We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The PERFECT spot for a Wedding or Weekend Away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palmetto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast
1102 Riverside Drive, Palmetto, FL 34221   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Palmetto B&B and Inns
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The PERFECT spot for a Wedding or Weekend Away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I cannot recommend the Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast enough!!! We also stayed as regular guests twice before the wedding just to enjoy to bed and breakfast. The rooms are beautiful, and the breakfast is AMAZING... WAY too much to actually eat everything.

For the wedding, we reserved the venue under their "Golden Package" which gave us the entire property for the weekend, which I would highly recommend because it allowed us to do some set-up and organization before hand. It was also great to have the night after to relax with family and friends. The house itself is gorgeous, and it showed in our photos and the day itself. We had app 85 guests, and it was the perfect size for us with more than enough room to have space to share.

Mieke and Wim, the owners, were probably the BEST part of the experience. They were so helpful in helping us plan the day based on their experiences. They were ALWAYS there with helpful suggestions, and were extremely responsive to emails and communications and we took their suggestions on other vendors on numerous occasions, including our caterer and were SOOOOO happy with all of their recommendations. We could not have been happier with our entire experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
braintreeuk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

palmetto riverside in florida ,has been,and will always be our 1st stop,with this wonderful couple wim & mieka,the wlcome as we stepped out of our car ,blows us away,i feel like i am home with family! not a paying guest ,these guys will enjoy a long and happy buisness life based solely on their amazing warmth to their guests,we then moved on to anna maria island ,and it is always a wrench to leave what we now consider as our friends, i cannot reccomend this house in its wonderful bayside location enough! book and experience for yourself,? regards larry and lynne johnson 3rd sept 2012,see u soon guys?

Room Tip: for ulyimate luxury with a view to die for select the palmetto suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAMPA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our stay at Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast was so wonderful.
Mieke and Wm are excellent hosts and their 2 daughters a delight.
Our room was beauitfully furnished as well as all the other rooms.
Breakfast was outstanding and so many healthy choices.
We also went to the public library and the museum in town another plus to our stay.
We sure do want a return stay in this wonderful Bed and Breakfast.
Thanks for all your extra treatment to welcome us.
Judy and John

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goofy055, Owner at Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs Day,
Thank you very much for your review and score you gave us. Wonderful.
We are glad you stopped on your way back to the museum and liked it as well. We certainly had a good time hosting you and look forward to your next stay!
Good luck with the concert Mr John!

Sincerely yours,
Mieke and Wim Lippens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wielsbeke
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We are just back from a trip to the USA visiting from Europe. We found Palmettoriverside Bed and Breakfast through Tripadvisor; The excellent rating this BnB gets, is very well deserved.
This is the best BnB experience we have ever had visiting BnB's all over the world. If we visit Florida again, we will certainly be a return guests!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I am dismayed to see the one-star review below since this person never even stayed at the Palmetto Riverside nor used their services. Tripadvisor should remove this. We weren't involved with any wedding, but we did stay there last spring. It was, perhaps, the nicest bed and breakfast we ever stayed at and we've stayed at probably a hundred. Besides the beautiful and immaculate home and room, and the quiet location, there were two things that made it amazingly special. The first was the stellar food! Breakfast consisted of numerous items brought on a serving cart and left by our little table for us to help ourselves. It's been a while and we've stayed at several other places throughout the Eastern U.S. since, but we do remember delicious homemade yogurt with berries, cold meats, cheeses, walnuts, different breads, amazing fruit smoothies, fresh fruits, orange juice, and much more we've forgotten, served with a copy of the local paper. Then there was a delicious hot entree. We opted for the French Toast, but they were other options, too. OK, now let's talk about the afternoon hors d'oeurves. My goodness, yummy hot stuffed mushrooms and a warm brie appetizer as we recall, served (as was breakfast) at a private table on the beautiful, enclosed, air-conditioned porch. Most surprising, while my husband chose red wine, they actually had my preferred sparkling white. We've never found any B & B to offer sparkling white before. Upon returning from dinner, we were offered an after dinner drink but declined as we were over-the-limit stuffed by this time. But let me tell you what made the Palmetto Riverside extra, extra special. It was the owners. This couple is from Belgium and I must say, I think the Europeans do it better. Never have we found more attentive, gracious service anywhere. Stay here and I'm positive you will be amazed, too.

Room Tip: This street is so quiet, any room would be a good choice. And they're all beautiful and immacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Turn off all communications devices and totally absorb the surroundings, relax, savor & enjoy!

We chose to stay here for my 70th birthday and what a delight it was! On a scale of 1-5, I’d have to rate it a 10! Truly “over the top” gracious hospitality, all without being patronizing or doting.

As we approached, our hosts, Wim & Mieke, were sitting in the magnificently manicured front yard. They waved to us as we turned the corner then met us at the car. We followed as they graciously escorted us in. We were the only folks there for that night so Wim kindly offered a tour of the house and we accepted. We visited all six of the rooms, 4 on the 2nd floor and 2 on the 1st floor. All were decorated beautifully in early 1900s décor, the period when the house was built! Everything was immaculately clean! The most amazing thing was how large the bathrooms are!

As were the guest rooms so were the common areas in décor and cleanliness! And, on our tour, we learned that Wim and Mieke also do the housekeeping!

We had chosen the Riverside Suite because of its location on the first floor with windows looking out over the water, as well as it has a king-sized bed with no posts or footer, good for a guy 6’3”! When we went into our room, I found that they had left a beautiful birthday card with a heartwarming note for me! And, there was a vase of fresh long stem pink roses. In the bathroom was a small bud vase with two pink rosebuds!

We headed out for a while and on our way out, we met their lovely daughters! They each extended a hand to welcome us and told us their names! What a treat to encounter children with such gracious manners! Congratulations to Wim & Mieke!

We came back around 6-ish and freshened up to go out for dinner. Wim asked us what we’d like to drink for the included cocktail hour. He said we could pick anywhere to sit in the house or in the yard and he’d find us. We chose to sit on the small front porch. The view from the porch, looking across the beautiful lawn to the river was wonderful. Weather was perfect Florida Chamber of Commerce type weather. Wim soon came out with a tray containing our drinks, some pistachios and a cold appetizer of a delightful cheese he referred to as a cauliflower cheese because of the way it had been shaved and carved. A while later, he brought out a very nice warm appetizer. A little later, he came out with a glass of red wine and joined us for a visit. He is a wonderfully charming host. We asked and he gave us some history about the B&B.

We went out for dinner (across the street) and when we came back a little after 9, Wim met us at the door and offered after dinner drinks and some chocolates. We declined as it had a long incredibly relaxing day and we were ready to retire. A note in the room indicated if we came in after 9pm, we would need to use a code to get in. We were truly pleasantly surprised when he met us!

The bed was unbelievably comfortable! We slept like babies!

We were up and out around 8:30am. Wim had a breakfast table all ready for us! There was even a fresh flower and the morning paper on the table! Wim had made coffee exactly the way we like it (weak!) to start our day. On the tray was fresh orange juice, a fresh mango yogurt, various breads with sweets, etc. for spreading. There was also a plate of typical European sliced cheese and meats. Two red wine glasses (Riedel, no less) with fresh fruit were totally irresistible! Shortly after we sat down, we were presented with an “energy drink”. It was served in champagne flutes and consisted of banana and lime. Delicious!

It wasn’t very long before Wim came back out to ask us if we would like French toast. It sounded delicious and when it was presented, we found it to be indeed quite delicious! Through the window at our table, we could see the marina waking up beyond the front lawn, Wim was out raking leaves and then later, with the help of a neighbor who had ventured over, setting up for a wedding that was to be that afternoon.

After breakfast, we took a walk around the block and found the whole neighborhood to be intriguing. Most of the houses have that early 1900’s charm about them and have been well maintained. Ah, the stories some of them could tell! Wim had told us it is a nice quiet neighborhood and that’s what the walk showed us. We felt very safe there.

Thank you Wim and Mieke for a wonderful stay and for truly making us feel like we were the only important thing in the world! Thank you for making my 70th birthday, make that my "2nd 35th" birthday, the best in my life. We are sincerely looking forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: Riveside Suite is on 1st floor with many windows looking out on the magnificent lawn with the marina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband, daughter, son-in-law and myself were looking for the perfect wedding venue but weren't having much luck until we found this beautiful Bed and Breakfast on the riverfront in Palmetto. We fell in love with its charm, beauty and location as soon as we walked in. The owners, Wim and Mieke, were so friendly and helpful with even the smallest of details. They made their wedding a day to remember for all of us including our guests. Everyone commented on the cleanliness and old charm beauty for weeks. The rooms we immaculate and the breakfast was outstanding. We still hear guests telling us that this was the best wedding they had ever attended. Thank you so much for a perfect and memorable day!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1102 Riverside Drive, Palmetto, FL 34221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palmetto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Palmetto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list