We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon to your Saves list
VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   37611 US Hwy 19 N, Palm Harbor, FL 34684 (Formerly Lake Tarpon Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Palm Harbor
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for a week in early April and was greeted by a friendly young lady at the front desk. For $100+ a night the room were fine, pool was ok, but the "breakfast" was a big letdown. Bland waffles, stale cereal, and broken juice machine, have had better at $60 hotels. Better hotels nearby.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    28
    16
    9
    13
See reviews for
25
35
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We wish we had eyes on this place before we booked it. Furniture was torn and mismatched, the rug absolutely filthy - in fact when you walked from the bed to the bath the floor in the bathroom showed the filth, The TV was a box type. The safety bar for the sliding door was in need of repair and the vertical blind was missing a slat. It was apparent that they were undergoing exterior renovations. I hope they fix the rooms. We booked 2 rooms and we were told things weren't much better in the second room. Additionally, some of the front desk personnel were in need of instruction on how to deal with the public.

Room Tip: Go early and ask to see some rooms. They won't let you check in early but maybe they will let y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Got in late and the guy at check in was very nice. Room was great. Clean with a great view of the channel. Only thing they can work on is the breakfest. Staff was great. It has an outside balcony that you can sit on and enjoy the view. Very private too.

Room Tip: 226 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you so much for yor feedback on our hotel. We have a wonderful location close to everything in the area from beaches to the sponge docks. Hopefully the next time you are in the area you can enjoy some of the highlightes to our area. Again, thank you for your kind words. They mean alot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for 3 days and really enjoyed it. No trouble with checking in or my room. They are a little outdated, but I believe they are working on renovations and updating some of the rooms. I had a ground floor with a patio overlooking the canal to Lake Tarpon. Great for sitting outside and reading or having lunch outside. They have a pool, and a working hot tub! I am always excited for a place in this price range to have a functioning hot tub. I enjoyed it every day with my book watching the sunset. I'm sure the pool would have been great in warmer weather - still, there were some kids who didn't seem to mind! I was worried about highway noise being right along a main route, but I didn't hear a thing at night. Pretty standard breakfast fare but plenty of options, cereal (hot and cold) muffins, bagels, toast, waffle maker, and juice/coffee/tea. They are still looking for someone to take over the restaurant as it is currently up for lease. Luckily, there are a lot of great food joints nearby. Pita's Republic is a few miles south for good quality wraps/gyros, First Watch is close for a cafe/brunch type place, and then there are the Sponge Docks which has a variety of options. Lake Tarpon is a really fun area with plenty to do in driving distance of this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. Our location is ideally set up for guests to enjoy sitting around and enjoying the surroundings. Even the whirlpool! Our area has many things to offer to visit or just sitting around enjoying a good book. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return. Again, thank you so much for your kind words
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

wanted to get away for the weekend. Found the Vista Hotel at a reasonable price. The hotel is an older place but comfortable. pet friendly. Close to Tarpon Springs and lots of restaurants.the room was clean. Loved the private balcony.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for providing feedback on our hotel! We pride ourselves on a comfortable stay for our guests. Our location and amenities provides a unique getaway for people to enjoy the surrounding area. Again, thank you so much for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vandalia, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The views at this hotel are very pretty. Rooms on the canal have a fridge and microwave which is very convenient. Continental breakfast is improving with Carbon Malted Waffles you make yourself as well as bagels with cream cheese, muffins, dry cereal, instant oatmeal, yogurt and fresh fruit. Most rooms have been refurbished with comfortable bedding, some with new carpet and flat screen TV's. Internet access has always been good. Convenient to attractions and main roads for travel. You get some road noise, but the half wall by the bedroom protects you from most of the noise. A good value for your dollars. The maid staff is the BEST - they keep everything clean and well stocked as well as making cute animals from the towels like on a cruise ship.

Room Tip: Get poolside if you have kids, a canal room if you want a fridge and microwave. Upper floors are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank your for providing feedback on our location! Your kind words are an inspiration for us to continue on the path we are traveling. We certainly work hard to make all of our guests comfortable, Again, thank you so much for your comments and we look forward to seeing you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Kent. United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Perfectly situated on Lake Tarpon. We were lucky enough to acquire ground floor canal view rooms. Ideal for hooking our boat up and jumping onboard when ready for the off. Rooms were okay to get your head down. But they were shabby and need a revamp to bring them up to a better standard. They smelt of tobacco even though they were non smoking, but this could be due to doors being left open when smoking on the patio.
Breakfast was served in the reception area. We never attended but it's available.

The guy checking us in didn't tell us much about the resort just 'initial here, here and here. Sign here. I only knew about the resort by over hearing someone else being checked in.

The restaurant was closed and up for lease unfortunately.

This could a perfect resort if a little modernisation took place and the restaurant was up and running.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We are always striving to make things better for our guests. Its an ogoing process for us. We certainly will take your comments into account. Indeed all of our rooms are non-smoking. Once in awhile someone will violate that policy and we make corrections as quickly as possible. I hope when you return you will have seen the changes that have been made. Again, thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon

Address: 37611 US Hwy 19 N, Palm Harbor, FL 34684 (Formerly Lake Tarpon Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Palm Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is a beautiful, waterfront, Mediterranean style hotel, nestled quaintly around our boat basin, which adjoins Lake Tarpon. Lake Tarpon is a 2500 acre (10 Km) sports & recreation lake. All of our spacious rooms have a beautiful waterfront view of our boat basin. Our rooms consist of standard rooms with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Relax around the pool after a fun filled day of fishing, boating, golfing, sunning or sight seeing. When the day is done you will sleep peacefully, in a bed so comfortable you will want to take it home with you. We are confident you will return again and again, to enjoy the pleasure and comfort of our hotel. We are located across from Innisbrook Golf Course & Spa, just minutes from the Historic Tarpon Springs Sponge Docks, Brighthouse Baseball Field & Gulf Beaches. Meeting Rooms, Banquet Rooms also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tarpon Hotel Palm Harbor
Palm Harbor Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VISTA Hotel on Lake Tarpon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.