We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Trap” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Margaritaville

Margaritaville
16230 Front Beach Road, Pier Park, Panama City Beach, FL 32413
+1 850-235-7870
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Best of the Bay First Place winner for best lunch, dinner and live music venue! Designed like the great old beach hang outs that once populated the Gulf Coast, Margaritaville Panama City, is located in Pier Park, the only entertainment and shopping complex on the beach. With upper and lower decks overlooking the Gulf it's the perfect blend of ocean breezes, great food, generous drinks and Beach Party Music. The island-inspired menu offers something for everyone with classic American and Gulf Coast favorites.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food is substandard and way overpriced. Loud music to the point of being annoying. I would prefer going to Hardee's and getting the $5 bag lunch.... you would save $20 and the food would taste better. Their are some tourist traps here in Panama City Beach and this is one of them. I would avoid it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Rick L - We are very sorry this is how you feel about our food and atmosphere. We hold ourselves to high standards and it's upsetting to know we missed the mark entirely with you. We don't want to lose you, so your comments will be taken to heart.

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    326
    241
    110
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Brought friends for spring break ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Horrible service and food was overpriced and nasty!! The nachos nothing but a mile high chip plate.. Not near enough toppings to cover a third of the chips. Ridiculous!! When asked about it the server said yeah well they r the largest in town. Umm no the tallest chip tower but not largest...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
HollywoodHotti621 - We sincerely apologize for the food and service you describe here. We take great pride in both, so your comments will be addressed with our team.

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Perfect if you like really loud music, average food for the Gulf area and high prices for casual dining. Our server was very good. The atmosphere is tourist tacky, but the restaurant is clean. My $17 fish sandwich was not up to Gulf Coast standards, with a hint of fishyness. Others in our party had burgers that were good. The deep fried cod was also good. All portions were generous.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Mark M - Thank you for visiting and sharing your honest feedback. It is upsetting to know we didn't fully exceed your expectations and we apologize. We want to be perfect in your eyes, so your comments will be taken to heart.

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awful...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We visited Margaritaville 3/30/2014 and were truly disappointed. This has always been a must stop for us since 2008 and we have never had such horrible service. Our server was Jenny and she had no desire to help us. We arrived at 4:30 and had no wait for a party of 9, we were quickly seated in the boat which was the only good part of our experience. We told the host we were celebrating 3 younger girls birthdays and he was very excited and said he would send the stilt balloon girls over, well that happened at 6:30 after we paid and were leaving. It clearly states on the website "Birthdays Whether it’s your 5th or your 85th birthday, Jimmy Buffett’s Margaritaville is a perfect place to celebrate your day, and our entertainment crew will make you feel extra special!" nope not this time. The service sucked, the moral sucked, they no longer do the show, and after 2+hrs not one time did Maragritaville even play! Had someone asked me about this place before this day I would have highly recommend to visit but not now... Awful Awful Awful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
cmartin78 - We are very sorry this is the most recent experience you had with us. We want to stay on the top of your list, so your comments will be taken very serious by our team. We appreciate you taking the time to share all of your concerns and we do hope you give us another chance to earn back your trust in the future. Again, our sincere apologies.

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Horrible Service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Wow, I have visited many Margaritaville's and let me tell you DO NOT VISIT THIS ONE!! The service was terrible. We visited during Spring Break and were excited to visit another Mville, but were sorely disappointed when our waitress showed up. She acted as though we were imposing on her. My child ordered the mac n' cheese and she said it was spicy. I thought it odd, but I tried it and it was spicy. She couldn't eat it. When we explained it to the server she literally acted like we were lying that it was spicy. She said well we ran out of cheese so they must have used the con queso cheese. She asked what my child wanted to in place of the mac n' cheese and she apologized, but it was obvious that it was NOT GENUINE. Then she walked away and made a snide comment to the other servers standing 3 feet away from us. Then returned and said she was mistaken the cheese used for the mac n cheese was not con queso and it was not spicy....well, guess what, it was spicy. The decor was typical Mville, but sadly we did not see any large blenders or volcano that erupts every so often. If this is the first Mville you have been to please do yourself a favor and visit the Myrtle Beach SC Margaritaville. That is by far the best we have visited. I thought the staff in the gift shop would be friendlier and they weren't. Very dissapointed and WE WILL NOT RETURN TO THIS ONE!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtneyGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Margaritaville, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
proshopper112 - Our sincere apologies for the service you describe here. Creating a fun and memorable experience for our guests is one of our top priorities, so it's upsetting to know we greatly missed the mark with you. Your comments will be addressed with our staff and taken serious.

Margaritaville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaritaville also viewed

Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
Panama City Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Margaritaville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margaritaville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.