We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have taken a part of heaven and dropped it into Palm Harbour - Here!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   36750 US Highway 19 North, Palm Harbor, FL 34684   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Palm Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“They have taken a part of heaven and dropped it into Palm Harbour - Here!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I arrived here a few days ago and as the title states, it is a little part of heaven dropped onto our Earth. The Staff are fantastic, nothing too much trouble, the ground impeccably kept, the Golf Courses are to die for, just a pity I don't play golf. 5 or 7 Swimming Pools, and we are here for the /World's biggest ?Aquatic Fitness Convention IAFC2014, so a perfect location for such. The Rooms are huge and fully equipped with all you need. Walmart and other shopping locations are around the corner, so simply great that side, or if you want some great food to eat out at that is also here. All up couldn't be at better place at the moment during an Australian Winter.

Room Tip: The grounds are huge, so hire a car or a bike when coming here, although there are consistent shuttl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisbrook_2014, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for taking some time to write your review and for providing other furture guests with great tips. We are so glad to hear that you and your wife are enjoying your stay here at Innisbrook. We hope you consider us a home away from home and visit us the next time you are back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    202
    73
    50
    24
See reviews for
186
155
18
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was our 5th stay at Innisbrook in the last 3 years. It is a beautifully maintained property with
every detail attended to inside and outside.
We have stayed at 5 star properties all over the world.
Innisbrook ranks in the top three. Our room was elegant and clean. Everyone consistently treated us with respect and a friendly demeanor.
The Spa is gorgeous. The golf courses are pristine. The natural wildlife adds to the magical feel of this place. It has become our favorite vacation spot in the United States.

Room Tip: Pay the extra dollars and get a one bedroom suite. You will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisbrook_2014, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for other travelers. We are delighted to hear that you love our property as much as we do. We appreciate that you have been our guest for the last three years and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My company held a series if meetings at the Innisbrook resort. Nothing was close, everyone's rooms were scattered. You have to take a shuttle everywhere. I guess if you like golf, it's a great place.

The worst part of the trip was the day i left my room at 745am and returned at 930pm to find my door wide open. Because it was dark I didn't know if it was a burglar. .. turned out the maid service forgot to close the door when they finished. The hotel did nothing about the situation. Luckily no large creatures came in or thieves. But I was not happy with the incident or the way it was handled.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisbrook_2014, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for taking some time to write your review. We apologize that you had an issue with your door being left ajar. That is not a normal occurrence and we would love to follow up with you, so we are able to ensure it will not happen again. If you have a moment please contact the Director of Housekeeping, Blake Sieloff at (727) 942-5590. We are grateful for your feedback which allows us to grow, improve, address your areas of concern and reinforce the positive experiences. We hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had a wonderful visit at Innisbrook, our "apartment" suite was spacious and clean. I agree that the hallway and the outside can look dated, but don't let that affect your judgment till you get to your room. Ours happened to be very nice. Echoing some of the reviews- Loch Ness is great for the younger kids, others may want to choose one of the quieter pools (and there are quite a few to choose from). The tennis is great. For a small fee you can rent a ball machine and practice away. There are a number of leagues to try or you can go for a group or private lesson. Same goes for the holders, there are daily group lesson at the driving range that helped warm up for the course. You may be using your car a bit since the resort is so large, but they have shuttles that run all the time, just pick up the phone to call for one and they are there in a jiffy.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisbrook_2014, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share comments with others regarding your visit with us. We appreciate you letting other travelers know some hints about what areas to stay, what to do on property and about the tram service. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We recently stayed at Innisbrook for an 8-day stay. This was our first trip as well as our first impression of the Tampa area.

Using provided directions by the front desk, we too, met the guard at the gate. After a very brief conversation, we were allowed in. This "first Innisbrook" impression was not too positive, but believe us--it does get better. The Innisbrook property is well marked, and the map given at the gate was very useful. Checking in took little time, and soon we were on our way to our 2 bedroom suite at the Canterbury Bldg.

The suite made a good impression on us. Best thing was that the air conditioning was in fine working order. (Oregonians not used to humidity in early April.) Our suite was up on the 2nd floor and we had a great view looking out over one of the lakes. It was beautiful. There was plenty of space in our suite for our family of 4 (Two kids: 23 and 27). The two separate bathrooms proved to be a very good choice. (After a round of golf or tennis, both family players could clean up.) With each bedroom and the great room having it's own TV, everyone could find something to watch that was of interest to them.

There are two very good reasons for selecting this location. 1: It is very close to the tennis facilities and 2: Just a few minutes walk up to the Island Pool.

With the many pools available on this property, the Island Pool is the best in our view point. Plenty of sun around the deck for all hours of the day, a good view of watching/hearing golfers go by, and it is a relatively quiet pool. Rarely saw a family with young children up here!! They were all down at the bigger Loch Ness pool. Yes there is more for a family to do there, which means there is a lot more noise down there too. Adults who would pull up a lounge next to mine, and begin visiting all commented that it was "way too noisy at Loch Ness." Our family totally agreed. Listen to your music, have a good read with you; and you are set for the day. This is not a heated pool. If you want a warmer pool, go to the Cypress pool. It also is set up for lap swims. But young families do come over for their infants to be in warmer waters. You can get towels for the pool, but they are only available for check out at the Loch Ness pool. Many sun worshippers at our pool had either their own personal towels, or brought ones down from their rooms.

The tennis facilities are very good. Many courts using a clay surface. If it got too windy, the courts could easily be watered down. Plenty of seating to watch play, with a great pro shop for cold drinks, ice, and tennis merchandise.

Two family members played the Copperhead Course. It was a good day of golf. The greens were a big tough, but there is not many Bermuda greens in the Northwest to play on. So it helped when local knowledge was offered by course marshall driving by. (Local knowledge 101: After April 1st, if your ball goes into the rough, leave it and drop a ball. The snakes are now coming out of hibernation.)

A very good item of interest for my family were the many laundry facilities onsite at Canterbury. I assume it is the same with other locations as well. At every entrance, both upstairs and down, there is a laundry room with four washers/dryers. Free. No quarters needed. Bring your soap and dryer sheets. It is always kept clean, and I never had to wait for laundry during our entire stay. With 2 family members who played both tennis and golf, this was a must have!

The housekeeping staff were especially nice. Our staff member we got to know by name, and she paid attention to every detail in our suite. The clean towels every day were nice to have. The beds were very comfortable, but we had one complaint. The fitted sheets do not fit very well. Had to continually try and fit all four corners over the deep box springs. Why a resort could not invest in well-fitted sheets was a question to us. There was one issue. We noticed that on our patio that there was a good start to a hornet's next. Made a call to maintenance, and within minutes they sent someone to spray and knock it down. Very pleased that they were quick to respond to request.

We ate at only restaurant on property and that was the Market Salamander Grille. Will be posting that review next.

A final note. When we checked out "early" on Sunday morning, just glanced over the room statement. When we arrived home, when item by item. They did not list a credit from a returned golf shirt that was done three days earlier. Had to make three calls to accounting to "talk" to someone to make sure we had a correct bill for our stay.

Overall, it was a good, relaxing vacation. The room was wonderful to be in, and we loved the many opportunities that were available to take part in.

We hope your family enjoys your stay here. We explored off property each day, but it was nice to come back to our rooms and the relax in our suite.

The Nicholson Family
Albany, OR

Room Tip: When making your reservation, request a room with a nice view. You can very easily look over a park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisbrook_2014, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share with others such a detailed review about the room, pools, activities such as golf and tennis, the restaurants and our service professionals. We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed staying with us. We apologize that you had some issues with your bill and trouble with the guard gate. We will look into both issues and address them with management to correct. We are grateful for your feedback which allows us to grow, improve, address your areas of concern and reinforce the positive experiences. We look forward to your next visit with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Kent. United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Booked last minute so actually headed off for the weekend immediately after booking a family trip. Appears expensive but when working out the prices of a motel and requiring two rooms was a price match. Condos great and comfortably accommodated my family of 5. Arrived at Innisbrook security, he was rather abrupt told us where to check in. Would have helped if he had directed us as taking a wrong turning towing a boat was a problem to manoeuvre. Receptionist great cheerful friendly, taken to park our boat and luggage taken to room by the extremely helpful Dean. Had drinks and snack at the Osprey Salamander bar. The waiter was very impatient, pressing to take our order, he seemed to be in a hurry and rude. Upon finishing our meal and settling our bill charge to our room he came back and had screwed up our bill and produced another with a gratuity added. I wouldn't have tipped this guy so rude. Great amenities and lots laid on for Easter break however we didn't take an advantage of this as weather was poor. On the second evening we dined at the Turnberry Pub, again miserable staff - should I feel like I'm putting them out by ordering food? Food was delicious. Overall fantastic place but restaurant staff need training in happiness and smiles.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisbrook_2014, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for taking some time to write your review. We are extremely sorry for the experience that you and your family encountered at our restaurants. We pride ourselves on of levels of service here at Innisbrook and would like to follow up in regards to the occurrences at the restaurants. If you have a moment, please send an e-mail with your contact information to Marina.Baronas@playinnisbrook.com. We look forward to hearing from you and again apologize for the lack of service that was provided. We hope you consider visiting us again so we are able to show you what type of experience we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The resort itself is nice with lush landscaping and plenty of amenities. The pools were great for the kids although not the cleanest. Food and drinks were about what you'd expect, decent but nothing special. But the real issue with this place is the rooms, or at least our room #2826. We booked through hotels.com and I get the feeling we were stuck with one of the lower rooms. This was supposed to be an executive suite but it looked nothing like the picture. The place is old and tired. Brown dirty carpet. Brown dirty furniture. No decor. Tiny 1970s bathroom with dirty tile. Dust blowing out of the vents. And a giant round table and chairs stuck right in the middle of the living room blocking the sofa and blocking the patio doors. Speaking of the patio, two plastic chairs. The resort should be embarrassed to charge 200/night for this. Our Holiday Inn Express room on the interstate was nicer than this.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisbrook_2014, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for taking some time to share your comments with others. We apologize the rooms didn’t provide the same type of comments as the property itself. All our rooms are individually owned and we have gone through a renovation on some of our rooms recently and will hopefully continue to improve all the rooms to be able to receive the same comments as the property did. We appreciate your feedback which allows us to grow, improve, address your areas of concern and reinforce the positive experiences. We hope you decide to come and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort

Address: 36750 US Highway 19 North, Palm Harbor, FL 34684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Harbor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Palm Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers everything from golf courses to water slides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innisbrook, a Salamander Golf And Spa Resort
Innisbrook, a Salamander Golf Hotel Palm Harbor
Innisbrook Resort Palm Harbor
Innisbrook Hotel Palm Harbor
The Westin Innisbrook Golf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.