We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“15 MINUTES FROM BEACH” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Panama City - Tyndall

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Panama City - Tyndall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Panama City - Tyndall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5627 East Highway 22, Panama City, FL 32404   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 33 hotels in Panama City
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“15 MINUTES FROM BEACH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very clean hotel. Close to stores such as Walgreens, CVS. Waffle house in front of hotel, right in front of Hwy 98, which is a straight shot to the beach. Gym was simple and functional. Beds were comfortable will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    5
    9
    5
See reviews for
9
7
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I asked when I walked into this motel for my six day stay if the motel was newly built. I was surprised to hear that it has been here for six years. The motel is very well kept, although in my king room, some wallpaper was beginning to flip down from the walls.

Otherwise, everything about my stay was comfortable and relaxing. Unfortunately I am not much of a "sun" person so didn't take advantage of the pool or spa to relax; but it looked nice!

Breakfast was GREAT, with the traditional Holiday Inn Express cinnamon rolls, pancakes, and the usual fare each morning. Sadie, the breakfast host each day I was there was always cheery and ready to go! She was always willing to take a minute to share and find out who you were and why you were in town. So be sure to say hello to her from Jerry when you stop in here!! She does a great job at keeping things stocked up and if she knows you're leaving early the next morning, she's always happy to package something for you for your next day's travels.

Also, a great location too, right next to Hwy. 98 (1/2 block away), and a Walmart about 1 mile away, a CVS next door and a Walgreens across the street from there. Only a few minutes north of Tyndall Air Force base.

Room Tip: Normally I get a room away from the elevator. Since I got an upgrade due to platinum status, I got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stay at Holiday Inn's all the time for business travel and like them. This hotel is updated and offers all the amenities you'd expect. What I take issue with is the way the pool is photographed and how it appears online. For this reason I took and have included one of my own. We arrived with our two young swimmer age kids and would have found the pool laughable had it not been such a letdown to my wife and I. I didn't expect a resort style/size pool but bigger than the one we have at home is not an unreasonable expectation. This pool is MAYBE 25x12. You don't stay at Holiday Inn Express loctions for their pool but let's be honest in how we present what is offered to guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was horrible. The second floor hallway smelled of urine so bad, we were afraid to breath the air. The room didn't stink as much, until we turned of the air conditioner. We packed up and left after being there for ten minutes. The hotel refused to refund my money. It also had a ton of lizards outside, probably there for the bugs.....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Panama City - Tyndall, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Groovygina,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of our property. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Arrived for a one night layover. Booked and prepaid 2 rooms. Receptionist called Timon, refused to acknowledge our pre-payment voucher as proof - it wasn't on his computer. His response was consistent - a shrug of his shoulders.After driving 500 miles I suggested a solution - one that he ought to have provided for us - to allow us to check in and stay, with our credit card details held as a guarantee, then he could call our travel agent in the morning to verify payment etc. After waiting for him to answer several desk telephone calls in the meantime, he reluctantly agreed to this. A sinister exchange occured while we waited at the desk between Timon and an elderly member of housekeeping staff where he challenged her on whether she had cleaned up the rooms properly. Clearly there was animosity there and this left us feeling very uncomfortable.
When we did finally get into our rooms, they were basic but clean.
The next day a different receptionist advised that the payment had been verified.
Glad to say that we were ther only one night - sort your staff out!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Panama City - Tyndall, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear aduncana,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Panama City - Tyndall.

I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, my apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

I do hope that if your travel plans do bring you to the area in the future, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianna, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We had a baseball tournament and booked about 8 or 9 rooms. I called a few weeks in advance and the hotel staff worked with us on prices and getting us all together. The pool is indoors and very nice!

It was a little disappointing that they didn't have complimentary breakfast, but they do have a restaurant in the hotel. (We didn't eat there so I can't comment on how it was!)

But altogether, we had a great time. The rooms were good, with a fridge and microwave. The kids had fun in the pool, and the service was great!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bessemer, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Me and my friends came here for Springbreak,we were here for a whole week. The jacuzzi was dirty the whole time we were their. Room service would just bust open your door at early hours disturbing your sleep. The lady at the front desk was very rude i dont know her name but she was white and wore glasses. How can a hotel run out of towels? well, this hotel did. So if u come to this hotel bring your own towels, because they dont like giving out extra!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Panama City - Tyndall, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Neshia N,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. I would like to offer a sincere apology. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Panama City - Tyndall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Panama City - Tyndall

Address: 5627 East Highway 22, Panama City, FL 32404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Panama City - Tyndall 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 5 miles from Tyndall Air Force Base! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites a 100% Non-smoking hotel. Located near the Tyndall Air Force Base; Eastern Ship Building, Smurfit-Stone, Arizona Chemical, home of the most beautiful beaches (Panama City Beach;15 miles), St. Andrews State Park; 20 minutes to Mexico Beach. We attract business and leisure travelers alike. Our rooms and suites are beautifully decorated for your comfort featuring complimentary high speed Internet and the Simply Smart Bath experience. Feel at home in the Great Room where you can enjoy our complimentary Express Start breakfast bar, featuring delicious Cinnamon Rolls and our new hot bar station. Our hotel has a meeting room that is ideal for meetings and/or training sessions which seats up to 30 people, outdoor pool and hot tub, fitness center, business center and guest laundry facility. Most importantly, this hotel wants your stay to be pleasant and a memorable experience. Make sure when your in Panama City, the Express is the only Smart place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Panama City - Tyndall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Panama City - Tyndall
Holiday Inn Panama City
Panama City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Panama City - Tyndall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.