We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, decent price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Select Panama City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Select Panama City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Panama City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Martin Luther King Blvd, Panama City, FL 32405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 33 hotels in Panama City
florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, decent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed the night after our business had their Christmas party here. I found the staff attentive and polite, if not a bit "untrained". As an example, I asked if/where an ATM was. They told me "Around the corner, by the elevators". It was there, but it was out of service. I told the desk clerks, and they said "There's nothing we can do". Of course, the correct answer is "We'll notify our manager, who will notify the people who fix ATMs". Because - as I pointed out to the clerks - if I can't get money out of the machine, I may not spend money in the hotel bar, restaurant, tip the maids, etc.

The politely took my concerns, and whether or not they called the manager, I have no idea.

Anyhoo, the room was clean and in good shape. Breakfast was NOT included, but I did purchase breakfast in the restaurant, and it was very good.

All in all, I'd stay here again if I pass through again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    16
    17
    7
See reviews for
17
17
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on our first visit to pcb so we were unaware how far from the beach the hotel actually was. The hotel is older and could use a little renovation. The rooms were clean but could stand to be a bit more tidier. The staff is extremely nice. And the pool area is awesome! Our kids loved the pool! All in all its just okay. I do recommend spending the extra $$$ to stay closer to the beach be taken into consideration.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford de
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is a good examples of what an older Holiday Inn can achieve wit great employees
with great service attitudes.
Pool and spa are very good .Only negative is Hotel Very Slow. If you are going to use the pool facilities should ask the front desk to put you in a room convenient to stairwell exits or lower floor by elevator. Room rates are very reasonable if traveling I-10 Hotel is approx 50 miles south
of I-10 on rt.231 Oh in the evenings expect a snack cart to stop by your room with snacks and drinks (non alcohol)
Parking is very convenient and plenty of spaces

Room Tip: If using pool ask for lower rooms to be more convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Not a great place for the money paid. The rooms were pretty clean for the most part, the pool and the hot tub are so dirty. My friends and I must have swam in that pool multiple times not realizing what a very bad idea it was. We all ended up getting ear infections from the pool, I got red spots all over my back that did not go away for another 2 weeks. The sauna was ok, except some old staff guy kept hassling me and my friends trying to make us go back to our rooms. I felt like I was being babysat. The cafeteria was clean but the service was not great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Select Panama City, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear sweetmagnolia1717,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay with. I am deeply sorry you received service that was less than satisfactory. We are hospitality professionals and pride ourselves on delivering world class service. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel needs to be downgraded to 1 star effective immediately!

I booked a 4 night stay with hotwire.com using their exiting “blind “hotel booking and I was unpleasantly surprised at my arrival. The hotel is very old, it smells terrible, customer service is nonexistent and we found a frog inside the room on the 5th floor. Initially we were checked in into a dirty room, and then we found the frog in the 2nd room they gave us. The entire length of our stay was 20 minutes and I will never return to this hotel, I am undecided on the brand yet.

The problem is that somehow the hotel has 3 stars rating everywhere on Internet and I cannot understand why. Well, hotwire refunded my entire booking without any hassle, which is a good indication it is not the first time they hear complaints about this property.

Anyways, if you expect to stay at 1 star hotel and if you book it for around 50-60 dollars per night, then you will stay in a 1 star hotel and you might get to sleep with frogs. If you expect a 3 star hotel, regardless of the price you paid, you will leave as soon as you enter this property.

Room Tip: I found a frog inside the room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Select Panama City, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Petar K

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the overall condition of our hotel. This is certainly not the impression we wish to project to our guests. We take our customer reviews very seriously and really use them to better the quality and guests services we offer in the future.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Upon checking in, the clerk at the front desk had me wait for service for three minutes without saying a word to me. Customer service is dying in this country. You never ignore a customer that is ready to spend money...... Overall, the hotel appears to be older, but very well-maintained. The hotel was very clean except for the jetted-tub in my room. The jets had gunk around them. I also noticed that when I started the jet, the jet released a foul smelling water. Of course I didn't bother using the tub after that. I didn't bother asking for another room either. Other than that, the room was very clean.....The poor service and dirty tub were enough to make me cancel my reservations for the following two nights. I ended up booking rooms at a reputable hotel on the beachside with complimentary hot breakfast for each guest for the same rates... I've had pleasurable experiences at Holiday Inns before, but I will never return to this one.

Room Tip: Check the jets on the whirlpool before you use it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great place for a quick stop, Staff really friendly, Rooms are clean, great ameneties, refrigerator, plasma TV, spacious, with WIFI access. Hotel has a Pool and hot tub, plenty of parking, and is located in a center area in Panama City. It is an older building so you might find few things that need to be updated for example the Bath tub/shower. But overall for less than $90 per night it was a Good experience. About 10-15 minutes away from Panama City Beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Select Panama City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Panama City

Address: 2001 Martin Luther King Blvd, Panama City, FL 32405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Select Panama City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 9 Miles from Tyndall AFB, 8 Miles from NCSS & Panama City Beach! When business or pleasure takes you away from home, welcome to Holiday Inn Select Panama City! Surrounded beautifully by gardens & fountains, this award winning full service hotel & convention center is convenient for business travelers and vacationers alike. Located in the Panama City business district at HWY 231 and HWY 77 across from the Panama City Mall, our meeting/convention space will accommodate up to 400 with 4425 square feet of meeting space. The Holiday Inn specializes in conventions, events, meetings, reunions, wedding receptions; athletic teams just to mention a few. Our beautifully appointed guest rooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi high-speed Internet, ergonomic chairs, refrigerators & microwaves, & executive desk. The private access executive level offers deluxe king accommodations, microwave, refrigerator, and whirlpool jets in tub as well as nightly turn down service in addition qualifying rates include breakfast & two cocktails! Enjoy the atmosphere in Mamma Mia’s Restaurant with full service breakfast and dinner, American cuisine. Join us in Chances “R” for your favorite cocktail in our 1847 Brunswick style lounge. After an exhilarating workout in our exercise room with new Nautilus equipment, unwind in our indoor heated pool or just relax in our steam room, sauna or Jacuzzi. We invite you to experience true hospitality – Southern style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Panama City Hotel Panama City
Holiday Inn Panama City
Panama City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Select Panama City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.