We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Mexican Fare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Los Rancheros Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Los Rancheros Mexican Restaurant
208 W. 23rd St., Panama City, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 266 Restaurants in Panama City
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Panama City Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Typical Mexican Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Lunchtime at Los Rancheros was enjoyable but not spectacular. For the reasonable price, I would agree it was what you would expect. Greeted with the usual chips and salsa, we ordered a Sampler Platter which was enough for two to share. Nothing great to mention, fried cheese, chicken fingers, fried jalapenos, quesadilla. We also ordered a chili rellenos, which was OK. The service was quick, and our server was attentive; however, I wouldn't necessarily go back to this particular venue.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, FL
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointment after many good visits”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were at the St Andrews location, which is our favorite. They had the loudest, most godawful guitar player (never encountered that there before); we would have really liked to have talked during our dinner. Then the parents of a toddler thought it was so darn cute she was dancing in front of our table which kept vibrating every time she jumped (sturdy kid) and blocking waitstaff; Mom actually occupied the next booth (with dozens of people waiting for tables) to adore her child. The waiter brought our tab and returned our credit card; then he returned someone else's tab and their credit card. Good thing we're honest. By then, two other little kids were dancing. At 8 p.m.? Bedtime? By then my husband said "Please? Ready to go?" and we bolted. We were halfway home before I realized I'd left a whole box of fajitas for my son on the table. We were that desperate to leave. We will go to the 23rd St location and hope to God that guy isn't playing the guitar there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Happy Hour Never Ends!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Right by the Hotel, we liked that we could drink and then walk back to the hotel without getting a ticket

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food with numerous locations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Los Rancheros offers delicious Mexican food to it's customers (both local and visitors) in several different locations in the Panama City area........23rd Strreet and Jenks Avenue, Beck Avenue in St. Andrews and on the beach. Great food, quick service, friendly staff and a pleasant and relaxing atmosphere.......what more could one ask when dining out!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Los Rancheros By The bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Arriving around 5:30 on a Tuesday, a few patrons where there with many more showing up by the end of dinner.

Started with warm chips and mild salsa. I enjoyed the enchiladas rancheros, cheese enchiladas with beef and pork, tasty with a good portion of lettuce, tomatoes and green peppers on the side. DaMama had beef enchilada dinner which she said was good, new to her was the brown enchilada sauce, with sides of fresh rice and refried beans. DaNiece had a sizzling plate of chicken fajitas that smelled great and she finished every bite. These came with a nice plate of rice, beans, lettuce, sour cream, tomato salsa and avocado.

All in all pretty good, nice interior with some outdoor seating.

The best part, since it was DaNiece's birthday, we finished with 3 scrumptious fried ice cream deserts. Looking forward to going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Rancheros Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Panama City, Florida Panhandle
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Los Rancheros Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Rancheros Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.