We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy New Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingfish Restaurant & Sushi Bar

Kingfish Restaurant & Sushi Bar
4114 Jan Cooley Dr., Panama City Beach, FL 32407
+1 850-236-6075
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Enjoy the bold flavors of Kingfish Restaurant & Sushi Bar in a casual environment that showcases beautiful views of St. Andrew’s Bay. The view is matched only by the luscious creations from our award winning culinary team.Kingfish welcomes new menu items on each menu. Enjoy Potato Crusted Grouper with mushroom risotto, sautéed baby spinach, lump crab meat, all in a roasted fennel sauce or Beef Filet Mignon with fingerling potatoes and vegetables with béarnaise sauce & port wine demi glace.Don't forget to try our outstanding sushi bar. Enjoy favorites such as the California Roll, Crunchy Shrimp Roll or the Dragon Roll. Delight in our specialty rolls such as the O.G. Roll, a tempura fried roll with eel, spicy may, carrot, crab, scallion and shrimp. Or try the King Roll made with lobster, shrimp, tuna, red snapper topped with chopped salmon and 3 different caviars.Kingfish Restaurant offers weekly specials and happy hours. Kingfish has the menu to meet any budget and taste.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Happy New Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've been coming to Kingfish for New Years Eve for the past five years. In years past there had been hiccups and delays, but nothing too out of hand. I can say this years event tops em all. Each of the five courses arrived like clockwork and were delicious the recommended wine was spot on. Finally, the key lime thingy for dessert was out of this world! I asked the server about the meal and was informed that the whole thing had been prepared from scratch. Outstanding! Really raising the bar for Panama City Beach!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    15
    18
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“2nd Chance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

For those who may not be familiar with this restaurant, it resides within the Wyndham Hotel in the Bay Point area of Panama City Beach. My first visit to thei establishment was over ayear ago when the hotel was run by the Marriot corporation. I had lunch there with some co-workers at the time and it was terrible and overpriced. Seeing as it was now being run by different management AND this was a special 5 course New Year's Eve dinner, I was hoping that things would be much better. My expectations were dashed to bits.

Despite the fact that is was New Year's Eve, the place was only half full. Our reservations were for 8:30 PM, but all of us did not get there until about 9 PM. It took 15 minutes for all of us to get our drinks. The waiter was inattentive throughout the whole meal. When we spoke to the manager about it, the excuse was "Well, it is New Year's Eve". This was not a good start for the evening.

The cost for the dinner was $75 per couple or $45 for an individual. My wife and I both went with 2 friends. After all, it was New Year's Eve. All of us have eaten at both fine dining establishments over the years as well as dives. We do not discriminate. We went into the whole experience both open-minded and hopeful of a good meal.

The first course was a combination of Chilled Strawberry Gazpacho and Cucumber Caviar served in a small glass almost like a shooter, Curry Fired Apalachicola Oysters with Lemon Butter & Panchetta, and Spicy Tuna Won Ton with Kimchee Aioli, Cumcumber Napa Slaw, and Grapefruit Soy. Despite the fact the some of these items sounded appetizing, only the oysters were any good. You would think that with so many ingredients that the chef could not possibly make this food bland. We were all wrong. I get the feeling that I have already spent more time writing this review than was spent putting this course together. All 4 of us in the group agreed about the qulaity and taste of this particular course.

The second course was a Gulf Blue Crab "Pot Pie" with Fingerling Potatoes and Champagne Cheddar. This course was not bad at all. It actually tasted pretty good and had some interesting flavor. Our group began to have hope for the rest of the meal.

The third course was a small salad of Peppery Arugula, Honey Crisp Apples, Tangerine, Laura Chenel Chevre, and Kamodo de Robles Dressing. Don't bother to look up and of these ingredients with which you are unfamiliar. It doesn't matter. I never thought that I would ever eat a dry salad, especially with apple and tangerine in it. Only one of the four in our party finished this course.

Unbeknown to our group, the next course was going to be worse than any of the others. It consisted of Fried Green Tomatoes (which we all love), Smoked Chili-Red Pepper Remoulade, and Crispy Vaca Fritta. It was horrendous!!! It was some of the dryest food I have ever had in my life. The "remoulade" was nothing but dried beef (we think) on top of the fried green tomatoes. The entire dish made us all think we needed glass of water to pour over it just to reconstitute it for eating.

At this point, we are all NOT happy with the meal. However, we march on determined to find some redeeming quality about the whole thing. At this point, the crab "pot pie" is a fading memory. For this course, we each had a choice of an entree'. 2 people order the Tandoori Seared Day Boat Scallops with Saffron Fettuccini, Thai Shrimp Brodo, and Baby Bok Choy. Both individuals who ordered this meal did not even finish half of it. The past was dry if you can believe that is possible, the shrimp in the meal was scarce, and the bok choy took up half the plate. Another person in the group ordered the Filet Mignon with Parmesan Potato Mille Feuille, Gorgonzola Shallot Gratin, Haricort Vert, and Beurre Rouge. We all agreed by sight alone, the piece of meat on the plate was NOT filet mignon. The eater of this dish chewed two bites of the meat and could not do it any more as it was chewy and tastless. This is supposed to be one of the most tender cuts of beef you can get if prepared properly which was not the case here. The four person in the party ordered Roasted Gulf Black Grouper with Sage and Tomatillo Brine, Butternut Squash Gnocchi, Sofrito Broth, and Vegetables. This meal can only be described as strange. The grouper was tasteless and the other ingredients were a hodgepodge of sweet, mushy, and tasteless all at the same time.

After the meal, we all agreed to never eat here again. None of us have any idea why the chef is still working there nor why the dishes were not tasted beforehand. If they had been, I cannot imagine any rational person thinking it was worthy of a New Year's Eve dinner or any other for that matter. It has been a long time since anone in our group have had such a horribly tasting and prepared meal. It became clear to all of us why the place was not busier on such an evening as New Year's Eve. All I can say to any reader of this review: YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food and Pleasant Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have enjoyed Kingfish each time we have been in Panama City Beach. This time was no exception. The food was tasty, and we ate outside so we could view the sun setting. It was a lovely evening with the good food, the lovely scenery, and considerate service. It is very convenient for those staying at the Wyndham. Why leave when you can stay there and dine?

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We just did a quick takeout from the sushi bar. Service was quick and the sushi was fresh. The staff was friendly and courteous, so I couldn't ask for more.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Breakfast Buffet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Lot's to choose from including an omelet station and belgian waffles! Service was wonderful, the staff really worked hard to get the conference attendees to their opening sessions each day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfish Restaurant & Sushi Bar also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Kingfish Restaurant & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingfish Restaurant & Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.