We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tidewater Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Tidewater Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tidewater Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   16819 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413   |  
Hotel amenities
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great View but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stayed from Aug 23-25 in unit 2915. I was first booked into a unit on the 30th Floor but after hearing how noisy the appliances and bedroom fan were, the receptionist moved down to the 29th Floor. The unit was clean, nice furnishings the carpets had a few stains but overall not bad for the price and beautiful view. Cons...The trash chute. That smell could gag a maggot. It was emanating the whole floor, bad. Please do something about that resort quest...please!!!!

Room Tip: Get a room in the middle part of the building, to avoid the trash chute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    74
    45
    40
    35
See reviews for
159
54
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ringgold, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

My family and I stayed at Tidewater Beach Resort in July. It has some good points but several problems as well. We stayed in room 207 the condo had a horrible smell in the master bed room and bath. I complained everyday for the first 3 days. They sent someone to look at it and all they said was nothing they could do it was something with sewage. I bought everything to try to get rid of the smell with little luck. The resort itself was very nice The pool, fitness center, and beach all nice. Unlike some places we have said before the is no front desk staff after 5 so if you have a problem you have to call the after hours help not helpful. The front desk staff not helpful or friendly when they were there.

Room Tip: Maybe rent through individual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Tidewater in Unit #0208 and absolutely loved it. Breathtaking views of the coast, balconies in every unit, incredible pool and sauna access. We loved everything about it. It was just like having our own home right on the beach. No complaints here whatsoever. Great location. Close to Pier Park and several restaurants but not right in the middle of all of the crowds. We plan to go back to Tidewater for our family vacations every year. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We just returned from a week at the Tidewater Resort. I was very skeptical after reading some of the reviews, but was pleasantly surprised. Our condo was beautiful and very clean. The kitchen was well stocked. The resort staff was very friendly and helpful and we saw people cleaning the common areas quite often. We were on the 8th floor and never waited more than 3 or 4 minutes for the elevator, but they were very hot. My only real (but minor) complaint is there are no markings on the parking garage to tell you what level you're on. The resort was not super crowded during our week, which I'm sure had a lot to do with the how pleasant our stay was. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

**WAS TOLD THIS WAS A NEW PROPERTY**I have used Resort Quest many times in the past at other locations. Room was filthy, elevators were so slow you need an extra day of vacation, staff just blames the owners for condo being a dump and says there is nothing they can do to help us. The "guests" do not matter at this dive. I'll never do business with Resort Quest again. I'm guessing the 5 star reviews on here are just Resort Quest's staff writing so they can sucker people into renting there. Run don't walk from this dump.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I was concerned from reading some of the negative reviews and went in expecting some issues. But when we arrived, group of ~18, check in was a breeze, plenty of luggage carts, elevator was extremely slow maybe twice that weekend. Great location and I booked through resortquest. I would def. stay at tidewater again or venture out to other condos as well as through resortquest. Their customer service is always awesome when I call and I enjoyed the passport to fun passes. not the best sleeper sofa and sometimes my key did not work so make sure you ask for atleast 2 keys

Room Tip: look online and request for the room you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, KY
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed at VRBO #360638 - Tidewater Resort unit 300 – 3rd floor overlooking the pool and beach - the week of July 10, 2011. The condo is immaculately clean, and very well decorated. It’s at the end of a long hallway, which provided us with privacy from the noise that was coming from other vacationers in the hallways and elevators. The view from the balcony was wonderful – right out to the beach! Below us was the pool, which is beautiful but a bit noisy during the day and into the early night hours.
The beach does offer beach chairs, but they rent for $33 per person per day. This was not included with our condo stay. I would recommend the owner purchase a seasonal pass for the chairs to give his/her guests the added amenity of having chairs on the beach and not having to bring their chairs – and the sand on their chairs – into the condo.
We had to purchase a few things for the condo – additional hangers and washcloths being the main things. We didn’t have a robe hook in the bathrooms, but found that we could hang our dripping suits over the shower head. The kitchen if furnished perfectly – even with the same kitchen stove and fridge I have at home! But other than cooking a pizza – we didn’t use it much.
We really liked that you don’t have to have a key or key card for the door – just a simple combination that you can memorize. We didn’t have to worry about having enough keys, or who had the key.

Parking was included in our rental, and the parking garage has a walk-over on tne 2nd floor. We liked that since the road is very busy, and we'd not care to try to cross in traffic!

Tidewater is a beautiful resort – only a few years old - on Lullwater Beach, which is very close to Pier Park. We walked to the pier a couple of days. The beach the week we were here was FULL of sea weed. We heard one local say they called it “June grass” and it was always here between the last two weeks of June and the first two weeks of July. It really stunk – like dead fish. I’d recommend coming at another time to avoid this stuff. We couldn’t stand to lay on the beach for the smell. No one was getting in the water – it looked like country pond scum!

Room Tip: Rent from VRBO.com where you can rent directly from an owner. I've done it many times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tidewater Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tidewater Beach Resort

Address: 16819 Front Beach Road, Panama City Beach, FL 32413
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 77 Specialty lodging in Panama City Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tidewater Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tidewater Beach Resort is a first class resort condominium featuring an impressive array of amenities for owners' and guests' enjoyment. Two huge lagoon pools with hot tubs, a 4,300 sq. ft fitness center with roman spas, saunas and steam rooms, a 5,000 sq. ft. conference center, a movie/media center, indoor pool, seven elevators and much, much more... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tidewater Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tidewater Beach Hotel Panama City Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tidewater Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.