We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Golf Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort

Save Saved
You added Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   36750 US Highway 19 North, Palm Harbor, FL 34684   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Palm Harbor
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Golf Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I planned the trip at the last minute and it worked great. Of the four golf courses, only the North Course is a disappointment. Copperhead lived up to high expectations and the Ocean Course was a surprise hit, though very hard, especially with some wind.
The other guests I met were very nice. I would highly recommend this for a guys or gals golf trip or for husband/wife. WHile it seemed family friendly, it's such a golf experience, you'll have a hard time convincing the kids that this is for them.
The rooms were very nice and clean. I got a king suite which had a small kitchenette and a small balcony. I don't usually splurge, but felt it was worth it.
The spa was excellent and while it was too cool to swim when I was there there the pools looked very nice.
The on-property dining was great. You could either go casual at one of the golf courses or go upscale at Packard's Steakhouse. I enjoyed both and the service was excellent at both.

Room Tip: I suggest paying up for the kitchenette and balcony. Location is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We are delighted that you decided to visit us on your last minute trip. Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your trip with others. We pride ourselves in providing a different golf experience with each of our courses and are glad you were able to experience them. We would agree that we do offer something for everyone no matter what the reason is for your visit. We hope you come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    171
    54
    41
    18
See reviews for
164
132
15
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at the Innisbrook Golf Resort in Palm Harbor in early March 2013 whille attending a conference. The resort is huge (over 900 acres) with 4 quality golf courses. The accomodations are clean and good, however, somewhat dated.

There are restaurants in the various club houses that serve food throughout the day and evening. Good quality - fair pricing. The Packard Steakhouse on property is very good.

The rooms are located in small two story buildings spread out on the various golf courses. There is a shuttle system, however, a car is recommended. The rooms have small kitchen areas and eating areas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We appreciate you taking time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with others. We are glad you had the opportunity to stay here while attending a conference and found everything to be acceptable. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon for business, or for a vacation and you can enjoy everything we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We played 36 a day for 5 days. The resort is perfect. Full kitchen, comfortable beds and 4 great courses on site.
Near by restaurants for evening dinners. Highly recommend
Our packaged included breakfast and lunch. Very good service and average food.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share some comments regarding your most recent stay at Innisbrook. We are a “golfer’s paradise” and are glad you were able to enjoy our courses, accommodations, and restaurants. We hope when you plan your next golf get a way, you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just kidding.
I suppose the best way to start this review is by describing first impressions. After gaining admittance through the guarded front gate we meandered through the property in search of the registration office. Along the route we saw beautiful glimpses of the golf courses and strangely, we saw the condos that we would be renting and from the road they looked very dated yet well maintained – made me nervous.
Having not understood the directions to registration I missed a turn and flagged down a maintenance person driving by in his golf cart for directions. He not only gave us a big welcoming smile but actually led us to the door. First impression of personnel? – outstanding! – and so it was throughout the organization. The people at registration were bright and helpful and same in the restaurants. They employ great people.
Once we entered the condo we felt relief that it was updated, the furniture was relatively new and comfortable and it was clean. Our unit was large and had a comfy little veranda to take a break on. Housekeeping was responsive to our needs and the condo was functional with kitchen, untensils, etc. Water is a little weird in that it seemed to be overly softened and the chemicals used cause the water to seem to stick on your skin – it has a sulfur like odor as well but it tolerable. One nice amenity is the free washers and dryers in the laundry room – all you need is detergent the rest is gratis – helps your packed clothes be wearable longer especially with children.
We enjoyed the restaurants and the food was better than average. It is pricey but commensurate with the quality of food and service. The market is also convenient although you wouldn’t want to rely on it as a real market for provisions – but they have a nice bakery and coffee array. Many real stores and markets nearby on Rt. 19.
I didn’t play golf but the three courses were busy, even in surprisingly cool weather. Our condo was on Copperhead so we walked a few holes and it is impeccably maintained and beautiful.
The resort also has a spa and fitness facility but we didn’t partake this time. Plenty to do and plenty of activity in the area. Rt. 19 is the main artery and with four lanes in both directions it still gets crowded with the snail slow in the left lane drivers and Andretti-like lane changers – would not want to live there and have to do it daily.
If I ever return to Florida and the Tampa area I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Condos have two floors without elevators and face either the golf course or parking lot - request wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for naming your review with a title that will catch people’s attention. In addition, thank you for being so detailed to give people a real understanding of things we have to offer at Innisbrook. We pride ourselves on having the best service professionals and are glad that we were able to help you with whatever you needed. We hope you are able to return to Florida in the near future and we look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Mass
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have never, ever, ever, been to a hotel with "harder water" than this one. You will need to bid adieu to at least one layer of epidermis to get the soap off, but the good news is you won't need to put conditioner in your hair.

Also in its retro-70s style (everything but the shag carpets), they still have fluorescent lighting in the bathroom, so the good news is that you can use the mirror you can see what you will look like in ten years.

Otherwise, I would call this hotel a great value at $179 for a two-room suite. Note that I did not say "great hotel," but rather a great value. While the staff is exceptional, most everything else is good but not memorable.

The one major complaint I had was that the A/C cycles off in the middle of the night, so I was quite warm the first night. I called engineering and they adjusted the A/C to be cooler and it was fine after that--but the trick is to do this as soon as you arrive. They can adjust it but only will if you ask.

Room Tip: Not to choose a good room (there is no street noise etc.) but once you're in the room, see the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to share with others about your recent visit with us. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service and are delighted you were able to experience that. We are also glad that we were able to adjust your thermostat to make it more comfortable for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Innisbrook in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Innisbrook was the perfect place to stay for a visit with family in Clearwater. When we checked in fairly late at night we were delighted to find out that the one bedroom suite we booked had been upgraded to a 1,400 sf two bedroom suite. Now who doesn't like that to start out a vacation?!?

The suite was spacious and open. Everything was upgraded with the exception of the kitchen. The appliances all worked even if they were a bit dated. Would have appreciated a 12-cup coffee maker instead of a 4-cup, but not the end of the world. The kitchen accessories was sparse and there weren't even any paper towels, napkins, or even trial sized dishwasher packs, dish soap, etc. Every resort/condo we've ever stayed in at least had 'starter' sets of things available until you could get to a grocery store. Not really a big deal since we weren't doing a lot of cooking. We were unable to locate a wine/beer opener on our first night and when we phoned room service we were informed that they didn't have any bottle openers...Really? None? Ok.

While we weren't able to make as much use of the Loch Ness Pool as we had hoped due to a cold front that moved on during our visit, we were able to keep our 3-year old daughter occupied with the 4 outdoor play sets, the nature walk, and just walking around the resort. When we finally did get some pool time later in the week, it was perfect! Our daughter kept saying 'this is the best time, ever!' while playing in the zero-depth entry area to the pool and digging in the sand beach area with the complimentary toys.

Our dining experience at the Salamander Grille for breakfast was terrific. Prompt and courteous service, excellent food, and a nice setting.

There are few higher-end, nice places to stay around Clearwater, so while your options are limited this one is a great choice. We'll definitely be back next year (and will pack our own bottle opener.) :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with others regarding your recent visit. We love that you had such a great time. We also appreciate how detailed you were in providing others with comments about the room. We apologize about the kitchen items and the bottle opener, we do have them and should have been able to provide them for you as well as the kitchen should have had all the items you mentioned. We can’t wait until your visit next year so your daughter can enjoy another “best time ever”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We decided at the last minute to visit innisbrook resort when I called up to check availability Judy was very helpful in checking for tee times even before we checked for rooms cause that was the main purpose of our stay and with 4 courses we were able to get great times and room in the golf package. Room was clean and spacious and very convenient to everything . We had a car but the shuttle buses seem very frequent golf was really nice moved along well and very friendly staff. Food at restaurants were delicious . Very close to tarpon springs a Cute fishing village would definitely return

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent trip to Innisbrook. We are happy you were able to golf, enjoy our rooms, restaurants and even the local area. We do offer something for everyone and can usually accommodate most last minute requests. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort

Address: 36750 US Highway 19 North, Palm Harbor, FL 34684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Palm Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers everything from golf courses to water slides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innisbrook, a Salamander Golf And Spa Resort
Innisbrook, a Salamander Golf Hotel Palm Harbor
Innisbrook Resort Palm Harbor
Innisbrook Hotel Palm Harbor
The Westin Innisbrook Golf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.