We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FISHEATING CREEK CAMPGROUND” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fisheating Creek Campground

Fisheating Creek Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palmdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fisheating Creek Campground
Save
You added Fisheating Creek Campground to your Saves list
7555 US Highway 27 North, Palmdale, FL 33944   |  
Hotel amenities
Pompano Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FISHEATING CREEK CAMPGROUND”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Campground was beautiful, the only thing wrong was the bathrooms, they were trashed, no toilet paper, clogged toilets, nobody seemed to maintain them. They need to have another bathouse in tent camping

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plantation
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Out in the middle of no where. Just what we needed. Reminded me of a rustic Ft. Wilderness(Disney). Campsites are large and spacious. Live oaks are beautiful covering about half the camping area. Lots of wildlife to see and hear. The tent camping area is the best I've ever seen. Most the tent sites are along the creek. We did many bike rides with the dog. Swimming hole looked a little scary as we saw a small gator go drifting by. And the boar enjoy grazing by the restrooms late at night. But, no worries.
Train tracks are right next to the campground. We were a little concerned by this but, we never heard them at night. It was fun watching them pass during the day.
Bathroom tip: not all the shower heads work well. I had to try two before the water came out to my liking. And it takes about 5 min to get hot water. But, bathroom was clean and spacious.
Well, be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We loved the campground. Staff was friendly and the grounds were very clean. We rented spot 13 right on the creek. (Note: You have to stay at least two nights to camp on the creek.) There were quite a variety of people camping there most of which were very nice and sociable. The store is tiny but they have just about anything you might need. The creek was beautiful!!!!
I would highly recommend this campground.
Cons: Bathroom floors stayed dirty...but it would be hard to keep them clean. They ran out of toilet paper the first night we were there.
PAY ATTENTION TO THE WATER LEVELS!
The water was sooooo extremely low we would walk 90% of the creek. We could not canoe far since most of the creek was dried up. Also we love fishing but the fish were almost non-existent. I hear that it is better when the water levels come up.
The only other thing was that the canoe rental was $40 a day with no discount for multiple rentals or consecutive day rentals. We spent a fortune renting canoes.
We do plan on going back when the water comes up!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

Such a fantastic campground.

They offered everything in the camp store; including mayo (the only thing we forgot) and paper floating lanterns (a beautiful surprise.)
Canoe, kayak and bike rentals on site.
Only cons: quiet time didn't begin until 11 pm. I felt that was late but I have a three year old daughter I was trying to put to bed. The restroom near the primative sotes was a portipotty. Not bad the first two days, but by the third it was disgusting. Obviously not maintained or even looked at.

We will be camping again here next year!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The new managers of Fisheating Creek Campground are doing a great job. The expansion of several years ago was well done and did not compromise the natural ambience. It is great for tent campers and the store stocks just about anything you need. It must be practically impossible to keep the restrooms really clean, because of the lake and the creek and the number of kids going in and out. But they do their best and I have no complaints.
the staff are very helpful. This is a great place to relax, canoe, kayak, fish, swim and enjoy exploring the Fisheating Creek watershed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The campground staff were friendly and the camp felt very safe. We rented a spot (site L2) near the lake ($28.00 a night). The campground is great for people who tent. Each spot does come with a fire pit. A pin number is needed to enter the campground gate and the staff does random checks to make sure each vehicle and person is registered with the camp. We rented a kayak for the day ($37.00). We enjoyed the creek, but it became a challenge to figure out what direction to paddle. The hiking trail was great the first 5 minutes, but then it became muddy and then we couldn't go any further because there was to much water sitting on the trail so we had to turn around and go back. Besides this we had a good time. The bathrooms and showers were very clean and we had a good time enjoying the out doors and the creek.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, fl
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We just finished our 2nd stay at Fisheating Creek Campground. We took a group of church friends and their families. Ages 9 months through 40 all were comfy and happy. We had excellent weather and we stayed in the more secluded area of the back primitive sites. We had 16 peope in four tents + a screened room and pop up canopy. We used sites 5 and 6 and had so much room that we even threw horseshoes and had multiple rope swings. If you can manage the long walk to the restrooms and water, then you'll love that area. We caught fish in the water hole and on the river when we rented canoes. The kids had a great time exploring and getting dirty. The grown-ups enjoyed the leisure that camping affords with lots of catching up and kicking back. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fisheating Creek Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisheating Creek Campground

Address: 7555 US Highway 27 North, Palmdale, FL 33944
Location: United States > Florida > Palmdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Palmdale
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Fisheating Creek Campground Hotel Palmdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisheating Creek Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.