We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palmetto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1102 Riverside Drive, Palmetto, FL 34221   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Palmetto B&B and Inns
timonium, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We had the distinct pleasure of spending 3 days at the Palmetto Riverside B&B last week. Rarely have I seen such hospitality and attention to detail. The first night Wim created gluten-free hors d'oeuvres to accommodate my husband's allergy and served them to us with wine at the end of their private pier as we watched the sunset. Each morning brought a different, delicious breakfast served on lovely china and linens--so elegant. Before our bike ride, Wim ran to bring us a cooler with bottled waters and fruit. There was nothing more we could've asked. Wim and Mieke are special people whose personalities are well suited to hosting others. We can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goofy055, Manager at Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We are very thankful receiving your wonderful and kind words in regards to your past stay with us. We would be very honored to have you as our return guests again next year. All the best and sincere greetings. Mieke and Wim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Augustine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Thank you guys, for the wonderful 2-night say this past week. We Loved everything about your inn and your hospitality. Well Done!
The rooms (We peaked into all of them) are perfectly decorated with modern island style furniture and the amenities are top-notch, The building is historic but is in great shape with trendy modern bathrooms, great water pressure, good electric, and big flat TVs, etc... The location is the most romantic ever! Wow - the most amazing sun-sets on the river are right out front, and you can sip the complementary adult beverages of your choice, and chat with Wim while watching Wim whip-up some amazing culinary delight - just for the two of you - in his amazing remodeled kitchen (I want one just like it now). It was the personal touch that all B&B goers are looking for. We are proud to highly recommend the Palmetto Riverside B&B and can't wait to return next year.

Room Tip: Restaurant - on the water - is within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goofy055, Manager at Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments. We look forward to seeing you again on another trip to the West Coast. It was really nice meeting you both as colleagues.
Best regards,


Mieke and Wim Lippens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Who would imagine that Palmetto, Florida, would be a prime spot for a destination wedding? If you choose the Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast for your wedding festivities, however, you and your guests will be assured of lodging and service equivalent to a fine European inn. And, at a very affordable price in contrast to some high profile locations in and outside the U.S. From our first meeting, Wim and Mieke made us feel as if our 2 evenings at the inn, which included a wedding and dinner for 28 guests, were supremely important to them. Once they understood our vision for our wedding celebration, they did their very best to help us bring that vision to fruition. The tradespeople whom they recommended were competent, personable and reasonably priced. With the planning complete, we and our guests were free to relax and enjoy our time together. After the first night, Wim and Mieke were able to greet our guests by name and provide for their particular needs or appetites. They served us far more than we ever expected, making each guest feel pampered and special. And, of course, as the bride and groom, we received their upmost attention! We left the inn feeling as if we had newfound friends in Wim and Mieke. We look forward to seeing them again at a future date, possibly for a cruise on the Manatee River on our liveaboard yacht?!

Room Tip: All six guestrooms are beautifully appointed, luxurious and comfortable for sleeping. Possibly the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Had the pleasure of attending a wedding here just yesterday. Innkeepers Wim and Mieke could not have made us feel more welcome. Attention to every detail went without saying. Pleasantries abound. The inn is decorated with exquisite details showing the passion this couple has for their business. Would highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast was the most amazing venue and atmosphere a couple could ever dream of to share their Big Day! The Bed and Breakfast is a very romantic luxurious mansion with charming historic aspects and is absolutely stunning. This is truly a gem.

The owners Wim and Mieke are absolutely fantastic. They are very professional, informative, easy to communicate with and clearly they have poured their hearts and souls into the flawless Bed & Breakfast. They went out of their way to help make everything perfect and truly made us feel that we were part of the Palmetto Riverside Bed & Breakfast family from the first time we met.

We did the Golden Package as well and Highly suggest it. We stayed Friday and Saturday. Everyone felt as though they had entered paradise as soon as they entered the immaculate house. The rooms were all grand and had amazing views. Each room was perfectly clean had charming aspects and such attention to detail that made it feel special and luxurious.

We had 100 people attend our wedding and this venue was perfectly accommodating. The ceremony was held in the front of the house under a beautiful tree with romantic Spanish moss over-looking the Manatee River waterfront during sunset. The reception was held in the back of the house which was the perfect elegant setting. The gorgeous gardens surrounded the remodeled patio large enough to accommodate all our guests with twinkle lights strung above reception setting the perfect mood and ambiance. There is also a large hard wood covered porch with beautiful lantern lights leading into a indoor area that was absolutely top notch.

Word to the wise: BOOK EARLY because the Palmetto Riverside Bed & Breakfast is spectacular and dates do fill up rather quickly.

Wim and Mieke - Thank You for making our Wedding Day so amazing!

Sincerely,

The Newlyweds - Mr. & Mrs. Michaud

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I cannot recommend the Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast enough!!! We also stayed as regular guests twice before the wedding just to enjoy to bed and breakfast. The rooms are beautiful, and the breakfast is AMAZING... WAY too much to actually eat everything.

For the wedding, we reserved the venue under their "Golden Package" which gave us the entire property for the weekend, which I would highly recommend because it allowed us to do some set-up and organization before hand. It was also great to have the night after to relax with family and friends. The house itself is gorgeous, and it showed in our photos and the day itself. We had app 85 guests, and it was the perfect size for us with more than enough room to have space to share.

Mieke and Wim, the owners, were probably the BEST part of the experience. They were so helpful in helping us plan the day based on their experiences. They were ALWAYS there with helpful suggestions, and were extremely responsive to emails and communications and we took their suggestions on other vendors on numerous occasions, including our caterer and were SOOOOO happy with all of their recommendations. We could not have been happier with our entire experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
braintreeuk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

palmetto riverside in florida ,has been,and will always be our 1st stop,with this wonderful couple wim & mieka,the wlcome as we stepped out of our car ,blows us away,i feel like i am home with family! not a paying guest ,these guys will enjoy a long and happy buisness life based solely on their amazing warmth to their guests,we then moved on to anna maria island ,and it is always a wrench to leave what we now consider as our friends, i cannot reccomend this house in its wonderful bayside location enough! book and experience for yourself,? regards larry and lynne johnson 3rd sept 2012,see u soon guys?

Room Tip: for ulyimate luxury with a view to die for select the palmetto suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1102 Riverside Drive, Palmetto, FL 34221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palmetto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Palmetto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.