We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, Rustic, and GOOD!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gene's Oyster Bar

Gene's Oyster Bar
302 Sherman Ave., Panama City, FL 32401
(850) 785-1232
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 266 Restaurants in Panama City
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simple, Rustic, and GOOD!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were in PC for a few days..had read about Gene's on tripadvisor. Great little neighborhood place. It is small and John shucked the oysters right in front of us. We had them raw and baked. We also had the clam chowder and it was delicious on a cool raining day. With two drinks for less than $25.00.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
panama city beach
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good local oyster joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Heard alot of good reviews and I have to agree. Nice little neighborhood oyster joint. It was just nowhere near the beach, but worth the drive when you head in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“"Old School" oyster bar and restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

They don't make 'em like this anymore. The place is truly an oyster BAR. Only about 16 seats at the bar in the whole place. I was absolutely thrilled to actually get Apalachicola Bay oysters, and they were great. I had the mini sampler with fried oysters, shrimp, grouper, and scallops. It was wonderful and fried to perfection, not overdone. The raw oysters are currently $8.95 a dozen. Very friendly folks. Just plain ole GOOD!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Happy Happy, Happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I saw this place on trip advisor. 22 5 star reviews and no other postings! This was hard to believe but Wow was it worth the drive and money! Fried were great. The baked and loaded were just as good and near half the price of what I paid the night before in Destin. The appearance is just as you might thin for an establishment that began in 1968. Do not let this scare you away. The service is very much down home and family owned and they make you feel just like one of the family.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, IL
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Fresh oysters. We ordered "loaded oysters" which were baked and came with cheese and jalapenos - very delicious. Prices are very reasonable. Lots of locals meet here. They are CLOSED on SUNDAYS and MONDAYS. They do NOT accept credit cards.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gene's Oyster Bar also viewed

Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
Panama City, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Gene's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gene's Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.