We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bittersweet but has good points if you look for them” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Panama City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Panama City to your Saves list
Knights Inn Panama City
711 West Beach Drive, Panama City, FL 32401 (Formerly Buccaneer Beach Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Panama City
Wichita Falls, Texas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bittersweet but has good points if you look for them”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We chose this hotel based on price and the private beach only. This was to get us a place to stay for a night on our way across from Biloxi to Tampa. That is about all it was good for, honestly, and I have several reservations about returning. First, it is an OLD hotel and while they have painted and cleaned up and made some updates like a decent TV and microwave/fridge, it is simply OLD and you can't paint over that. Second, the private beach is about thirty feet wide and about twenty feet long and you can only walk a few feet into the water before you run into thick seaweed which just isn't pleasant to deal with. Third, and this may just be a seasonal thing, but the SMELL of DEATH from all the industry and sea creatures is absolutely impossible to overcome in the mornings. Maybe this is just because we were there in early July, maybe it's OK during other times of the year. But there ARE good things. The restaurant has TERRIFIC service and good pub grub/comfort food and it was the highlight of our stay at the Buccaneer. The beach area has a swingset and a "pirate ship" for the kids to play on. There are chairs and umbrellas available at no charge. The sand is nice, not too many shells, it's soft when it's dry, firm when it's wet, fun to play with. The pool is awesome, just the right size for kids to play and there is a deeper end to dive with rings and glowsticks and such. There is plenty of parking. The front desk personnel are really sweet. They have just replaced their internet routers and other equipment and the signal is very good now even at the back of the furthest rooms from the office area. In closing, I can't recommend this hotel if you're looking for a resort experience, but it is acceptable for what it is. But depending on the weather and time of year you may need to plug your nose from about 5am until noon and you'll be fine. That smell stayed in my head well into the afternoon when we were hundreds of miles away. Maybe it's a Panama City thing?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    34
    13
    8
    28
See reviews for
43
32
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
redford
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

YOU DO NOT WANT TO STAY HERE! First of all, when we booked, we thought we were staying at the Days Inn Bayside Hotel (old ownership) which used to be nice. We did not realize it had changed to Bucccaneer Motel.
HERE ARE THE LIST OF COMPLAINTS:

1. When we checked in, EVERY towel and wash cloth was dirty.
2. We killed a 2 inch roach and a 2 inch crab like bug in our room.
3. The light bulb was out near desk.
4. Cloth chairs were stained and filthy.
5. We felt like we were held hostage because there were no refunds.
6. For the price you are going to pay, you would be better off paying a little more for better
accomondations.
7. They didn't offer any restitution. In fact, I don't think they really care as long as people keep
patronizing them.

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

we met other people there and the first thing was, we have roachs in our bathroom. so they get another room after being there for 1 day (no refund). so no more got them settled and we go back to our room and one was on the wall. killed it. well after that no sleep. never seen anymore the rest of the stay which was fri. to sun. left sunday to come home, got home and was unloading bags and i had brought one home with us. was not happy. other than that the rooms are so so and personally myself i would pay a few extra and stayed at a place i knew. thats just my opinion. the pictures you see are true but the beach area is the bay and small. also no ice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanton, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

after reading the reviews I was scepitcal about staying at this hotel. when arriving to check in I was suprised. This hotel offers discounts if you are public servant. our room was nice and clean the only thing the housekeeper forgot to leave wash cloths. they aplogized and brought us some. the next day when we came back from the beach our room was clean. kids had a blast on the playground and in the pool. we usually stay at the sandpiper but could not afford to this time. after finding the buccaneer we will be staying here it is quite and kids have fun while saving money. our room over looked the bay.you can walk a good ways before the water gets deep. great if you have small children. the staff is so friendly. can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 302 carpet appears new the room was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

friendly not only the staff but the other guests too.We went for the 4th of july and i have never had so much fun we will return again for our wedding anniversary

Room Tip: ask for bayview rooms or the suite great view from those
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box Springs, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

From check in to check out, the staff here was very helpful and friendly. We had a wonderful stay. We even brought our dog Bo, as they are pet friendly. We had a clean and comfortable room. They have so many amenities onsite we didnt even have to leave. The bay backs up to the motel. They also have a private beach with umbrellas and chairs for guests, a play area for kids, a pool, a tiki bar outside, and a restaurant inside. They have live entertainment as well. THis is definitely the best bang for your buck. We are planning another trip for our 1 year anniversary in Sept and we will definitely be staying at the Buccaneer Beach Motel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a regular nonsmoking king room; however, they do have 2 room suites for large families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The entire motel was great!! We had room 138 right on the corner. It has a Great view with the deck right on the water. I actually fished off of it. The staff and owners went the extra mile to make us feel right at home. The rooms are clean, with sat TV, WIFI, Frige everything you need. With pontoon boat and jet ski rentals, we were never bored. The two private beaches were handy for our two year old son, we watched manta rays and blue crabs swim in the water and he loved the pirate ship playground with swings and the pool. We sat and ate on the "outdoor patio/tiki hut" of the restaurant and watched him play on the beach and playground. The food was great as well with breakfast lunch and dinner. And if you want drive into downtown to eat or shop, it's just 4 or 5 blocks!!! We will definately be coming back to "The Buccaneer Motel" if you want a turn key package motel, this is the place....

Room Tip: Try 138 if it's available but all of them are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn Panama City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Panama City

Address: 711 West Beach Drive, Panama City, FL 32401 (Formerly Buccaneer Beach Motel)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Knights Inn Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Beach Hotel Panama City
Days Inn Bayside
Days Inn Panama City
Panama City Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Panama City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.