We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful view great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buccaneer Beach Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Buccaneer Beach Motel to your Saves list
Buccaneer Beach Motel
711 West Beach Drive, Panama City, FL 32401 (Formerly Days Inn Bayside - Panama City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Panama City
Milledgeville, Georgia
1 review
“beautiful view great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

we had a great time during our stay. the hotel and restaurant staff were very nice. parking was convenient and rooms were easily accessible. the front desk clerk was very nice and helpful. the restaurant even stays open late and has good hours. our kids love the playground also.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    34
    13
    8
    27
See reviews for
43
32
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the view of the bay from the parking lot. Behind the guest laundry and the dog walking lawn is a small private beach which is also lovely. The rooms defenitely need to be thouroughly cleaned and updated. It is currently a little overpriced. Located next to an industrial park but near oldtown Panama City and St Andrews.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have stayed twice at "the Buc" for family weddings and found its location, price and staff very good. The rooms are dated and with the exception of the bay view rooms, nothing to get excited about. The rooms were simply ok, but priced nicely. The staff was very helpful. On our second stay the AC went out at 2AM, but being so late I decided to wait till morning to get it fixed. The staff replaced the unit as soon as I reported the problem, and the manager gave us a night free for both rooms I was renting at the time. The restaurant is good and priced nicely and the bar is a local hangout usually with live music on weekends. If you want to stay in Panama City without staying all the way out at the beach, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a bay side room. Nice view and a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbs, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This Hotel has a beautiful view of the Bay with lounge chairs right on the water and a very nice pool. Beds were very comfortable.The personnel were extremely nice and helpful. The Restaurant and Bar were top notch and we look forward to our next stay there. Terrific price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We came to Panama City this past weekend for a Festival of Nations show on business. Not knowing where to stay, I was planning 3 options close by: Holiday Inn (which we always go to); Red Roof Inn (our second choice, but have never been) or the third was to stay at the Buccaneer Beach Motel. We have never really heard of this hotel and the price was awesome and it was 5 min. from downtown where we were to do our show. Well, before reserving, I did a little research on this hotel by looking at other guests opinions. They were great feedbacks and thought we would take a chance. Well, the first thing we noticed, it was right on the beach. We decided to grab a bite at their restaurant, and their food and service was also great. They also have entertainment in their lounge. Our room on the first floor had a back door that led right to the beach. It was so quiet and peaceful and enjoyable. I awoke and took a cup of coffee and sat watching the sun rise and seeing and hearing the waves on the shore...that was refreshing since we don't do that where we live. This hotel seems to have guests that are "regulars". We enjoyed our stay and will plan to use this hotel again. It is very close to other beaches and Panama Beach. Thank you for your hospitality. Ciao, Antoinette (Little Taste of Italy)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The motel has a great location, with a great staff. But it could use some updating. It had a 19 inch tv in the room and it had a musty smell. The bar and grill seemed to be rocking with locals but we did not stop in. You get what you pay for and it was a great value. It is a renovation away from being worth a must stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Pinto, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Rooms are clean and personnel are so friendly, helpful and attentive!!! We stay there every year in October!!! We usually stay 7 to 8 days and we ALWAYS have a great time and truly enjoy ourselves!!!! Plus they are right on the beach and have their own private beach that you can walk straight into the water. Kids have fun too, because they have a ship to climb all over and swings to swing in!!!

Room Tip: Any room you get will be good! We have stayed on the top floor and the bottom floor. We actually d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buccaneer Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Beach Motel

Address: 711 West Beach Drive, Panama City, FL 32401 (Formerly Days Inn Bayside - Panama City)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buccaneer Beach motel is located in the center of Historic Panama City and is located directly on beautiful St. Andrew Bay overlooking Shell Island and the Pass to the Gulf of Mexico. The motel features over 800 feet on the bay with a white sand beach, complimentary lounge chairs and umbrellas, a large sundeck, pool, a fishing dock and a playground for the little ones!! Along with all the motel offers the Buccaneer Bar & Grill offers even more. The Buccaneer Bar & Grill has been a local gathering place for over 50 years and offers many fun filled things to do during your stay. The Bar hosts live entertainment every Friday and Saturday night along with many other activities through out the week. They also have a Tiki Bar on the back deck that is open Thursday thru Sunday with a beautiful view of the bay. We look forward to having the opportunity to spoil you with our outstanding hospitality in the future. Come stay and play on the bay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Buccaneer Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Beach Hotel Panama City
Days Inn Bayside
Days Inn Panama City
Panama City Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buccaneer Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.