We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local place, loooong wait time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunt's Oyster Bar & Seafood Restaurant

Hunt's Oyster Bar & Seafood Restaurant
1150 Beck Ave, Panama City, FL 32401-1468
850-763-9645
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 266 Restaurants in Panama City
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great local place, loooong wait time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a great little local place. Be prepared to wait! It's very noisy and not much on character. You get alot of food for the money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    130
    52
    20
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

After attempting to have dinner at Hunt's Oyster Bar on the first Friday of our PC trip and not wanting to wait the 1.5 hr that the hostess advised, we returned the following evening. Our wait this visit was about an hour and well worth it. After starting with oysters on the half shell (large and sweet) and the Three Cheese Jalapeño Baked Oysters (simply delicious) we each had a sandwich or po-boy with a side. Definitely no complaints. For dessert - turtle pie. We left satisfied and thankful that we were persistent enough to return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Be careful ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A bunch of us friends ate there while on vacation. One plate had long hair in it, think they didn't change food. I ate chicken and slaw within 20 to 25 minutes was throwing up at Pier Park. Sickest I have been in a long time. It might be a one time deal but just be careful , it's not a good feeling!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We got there at 4:30 pm for a hour wait. After looking over the menu, we tried a dozen on the half shell and fried Gator as appetizers. The oysters were the largest I had ever seen. A couple I had to cut in half, they were so big. With the four of us, we ordered the Crab Cakes, Fried Shrimp, Crab Claws and the Seafood Platter ( which was grilled). We were not disappointed at all. With plenty of sweet tea, we were all just stuffed with fresh seafood. Service is great. Yes, it is worth the wait. Don't get discouraged and wonder across the street to another seafood boat place. We did a couple of nights before. Now we wished we had just waited. Yes there is a wait at this time of year, so go early or try it for lunch. Best place we have eaten at so far this week !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Decent food, cramped space”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Thought this was a GREAT place due to a friend's recommendation and the 45-minute wait. However, I was not impressed. Food was decent, but the restaurant is very small and noisy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunt's Oyster Bar & Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Panama City, Florida Panhandle
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Hunt's Oyster Bar & Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunt's Oyster Bar & Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.