we anticipated a larger room with pullout- had a roll-a-way (old & uncomfortable) instead. Would try them again because of the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I work as a housekeeping manager in a hotel. So I know how hard housekeeping can be. When I asked the Housekeeper to change my sheets she replied NO! I will do it tomorrow. Tomorrow was my checkout date. Then i asked for an extra blanket and she gave me one with 3 large holes in it I know this place isn't a Marriott but they could use some customer service training for the housekeeping staff. I guess she will get her tip... tomorrow.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piney Flats, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great, clean place to stay. Very friendly staff. Comfortable beds. We had rented the cabana, which was right on the beach, if we was any closer we would have had to pitch a tent. plenty of shops, restaurants and plenty of activites to do within walking distance. Would stay here again if ever back in the area.

Room Tip: choose the cabana if you want to be right on the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I would like to share with you our most recent trip to Panama City Beach, Florida. We stayed at the wonderful Chateau Motel on Front Beach Road. This motel has been here since the early 1960, and the kindness and warmth and the good nature of the 1960 is still here. It is rare you find an older motel with the same values we once shared as a country. You also know its special when the staff has been there between 4 to 10 years and some even longer. This Motel is owned by family members who actually work with the staff and are on top of their business. My family would like to thank the staff for the wonderful service we received during our vacation, It's a wonderful place to stay but the best were the friendly faces. It was as if we were with family. Please pass this on to our housekeepers and Maintences as well. Every morning it was always good morning or good evening and is there anything we can get for you and how is your room. Note: Parents who have special needs child as I do, its a great place very relaxing the ocean is very calming for these children. Also they don't mind if you go late at night in the office to get away for awhile and surf the computer. They never knew of my special needs children, so it was a true kindness. Once again thank you and we will see you again the same time next year!

Room Tip: Middle floor right off the parking lot. Delux Suite. Faces the ocean wonder and room 322 is next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in 416 for 4 days. We were on the top floor, king bed overlooking the pool. We had a microwave and a fridge.
Pros: you are right on the beach, the room was very clean, we were brought fresh towels every day and the price was right for a no frills experience. Bed and lots of pillows were very comfortable. No bugs, nothing bad that some beachside places can have. They changed our sheets out after the 2nd night. Pool was clean and loved the chairs on the ledge overlooking the beach. Very pretty. Fridge worked great.
Cons: Yes, due to the low price some skanky looking folks were staying here, however it was mainly families. No drunks or anything. We stayed sun-thurs and it was ok. The hired help also look a little rough, but took good care of us. My main complaint was ALL the stairs. If you do not mind lugging heavy bags up and down this place is for you. On the 4th floor, we had 3 flights of stairs to go up and down to get to the beach and pool. I have a bad knee and that kinda sucked for me. I was glad however that we had a 4th floor room bc they have more privacy than the cabana rooms that are on the ground floor. You share a common walk way on the ground level that goes right past your room to the beach. No thanks. Our toiletries were not replaced daily, like shampoo, cups etc.
The tv reception was terrible on some stations. Our ice machine on the 4th floor was out of order the whole time we were there, so if we wanted ice MORE stairs.
We decided we were having a good time we wanted to stay another day after we checked in. They turned our room key off after day 3, hubby went to office so they could fix on card machine. Front desk person got kinda snippy with him that he needed to wait his turn, there were 7 ppl in front of him filling out their car paperwork...seemed kinda rude and ridiculous bc it would have just taken her a second to reswipe the card. Another guy ended up helping my hubby after he could tell he was ticked. So we had to wait awhile to get back into our room and all we wanted to do was change to go to the beach.
First day we were there there was lots of gross wet food around the pool and trash and so on but after the 2nd day it had been all cleaned up. When we checked in there was a couple hairs in the tub and some pink goo on the back of the toilet, but I wiped them up. Shower curtain had a funky mildew smell when it got wet. Our room 416 had a blocked view of the beach due to a really large palm tree that it looked directly into. We were bummed bc it took alot away from our ocean view balcony that we were paying for. So maybe ask for a room with a good view!
This hotel is retro and older on the outside, but they really are trying and I will say we had a really good time. I think our room had been taken pretty good care of. The cleanliness and the lovely beach made up for a lot.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panama City Beach hotels
8.6 mi away
The Beachside Resort
The Beachside Resort
#15 of 45 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beachbreak by the Sea
Beachbreak by the Sea
#27 of 45 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
2.2 mi away
Legacy by the Sea
Legacy by the Sea
#22 of 45 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Panama City Beach
Hampton Inn Panama City Beach
#11 of 45 in Panama City Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paradise Palms
Paradise Palms
#29 of 45 in Panama City Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#30 of 45 in Panama City Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Motel

Address: 12525 Front Beach Rd., Panama City Beach, FL 32407
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chateau Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Panama City Beachfront motel sits on a 500 foot stretch of sparkling, emerald green Gulf shoreline. Relax beside our lagoon-style, gulf side pool. Take a leisurely stroll at sunset. Grab lunch or a daiquiri at Treble Hooks, our pool-side Bar & Grill. Whatever you desire, the Chateau Motel is conveniently located close to the best Panama City Beach attractions and offers guests 150 ocean-view rooms with 5 floor plans to choose from. Located in the heart of the Miracle Strip, there is no better place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Motel Panama City Beach
Chateau Hotel Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.