We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Motel

Save Saved
You added Chateau Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Motel
12525 Front Beach Rd., Panama City Beach, FL 32407   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 52 hotels in Panama City Beach
Hogansville, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Second home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Another unbelievable week at the Chateau Motel in Panama City Beach, Florida! The staff is everything you want them to be and more! They are extremely helpful, attentive and friendly. The Chateau is our home away from home. The Beach Bum reunion is such a special event and the Chateau staff make it even better. Such beautiful views, two great gas grills on the deck, and comfortable beds. No condo's for us..it's the Chateau all the way!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCNICK, Manager at Chateau Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank your for your kind review. We love our Beach Bums and always look forward to the next reunion. This October will be the big 30th, very excited!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    56
    36
    26
    37
See reviews for
109
60
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is great! Quaint, 1960's motel right on the beach. The rates are reasonable, and the staff were extremely friendly and laid back. The motel curves around a pool deck and overlooks the ocean. Every balcony has a great view of the beach. We tried out one of the big gas grills on the pool deck overlooking the beach, the grill cooked our steaks to perfection and we ate while watching the sun go down over the gulf. Fabulous!

Since it was post-holiday, the motel was probably at 1/2 capacity, which made the amenities very accessible. I can imagine it gets pretty crowded during the busy season. The maintenance crews were fixing up the place for the off season (painting, scrubbing, etc.) and every caretaker we encountered was beyond nice.

Definitely worth the price. Location is great. Yes, the rooms are a bit older, but they are well maintained and we found them charming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCNICK, Manager at Chateau Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I will surly let my staff know how you feel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We do have amazing sunsets and our property has the perfect view. We have top of the line grills but the steaks are only as good as the cook. Hope you will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central City, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Chateau motel has been the only place we have stayed at when we go to Panama City. The views are beautiful and it is real close to everything. If you stay on a holiday be sure to take a taxi to your spots so you can keep your parking spot because the parking can get somewhat cramped. However, this is one of the coziest, best places we have ever stayed in our travels. Highly reccomend this spot to any one and for the money you pay you cant go wrong. Get the cabanas! They are the best spot in my opinion, you step out over the balcony and you are on the beach; how amazing!! Will def stay here again!!

Room Tip: Get the cabanas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCNICK, Manager at Chateau Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to review the Chateau Motel. I am very happy that you continue to stay with us and have good experience every time. I very much appreciate you patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

What an incredible spring break experience we had in both 2012 and 2013! Everything from the Chateau staff, to the location made for a wonderful vacation stay in Panama City Beach. They (the hotel) provide entertainment (DJ's, contests, etc.) everyday throughout the 4 main weeks of the spring break season, that added to the energy and excitement of our stay! They are friendly and accommodating, also very relaxed!!! Located right next to one of Panama's most popular clubs (Harpoon Harry's) it was great to jump back and forth from the bar to the hotel! I recommend for anyone with large groups. My friends got a kick out of watching all the fun of the live spring break cam available on the Chateau website.

Room Tip: Any room at the Chateau is perfect. Each one faced the ocean. I would recommend trying to get a suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCNICK, Manager at Chateau Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Very happy to hear that you had another great spring break at the Chateau Motel. We will continue to enhance our guest's experience so you will continue to have incredible spring breaks. Thank you for your kind words and I hope you be back for spring break 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Back in October of last year, I attended another dance at the Chateau Motel at Panama City Beach, FLorida, and as always, I had another excellent stay there.

I've stayed there many times before, and I'm always impressed with the Chateau. It's still one one the older hotels like I used to visit when I was back in school, but you wouldn't think it was old.

The entire staff was again outstanding, from the front desk, room maids, to the maintenance staff. Everyone was so accomodating, helpful, and courteous.

Our room was excellent also, which was located on the third floor, and overlooked the beach and ocean. It also had a full kitchen. We never left the hotel during our entire stay, as we had everything we needed right there.

We are returning to the Chateau next April for another dance, and we are very much looking forward to staying there again.

Jim Williams
Daphne, AL

Room Tip: Any of the rooms overlooking the beach are hard to beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCNICK, Manager at Chateau Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Mr. Williams,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Chateau Motel. I am very happy to hear that you had an excellent time with us and I look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Knobs on the sink, hot is cold, cold is hot, caused a burn on my hands, bathtub would not drain, inconsiderate management, refused to help telling us that he was throwing a party for his employees right outside of our room with blasting music while my friend in the room had to suffer threw all of this with a migrane and fever, do not recommend at all, unless you like constantly being disturbed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCNICK, Manager at Chateau Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Chateau Motel. I would like to have the opportunity to earn your business again. Please contact our management team (850-234-2174) so we can make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich / Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I loved this place. But it clearly is not a not a luxury hotel or anything like it. Its best days are over and everything is worn out. The location is still excellent and we had a great day there. Staff was very friendly and everything is close by (by American standards), very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCNICK, Manager at Chateau Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I am glad that you love our place and you had a great stay. The building is older, however we continue with renovations every off season to increase the quality of our facility. I hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Motel

Address: 12525 Front Beach Rd., Panama City Beach, FL 32407
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Panama City Beachfront motel sits on a 500 foot stretch of sparkling, emerald green Gulf shoreline. Relax beside our lagoon-style, Gulf side pool. Take a leisurely stroll at sunset. Whatever you desire, the Chateau Motel is conveniently located close to the best Panama City Beach attractions and offers guests 150 ocean-view rooms with 5 floor plans to choose from. Located in the heart of the Miracle Strip, there is no better place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Motel Panama City Beach
Chateau Hotel Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.