We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Words: Delicious Food! Gracious Hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palmetto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1102 Riverside Drive, Palmetto, FL 34221   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Palmetto B&B and Inns
Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“4 Words: Delicious Food! Gracious Hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I am dismayed to see the one-star review below since this person never even stayed at the Palmetto Riverside nor used their services. Tripadvisor should remove this. We weren't involved with any wedding, but we did stay there last spring. It was, perhaps, the nicest bed and breakfast we ever stayed at and we've stayed at probably a hundred. Besides the beautiful and immaculate home and room, and the quiet location, there were two things that made it amazingly special. The first was the stellar food! Breakfast consisted of numerous items brought on a serving cart and left by our little table for us to help ourselves. It's been a while and we've stayed at several other places throughout the Eastern U.S. since, but we do remember delicious homemade yogurt with berries, cold meats, cheeses, walnuts, different breads, amazing fruit smoothies, fresh fruits, orange juice, and much more we've forgotten, served with a copy of the local paper. Then there was a delicious hot entree. We opted for the French Toast, but they were other options, too. OK, now let's talk about the afternoon hors d'oeurves. My goodness, yummy hot stuffed mushrooms and a warm brie appetizer as we recall, served (as was breakfast) at a private table on the beautiful, enclosed, air-conditioned porch. Most surprising, while my husband chose red wine, they actually had my preferred sparkling white. We've never found any B & B to offer sparkling white before. Upon returning from dinner, we were offered an after dinner drink but declined as we were over-the-limit stuffed by this time. But let me tell you what made the Palmetto Riverside extra, extra special. It was the owners. This couple is from Belgium and I must say, I think the Europeans do it better. Never have we found more attentive, gracious service anywhere. Stay here and I'm positive you will be amazed, too.

Room Tip: This street is so quiet, any room would be a good choice. And they're all beautiful and immacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sun City Center, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Turn off all communications devices and totally absorb the surroundings, relax, savor & enjoy!

We chose to stay here for my 70th birthday and what a delight it was! On a scale of 1-5, I’d have to rate it a 10! Truly “over the top” gracious hospitality, all without being patronizing or doting.

As we approached, our hosts, Wim & Mieke, were sitting in the magnificently manicured front yard. They waved to us as we turned the corner then met us at the car. We followed as they graciously escorted us in. We were the only folks there for that night so Wim kindly offered a tour of the house and we accepted. We visited all six of the rooms, 4 on the 2nd floor and 2 on the 1st floor. All were decorated beautifully in early 1900s décor, the period when the house was built! Everything was immaculately clean! The most amazing thing was how large the bathrooms are!

As were the guest rooms so were the common areas in décor and cleanliness! And, on our tour, we learned that Wim and Mieke also do the housekeeping!

We had chosen the Riverside Suite because of its location on the first floor with windows looking out over the water, as well as it has a king-sized bed with no posts or footer, good for a guy 6’3”! When we went into our room, I found that they had left a beautiful birthday card with a heartwarming note for me! And, there was a vase of fresh long stem pink roses. In the bathroom was a small bud vase with two pink rosebuds!

We headed out for a while and on our way out, we met their lovely daughters! They each extended a hand to welcome us and told us their names! What a treat to encounter children with such gracious manners! Congratulations to Wim & Mieke!

We came back around 6-ish and freshened up to go out for dinner. Wim asked us what we’d like to drink for the included cocktail hour. He said we could pick anywhere to sit in the house or in the yard and he’d find us. We chose to sit on the small front porch. The view from the porch, looking across the beautiful lawn to the river was wonderful. Weather was perfect Florida Chamber of Commerce type weather. Wim soon came out with a tray containing our drinks, some pistachios and a cold appetizer of a delightful cheese he referred to as a cauliflower cheese because of the way it had been shaved and carved. A while later, he brought out a very nice warm appetizer. A little later, he came out with a glass of red wine and joined us for a visit. He is a wonderfully charming host. We asked and he gave us some history about the B&B.

We went out for dinner (across the street) and when we came back a little after 9, Wim met us at the door and offered after dinner drinks and some chocolates. We declined as it had a long incredibly relaxing day and we were ready to retire. A note in the room indicated if we came in after 9pm, we would need to use a code to get in. We were truly pleasantly surprised when he met us!

The bed was unbelievably comfortable! We slept like babies!

We were up and out around 8:30am. Wim had a breakfast table all ready for us! There was even a fresh flower and the morning paper on the table! Wim had made coffee exactly the way we like it (weak!) to start our day. On the tray was fresh orange juice, a fresh mango yogurt, various breads with sweets, etc. for spreading. There was also a plate of typical European sliced cheese and meats. Two red wine glasses (Riedel, no less) with fresh fruit were totally irresistible! Shortly after we sat down, we were presented with an “energy drink”. It was served in champagne flutes and consisted of banana and lime. Delicious!

It wasn’t very long before Wim came back out to ask us if we would like French toast. It sounded delicious and when it was presented, we found it to be indeed quite delicious! Through the window at our table, we could see the marina waking up beyond the front lawn, Wim was out raking leaves and then later, with the help of a neighbor who had ventured over, setting up for a wedding that was to be that afternoon.

After breakfast, we took a walk around the block and found the whole neighborhood to be intriguing. Most of the houses have that early 1900’s charm about them and have been well maintained. Ah, the stories some of them could tell! Wim had told us it is a nice quiet neighborhood and that’s what the walk showed us. We felt very safe there.

Thank you Wim and Mieke for a wonderful stay and for truly making us feel like we were the only important thing in the world! Thank you for making my 70th birthday, make that my "2nd 35th" birthday, the best in my life. We are sincerely looking forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: Riveside Suite is on 1st floor with many windows looking out on the magnificent lawn with the marina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband, daughter, son-in-law and myself were looking for the perfect wedding venue but weren't having much luck until we found this beautiful Bed and Breakfast on the riverfront in Palmetto. We fell in love with its charm, beauty and location as soon as we walked in. The owners, Wim and Mieke, were so friendly and helpful with even the smallest of details. They made their wedding a day to remember for all of us including our guests. Everyone commented on the cleanliness and old charm beauty for weeks. The rooms we immaculate and the breakfast was outstanding. We still hear guests telling us that this was the best wedding they had ever attended. Thank you so much for a perfect and memorable day!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My husband and I have travelled though Europe and North America for 20 years, staying mostly at B&Bs, and this is the first review I’ve been compelled to write– that’s how excellent the experience was at the Palmetto Riverside. We were visiting the Gulf Coast of Florida for the first time in March 2012 and wanted to stay within easy driving distance of the lovely beaches as well as Sarasota and St. Petersburg, so we could take in their sites and cultural attractions. The Palmetto Riverside turned out to be the perfect choice. The property is beautiful. Attention to detail is evident in all the furnishings. The Palmetto Suite, the 2-room suite we stayed in, was comfortable in all ways. The views from the windows are very picturesque and serene. The bed was super comfortable, and we both slept better there than at home. Breakfasts were outstanding, in the presentation, preparation, quantity of food offered and the variety. The hosts were very welcoming, helpful and accommodating. Four nights at the Palmetto Riverside left us feeling refreshed, rested and relaxed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The Nirvana of b&bs. A beautiful old home, restored to the nth detail. There are six rooms ranging in size from a small full bed to an enormous king suite with water views on three sides. The place is spotless. Comfy beds (ours came with a step stool because the bed was very high). The engaging innkeepers, Wim and Mieke, are the icing on a very fine cake. Attentive without being cloying, responsive to the needs of the guest, they are lovely genial people and there is not a hint of phoniness or over the top gushiness ( heed this other B&B owners) What sets this inn apart are small things, but oh so wonderful such as "Cocktail hour" at around 6 when Wim took our drink orders (full bar) and one at a time brought out three "amuse bouche" or tidbits of delicacies to tease or amuse the mouth. One was shrimp curry with vegetables - 2 shrimp, 1 stalk of asparagus with a sliver of prosciutto wrapped around it and a nice herb sauce, and a small bowl of fresh fruit. We relaxed in the living room and chatted with other guests. Then there is that other B - breakfast which is breath-takingly good, served in a sunroom looking out over the water. What a way to start the day! Coffee,orange juice, a bowl of fruit with homemade blackberry yogurt, meat and cheese, and Flemish crepes.

The decor of the house is refreshingly tasteful. Personal collections are attractively displayed, including a collection of old suitcases, old cameras and whisky bottles.

Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Windows do not open. This is a big issue for me but I had no problems because the house is gently ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We just returned from the most relaxing, fun-filled 2 nights at this B&B. It really should be cross-listed with the town of Bradenton because it's so close - - it's within an easy 4-minute drive to Bradenton, an additional 20 minutes to beautiful AnnaMaria Island, 20 minutes to Sarasota and the Ringling place and about 30 minutes to downtown St Pete with lots of Spring Training games. You can have all the fun you want and still come "home" to this beautiful, peacefull B&B for the evening. Try walking out to the dock and sitting on the bench early in the morning, with the large, beautiful Manatee River stretching out before you - - it's all so relaxing and beautiful. The area is safe and the grounds are beautiful - - it draws you in until you find yourself strolling and exploring and relaxing - - who doesn't need a de-stressing getaway like that?? We stayed in the beautiful Royal Palm suite - includes a huge bathroom, a separate sitting room with a sofa-bed and a large bedroom with a fireplace and flatscreen TV - it was perfect. The owners are an absolute delight, you can't help but like them!. From the moment you arrive until you leave, they are truly there to make your stay perfect in every way. As mentioned in previous reviews, the breakfasts are outstanding. And the breakfast setting is perfect with beautiful china and goblets and linens, with the sun filling up the beautiful breakfast porch area. I was amazed to see (and taste) the homemade mango yogurt - simply brilliant. Each morning started off with something different and wonderful from the kitchen: French toast; scrambled eggs with bacon and sausage and roasted potatoes; fresh fruit with homemade yogurt and fresh walnuts etc, etc. We live about 2 hours away and find that this makes a perfect getaway even for "locals" like us, who need to unwind, relax, and enjoy the finer things in life!.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We were in Florida for a family wedding which was held at the B & B and we stayed there for two nights. We were in the Lillie’s Garden Room. It was a smaller room, but well laid out. A comfortable bed and clean, crisp linens. The bathroom was large and comfortable and had wonderfully absorbent and plush towels. The Innkeepers were very accommodating and polite. The morning breakfasts were absolutely delicious. I was actually really disappointed the second morning as my stomach only wanted a small breakfast and I didn't get the chance to enjoy the whole thing! In a really beautiful location as well, the grounds outside were as well kept as the inside. My husband and I have decided just to come back to this B & B by ourselves sometime in the future as we liked it so much. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1102 Riverside Drive, Palmetto, FL 34221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palmetto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Palmetto
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmetto Riverside Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.