We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Dining Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capt. Anderson's Rest.

Capt. Anderson's Rest.
5551 N. Lagoon Drive, Panama City Beach, FL 32408
+1 850-234-2225
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $42
Cuisines: Dessert, Seafood, Steakhouse, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Capt. Anderson's restaurant is one of those rare "family" restaurants that not only survives, but strengthens and improves through the years. The landmark waterfront restaurant is celebrating its 46th anniversary in 2013, and every year has witnessed remarkable growth without loss of quality. The restaurant has grown to 725 seats and, six nights a week, serves over 250,000 guests during its 8 month season. Founders, Jimmy and Johnny Patronis set high standards of hard work and consistency for the younger Patronis generations, and they still pull their shifts at the busy restaurant, stopping by to welcome old friends and loyal customers... occasionally bussing a table or taking a special order. Their passion for the business is undoubtedly the root of Capt. Anderson's success.Named among America's Top 50 restaurants, recipient of the "Best Seafood Restaurant" award from Southern Living and Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence," Capt. Anderson's won Florida Trend's Golden Spoon Award for 15 years before being inducted into the Restaurant Hall of Fame in 2005. The Hall of Fame is the highest honor Florida Trend can bestow upon a Florida restaurant.Year 'round, the Patronis family works with fishermen, oystermen and others who make their living harvesting the Gulf and Bay waters, to preserve the natural oyster beds of Apalachicola Bay... to build artificial reefs... and protect the fragile coastal ecology. Preserving and replenishing the rich natural bounty of the Gulf Coast is part of the Capt. Anderson’s legacy, one of the most important reasons this landmark restaurant is known for serving more fresh local seafood than any other restaurant in Florida.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A Very Good Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stopped in early on a Saturday evening, after Labor Day, and were seated immediately. Our server was prompt and attentive and was very patient as my wife asked her about GF options. She made several trips to the kitchen to verify that a particular item was or could be prepared gluten free. It is always nice when a server takes extra special care like that.

I opted for the She Crab Soup (NOT GF) as an appetizer and was not disappointed. Nice and silky-creamy with good pieces of crab. We both opted for a dinner salad which was a Greek salad: very, very tasty. My wife chose the snapper and I went for the grouper, and we were both really satisfied with the quantity and quality of the entrees.

We had been told by several people at the resort that Capt. Anderson's was a "tourist trap"; big dining area and a "herd them in...herd them out" mentality. Happily, we can report that this was not our experience. The prices are in line with what we pay here at home as well as places we choose to stop while on our road travels. If we ever return to the area, we will definitely make another stop to enjoy a meal at this restaurant.

BTW, our friends purchased 5 pounds of shrimp at the seafood market here several nights later and boiled them up in our condo...WOW!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    174
    135
    103
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We go here every year on vacation. We love the food and atmosphere. A real Panama City Beach classic!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptAndersons, Owner at Capt. Anderson's Rest., responded to this review, September 13, 2013
thank you for your loyal following :)

Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expensive, but excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I ate there. The wait was not bad. Food was EXCELLENT. We had the sauteed crab fingers. I highly recommend them. My dinner was excellent too. I had a special, which was a sherry-infused cheese sauce with lots of crab. Couldn't tell you what it was called, but is was very rich and tasty. But the bill can easily run three figures for two people with an appetizer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptAndersons, Owner at Capt. Anderson's Rest., responded to this review, September 13, 2013
You had the Shrimp and Crab Augratin, it is very popular. We only use local bay shrimp and jumbo lump blue crab meat in the item, both of which are premium products.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Went there last night. Nothing much has changed since the 70's with the place. Good view if you get a table in the front. Food is terribly expensive for what you get. Way to much dressing on my Greek salad...very salty. My scamp was good and my husband had stuffed flounder and he said it was good. Cpt. Anderson's isn't what is once was. There are many other places to eat on the beach where the food is good and better in some cases and doesn't cost a weeks salary. It isn't worth a hour wait. Once about a time is was but not anymore.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptAndersons, Owner at Capt. Anderson's Rest., responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We have been family owned and operated since 1967, several of our staff have been here since then. We strive to stay consistent, using top quality ingredients in our items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Must Go To Place; At least once While Visiting PCB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have eaten at Captain Anderson's on 3 separate occasions since 2006. This past visit Sept., 2013 was the very best. If you ever visit PCB for a few days - you must go.

They have been around for many years. The pricing was fair enough.

During our visit we experienced a 45 minute wait which was no big deal especially since they have little vendors/shop set up to browse through. They have an excellent jewelry maker and we bought several sterling silver rings while waiting.

We saw 2 groups of people (one a party of 12) get very upset because they had to wait. This place is popular. Capt. Anderson's opens at 4:30 - so go early or come later to avoid waits.

I had broiled seafood sampler, wife had crab cakes. We enjoyed it very much. We even had dessert which was an awesome chocolate fudge/cake.

The manager thanked us as we left. I will definitely come back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptAndersons, Owner at Capt. Anderson's Rest., responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Very Cool! thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capt. Anderson's Rest. also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Capt. Anderson's Rest.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capt. Anderson's Rest., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.