We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need help” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson - Panama City (23rd St.)

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson - Panama City (23rd St.) to your Saves list
Howard Johnson - Panama City (23rd St.)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson - Panama City (23rd St.)
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   301 East 23rd Street, Panama City, FL 32405   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #24 of 33 hotels in Panama City
PLANT CITY
1 review
“Need help”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The room floor had dead bugs. The counter top was not wiped off. The TV had bad color. The door did not have the security latch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    11
    8
    13
See reviews for
25
6
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The location was really good, it was a 5 minute walk to Panama City mall and close to many other shops and restaurants. The staff were really helpful and friendly, especially Misty. Although they didn't seem to know much about public transport in the area which was a problem for us but once we figured it out ourselves it was easy to get the trolley to the beach.

The breakfast was nice, simple but nice and you could have as much as you wanted. The hotel was very clean, as was the pool. 

The only problem we encountered was noise outside our room at night, request a room on the 2nd floor if you can because we were on the ground floor and a family of about 20 congregated outside our room for hours at night!

I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Panama City. Although if the beach is the main reason for your visit I would recommend staying at Panama City Beach rather than Panama City, as it's quite a trek especially if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautier, Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I have slept in Howard Johnson before. I will never sleep at this location. It was nothing like I expected. Breakfast: HAHA, what a joke! Peacefully nights rest, Only after I ran off the drunks that were having a party in front of my room.
If you have children, run in another direction. Stay away from this place. I wouldn't leave anything of value in hotel. Thank God I only had to stay one night.
Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. What a dump!
I don't trust many hotels to clean their sheets so I always carry my own. I don't think they washed their at all. The smell was unreal.
Only plus, Price. Had to take a class down there during Spring Break. Next time, I'll pay the $100 for a better room.

Room Tip: Choose another location. This hotel is ghetto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Found this hotel at a decent price and the price was probably the best part. The hotel was listed as a two star but was barely a one. The staff was friendly and helpful but the room looked as though it hadn't been cleaned since the day the place was opened. The carpet had stains all over it, the walls had holes that had been patched (not well) the counter top with the sink was coming loose from the wall, the bathroom had cobwebs in it, the toilet paper holder was rusty and the paint around the door was patchy and peeling. The value was great, and with a little TLC this would be a nice place, but until the staff dedicates some time to maintenance and cleaning, I'd advise to only stay here if you can't find anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manisha p, Manager at Howard Johnson - Panama City (23rd St.), responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you for your response. The staff of the Howard Johnson Express- Panama City, FL apologizes for any inconveniences during your stay. We have worked with housekeeping and maintenance to keep the property up to standard and continue to work with them to keep guests comfortable and happy during their stay. We have recently as of last month updated our rooms with new carpeting, furniture, and bedding. If you come to Panama City again, please give our inn a try. Please contact management when you reserve or come in, so we may personally show you our updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Absolutely dirty, worst service, dont buy into the free WI FI lie!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010 via mobile

The lady at the desk wAs very friendly and the pool was decent.. I cannot find any other good points about this hotel. The room had a strange smell upon walking into the room, this went away after the air conditioner was turned on. There were holes in the walls, there door to the room had shoeprints on it, as if it had been kicked. The latch to keep the door locked was broken, so it would be easy to break down the door.
There were bugs on the bathroom floor and cobwebs on the ceilings. The bathrooms were small but at least the water was warm.
There were also stains on the ceilings... Not sure what those were from.
The desk personelle was helpful And offered another room but we were only there for one night and just dealt with it... I could not reccomend this hotel for anything
more than a night.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

The room and appointments showed signed signs of age to the point quality was compromised. However, the continental breakfast was presented in a neat manner.

I would rate this location on the lower end of chain motels. It's definitely not for the discriminating traveler but would meet the needs of the budget-minded.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson - Panama City (23rd St.)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson - Panama City (23rd St.)

Address: 301 East 23rd Street, Panama City, FL 32405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson - Panama City (23rd St.) 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Venere, HotelsClick, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Howard Johnson - Panama City (23rd St.) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson - Panama City (23rd St.) Hotel Panama City
Panama City Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson - Panama City (23rd St.), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.