We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOW we understand why ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sue's on 390

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sue's on 390
3931 W. Hwy 390, Panama City, FL 32405 (Formerly Sue's J. Michael's 390)
850-215-4355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 266 Restaurants in Panama City
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Panama City Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“NOW we understand why ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Now we understand why! We drove by on Saturday evening and the place was packed. Parking was horribly small to begin with, but looking inside there was just a few tables and there was a LONG wait to get one. Sunday afternoon we went for a late lunch. It wasn't crowded. The seafood platter was just right size with no leftovers. Seasoned very well and all of it cooked just right. I have no idea our servers name, just that she was tall with short black hair - she was absolutely great. Not overbearing nor neglectful. She was probably one of the best servers at any restaurant we have encountered in years...and we go out 3-4 times a week. As for pricing, it was very reasonable. We walked out, me, my wife and two boys for around $60 for everything. Excellent atmosphere as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sueson390, Owner at Sue's on 390, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
I'm always thrilled to hear from a satisfied customer! It is truly my goal to offer delicious and healthy fare in a comfortable homey environment. Thank you so much for sharing your experience, your review is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Archbold, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We were stunned!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

A friend said he had stopped here for spaghetti and it was good. Always ready to try new places to eat we decided to go to Sue's for lunch and were blown away. She was trying a new appetizer of baked oysters, olives, and cheese. We ordered that, a cup of grouper chowder and her shrimp specialty. All were some of the best we've had. The price is in line, the owner is on-site, the food is special. Just a great little restaurant. Don't let the outside fool you. Inside it is clean and fun. Very casual but a place we're planning on taking friends in the next two weeks.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

While visiting my son and his family for Christmas, we decided to find a local Seafood restaurant near Panama City. We were looking for something with variety but not an expensive choice. We found that Sue's on 390 sounded exactly like what we were looking for.

We got there at about 7:45 PM and because there was 7 of us, we had to wait for a couple of minutes for a table to be available. This is not a large restaurant and it has a comfortable feel to it.
All of the servers were friendly and had us seated quickly. The selection is varied and the prices were all very reasonable. They were out of fresh oysters but they had plenty of other items to choose from. The owner, Sue, came over to apologize for being out of fresh oysters and was very friendly and personally made sure we were well taken care of. We ended up hanging out for a while and she even escorted us out as we were leaving.

I highly recommend everyone to stop in here and enjoy the wonderful food and great service and atmosphere. The food is great and well worth the low price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sueson390, Owner at Sue's on 390, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
I'm so happy that your experience was what you hoped for! It is always my goal for my customers to feel at home and appreciated. Thanks you so much for your kind words. I hope you will visit again next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were looking for a local restaurant with great food and Sue's had great reviews so we have it a shop!

Every single item we ordered was absolutely amazing. Sue, herself, came out, introduced herself, and spent some time going over the menu with us.

The food was so great that we decided to stop by for a late lunch with a group of 15 people or so. The food was just as good as it was at brunch and the service was excellent, especially given the amount of people in our party and the split checks.

I would recommend Sue's to anyone and will eat there again if we visit the Panama City area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We were in town for an afternoon wedding in the neighborhood and happened upon Sue's when looking for a place with fresh seafood. Although it was comfortably crowded on a Friday night, we snagged two seats at the bar and enjoyed raw oysters, steamed shrimp and a great greek salad. Nice surprise and expect this little neighborhood place w/ a cozy feel will do well. Will definitely pop back in for a meal next time we are in town!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sue's on 390 also viewed

Panama City, Florida Panhandle
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Sue's on 390? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sue's on 390, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.