We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far enough away from the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Panama City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites by Marriott Panama City to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Panama City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   903 East 23rd Street, Panama City, FL 32405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Panama City
Madison, Alabama
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Far enough away from the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is a nice, clean hotel well suited for an extended stay. It is almost directly across the street from the Panama City Mall, but fronts onto a side street (23rd Plaza) parallel to the main thoroughfare (23rd Street).
The mini-kitchen includes a 3/4 size refrigerator with separate freezer, a dishwasher, microwave, and a two burner ceramic stovetop.
The neighborhood around is pleasant if you want to run or cycle.
Since the beach is a fair distance away, the spring break crowd is sparser here. Noises were rare after 9pm, and the tracks are more than 1/4 of a mile away, so the only train noises come from their horns (which they don't sound before 6am.)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    22
    8
    2
    8
See reviews for
23
15
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingha Alabama
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I loved this hotel it's across the street from the panama city mall and about 20 minutes from the beach. I like getting away from the crowd once i go to the beach so this the perfect place for me. The hotel was clean and i had no problems. The staff was nice and helpful.It had a nice little kitchen and work area to set up my laptop with good internet connection. I will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golden, CO
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed here twice in a week with free points. Very clean, quiet and convenient. Would especially recommend to business people in town. Next door to Marriott Courtyard. Close to eating places and away from frenzied tourists!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Clean and well run. In a lesser neighborhood but the hotel was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stay regularly at Residence Inns and Homewood Suites. I got this room with my Rewards Points. I stayed 2 nights while visiting my son who was on TDY at Tyndal. We were going on a fishing trip from Panama City Beach and it was only 15 minutes from the hotel. This hotel may not be right on the beach but the nearby shopping opportunities and lack of heavy traffic made the short drive well worth it
All of the other reviews which were positive are very discriptive of this hotel. The rooms are a little smaller than at the above mentioned hotels but the room layout is very useful with plenty of drawers and shelves for storage. If the pull-out couch bed is used, it makes for a cramped room but was comfortable for my 6 foot tall son.
The bathroom has the sink, mirror, toilet and shower all in the same room but has a fan ventilator that keeps the mirror mostly steam free during a shower. Plenty of drawers and storage in the bathroom as well but kind of limited countertop area.
Kitchen has a small sink, two burner stovetop, medium fridge with freezer but no ice maker. There is an ice machine on the first floor. Dishes, pots and pans, utinsels and silverware are provided as well as a dishwasher.
The work desk has computer cable provided and plenty of electrical outlets for power cords and chargers as well as a nice desk lamp. Internet speed was fantastic both wired and wireless. There is a very large closet with space for lots of clothes. Also a laundry basket. I didn't check out the laundry room so I don't know how many washers etc are available.
The front desk personnel are very friendly and helpful as was the breakfast room attendant, Veronica. Of special note were Heather and Amy on the front desk. They were extremely customer oriented, attentive, helpful and seemed to have a sensor or something because I never waited longer than 5 seconds before someone came to greet me and asked if I needed assistance. The whole staff was very friendly and helpful and made for a nice stay.
The breakfast had more variety than I thought it would have according to earlier reviews. No eggs, bacon or sausage but a waffle machine, juice, bread, muffins, large assortment of cereal, granola bars, fruit and instant hot cereals. It is easy to have a nice, helthy breakfast with the items provided.
There are numerous entrances to the building with key-card access and lots of free parking so it's easy to park near the closest entrance to your room. The elevator was very quick and centrally located. The pool is outdoors and was very enjoyable.
A couple of minor gripes I have are there was only one steak knife in the drawers which made dicing onions a little challenging. Also, it seems the shower curtain bar was installed about an inch or so too high because the curtain didn't extend very far into the tub and was easily displaced causing water to puddle on the floor. After the first time, I was careful to position the curtain correctly and had no further problems with that.
One other minor complaint is that the housekeeping staff seems to let the doors close rather loudly while entering and exiting the rooms. All that said, I will always stay there if I visit the area. The low price/points required make this a fantastic deal for a comfortable, convienient stay.

Room Tip: Even numbered room on top floor quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

The staff was outstanding. The location is great -- there are restaurants, fast food, and shopping within 10 minutes walking distance. The room, as usual, was perfect - especially if you cook in your own room (full sized fridge, stove top, microwave, dishwasher). They sell small items (frozen dinner, soda, no beer or wine). This was my second Towneplace stay, and I plan to put them on the top of my list from now on. The only thing close to a downside was the parking - there is no covered drive-up for checkins. Fortunately it wasn't raining when I was lugging my luggage in and out. Even so, I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

First time I've even heard of TownePlace, but figured it was a Marriott affiliate so how bad could it be. It was fabulous. Immaculately clean, the staff was courteous, welcoming and helpful. The location is great - 3/4 of a block off of the busy main road, so it was quiet. Across from the mall with easy access to lots of restaurants. Price was sensational - less than any of the other limited service locations nearby. Its not by the beach, but for the massive savings, the beach is just a 20 mnute drive. The rooms are a little on the small side, but that's the norm for limited service properties. It was really well laid out, very hip and modern. All the rooms come with a king bed and a full sofa bed, so the room sleeps 4 comfortably. Best of all it really does have a full kitchen - frig, stove, microwave,sink, dishwasher, pots, plates, glassware, serving utensils, silverware, toaster and FULL SIZE coffee maker AND they do a standard continental breakfast on top of that. I go to Panama City several times a year - we will be staying here from now on!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites by Marriott Panama City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites by Marriott Panama City

Address: 903 East 23rd Street, Panama City, FL 32405
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Panama City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Panama City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites by Marriott Panama City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott® is an extended-stay hotel where you can balance work and life as you like with the comfort, flexibility and affordability you require. Relax and feel at home with a fully equipped kitchen and high speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites by Marriott Panama City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Panama City Hotel Panama City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites by Marriott Panama City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.