We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“roachs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buccaneer Beach Motel

Save Saved
You added Buccaneer Beach Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buccaneer Beach Motel
711 West Beach Drive, Panama City, FL 32401 (Formerly Days Inn Bayside - Panama City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 hotels in Panama City
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“roachs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

we met other people there and the first thing was, we have roachs in our bathroom. so they get another room after being there for 1 day (no refund). so no more got them settled and we go back to our room and one was on the wall. killed it. well after that no sleep. never seen anymore the rest of the stay which was fri. to sun. left sunday to come home, got home and was unloading bags and i had brought one home with us. was not happy. other than that the rooms are so so and personally myself i would pay a few extra and stayed at a place i knew. thats just my opinion. the pictures you see are true but the beach area is the bay and small. also no ice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    33
    11
    8
    27
See reviews for
42
31
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clanton, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

after reading the reviews I was scepitcal about staying at this hotel. when arriving to check in I was suprised. This hotel offers discounts if you are public servant. our room was nice and clean the only thing the housekeeper forgot to leave wash cloths. they aplogized and brought us some. the next day when we came back from the beach our room was clean. kids had a blast on the playground and in the pool. we usually stay at the sandpiper but could not afford to this time. after finding the buccaneer we will be staying here it is quite and kids have fun while saving money. our room over looked the bay.you can walk a good ways before the water gets deep. great if you have small children. the staff is so friendly. can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 302 carpet appears new the room was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

friendly not only the staff but the other guests too.We went for the 4th of july and i have never had so much fun we will return again for our wedding anniversary

Room Tip: ask for bayview rooms or the suite great view from those
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box Springs, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

From check in to check out, the staff here was very helpful and friendly. We had a wonderful stay. We even brought our dog Bo, as they are pet friendly. We had a clean and comfortable room. They have so many amenities onsite we didnt even have to leave. The bay backs up to the motel. They also have a private beach with umbrellas and chairs for guests, a play area for kids, a pool, a tiki bar outside, and a restaurant inside. They have live entertainment as well. THis is definitely the best bang for your buck. We are planning another trip for our 1 year anniversary in Sept and we will definitely be staying at the Buccaneer Beach Motel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a regular nonsmoking king room; however, they do have 2 room suites for large families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The entire motel was great!! We had room 138 right on the corner. It has a Great view with the deck right on the water. I actually fished off of it. The staff and owners went the extra mile to make us feel right at home. The rooms are clean, with sat TV, WIFI, Frige everything you need. With pontoon boat and jet ski rentals, we were never bored. The two private beaches were handy for our two year old son, we watched manta rays and blue crabs swim in the water and he loved the pirate ship playground with swings and the pool. We sat and ate on the "outdoor patio/tiki hut" of the restaurant and watched him play on the beach and playground. The food was great as well with breakfast lunch and dinner. And if you want drive into downtown to eat or shop, it's just 4 or 5 blocks!!! We will definately be coming back to "The Buccaneer Motel" if you want a turn key package motel, this is the place....

Room Tip: Try 138 if it's available but all of them are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

First of all let me say that your wedding day is supposed to be a very special day. Mine was until I got to the reception which was here at the Bucc. I booked the venue almost 3 months prior to the big day and got a quote from the manager "Jay". We thought we couldn't beath the price and paid 20% down that day. He assured us that everything would be done, the floors the AC would be fixed and the food would be awesome. Weeks later we met up with him to followup on details, and he completely "forgot" everything we had talked about. He even had accidentally shredded the check we gave him thinking we canceled without calling us. From there everything went downhill. He hired a new assistant whom I have to say was a godsend because everything would have fallen throught without her. The AC was apparently brought to his attention, and he REFUSED to fix it. The food came out and hardly was enough to feed 50 people. None of the fans were set up to compensate for the lack of cold air. Not to mention Jay never spoke ONE word to me or my family. As a matter of fact as I was coming out of the bathroom in my wedding dress he had the audacity to say to me "Heard it was cold up there, I brought you a jackett"....Oh and I am 5 months pregnant by the way. What a nice guy. So save your money, don't go here if you want to be treated properly. I have NEVER dealt with so much unprofessionalism as here. I am boycotting them as well as the other place that JAY owns. He's a sorry excuse for a professional and I'm lucky my friends and family helped make the most of what we were dished out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I hate myself for booking here. Went cheap because we are here for a dance competition and thought we'd save the extra money that we'd saved by booking here and put it towards food and fun. The biggest mistake ever. We are stuck in a nasty place with drunks that are cussing and fighting ALl NIGHT! We've called the front numerous times and no one picks up. Our room was serviced today and "new" sheets were put on our bed that have what appear as to be blood on it. The bathroom is nasty and I'm making everyone wear their flip flops in the shower. We tried to leave early and they would not refund our money for leaving early. Do not book here unless you are ok with no sleep and lots of drunk fighting and cussing.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buccaneer Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccaneer Beach Motel

Address: 711 West Beach Drive, Panama City, FL 32401 (Formerly Days Inn Bayside - Panama City)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buccaneer Beach motel is located in the center of Historic Panama City and is located directly on beautiful St. Andrew Bay overlooking Shell Island and the Pass to the Gulf of Mexico. The motel features over 800 feet on the bay with a white sand beach, complimentary lounge chairs and umbrellas, a large sundeck, pool, a fishing dock and a playground for the little ones!! Along with all the motel offers the Buccaneer Bar & Grill offers even more. The Buccaneer Bar & Grill has been a local gathering place for over 50 years and offers many fun filled things to do during your stay. The Bar hosts live entertainment every Friday and Saturday night along with many other activities through out the week. They also have a Tiki Bar on the back deck that is open Thursday thru Sunday with a beautiful view of the bay. We look forward to having the opportunity to spoil you with our outstanding hospitality in the future. Come stay and play on the bay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Buccaneer Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccaneer Beach Hotel Panama City
Days Inn Bayside
Days Inn Panama City
Panama City Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buccaneer Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.