We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite the getaway I had hoped for...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort to your Saves list
Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   36750 US Highway 19 North, Palm Harbor, FL 34684   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Palm Harbor
Muncy PA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not quite the getaway I had hoped for...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I recently attended a conference at Innisbrook and had several service issues, along with just an overall feeling that this was not a place to really have a conference. There were some good points along the way, so here we go. Upon arrival to Tampa, it is a 45 minute shuttle ride to the resort. Once I arrived there, I had to kill four hours while waiting for my room to be cleaned and ready. When I finally got to my room, my key wouldn't work. I had to wait for another set to be delivered. By now, I'm still in my winter attire, having had no opportunity to change for the warm weather. When I finally got into my room there were no towels, no toilet paper, two lamps did not work, a glass from the last resident was on the windowsill, and there was not hotel guide/room service menu, etc. I had to call for all of these to be fixed. I had a wonderful dinner at the Steakhouse, and the men who drove the shuttles were so very kind. The front desk person I dealt with was short and not apologetic at all. Overall, a mediocre experience...

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room if you have heavy luggage. There are no elevators. Oh - and a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to share your comments regarding your recent visit. It goes without saying we truly wish you had, had a different experience. We apologize that your first impression upon arrival to the resort, in addition to your room, was not what we are known for or what we would want any of our guests to experience. We fell short on your visit to provide the type of arrival experience we are known for. We are glad you did have some highlights and we would agree with you that Packard’s Steakhouse never lets our guests down by providing the highest level of service and food. We hope that should your travel plans have you return to the area, we hope you give us another opportunity to show you the level of service and experience we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    187
    62
    45
    20
See reviews for
173
138
16
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed over the holidays and had a great time. All the buildings are fine, however if you dont have a car then you should stay close to the main club house or pool. All the staff are so friendly and helpful that it is a bit surpising. When you are on the property, which is huge and has all you need it is great, outside is basically a long highway with a coulpe of nice movies, a few chain stores etc. You can bring food in to prepare at the rooms and save a bit in food. The golf courses are excellent. There is a golf clinic every morning. We did the clinic, had lunch and played 18, thats a great day. Overall for cost you really cant get a better golf vacation.
The bed was great and the room, while a bit dated was very clean

Room Tip: stay close to main club house, and request golf view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with others about your recent visit to Innisbrook. We are so happy you had such a great time and were able to share your holiday time with us. We also appreciate you recognizing our staff, we pride ourselves on having the best staff, who go out of their way to ensure our guests stay is the best it can be. We hope you return to spend many more holidays and special occasions with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The golf course here is beautiful. The resort is gated with several buildings situated all over the 4 golf courses. The rooms are very nicely decorated with 2 queen sized beds. Beautiful draperies. Sink in changing area as well as bathroom. Hairdryer and soaps provided. There are free washer and dryers so bring laundry detergent. They now have WIFI. Only complaint is the sheeets on the bed do not fit and they don't have a fitted bottom sheet so the sheet slides all over the bed. You have to call housekeeping and request a fitted bottom sheet. I don't understand why such a nice resort has such awfully fitting sheets.
There is a free shuttle to take you the different restaurants or courses. The workers are very nice and helpful. There is more than one pool area with one being very large. Small nature trail. Practice range. You will see alligators and lots of wildlife while playing golf.

Room Tip: call ahead to ask housekeeping for a fitted bottom sheet on your bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Innisbrook on your recent trip. We pride ourselves on all of our amenities, especially our four golf courses. We are also very excited to now be able to provide wireless internet in all of our guest rooms. We also appreciate your comment on the fitted sheets, we thank you for suggesting that guests request a fitted sheet, as we are able to accommodate that request, in addition to many other special requests our guests have to make their stay as enjoyable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nephi
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were so excited to take our whole family to stay at this resort - There were a total of 21. We booked 6 rooms. When we checked into our rooms, two of the rooms smelled so badly that one daughter and her children stayed in our room. The other family of 6 stayed in their room but tried to find what was dead in it. My other daughter's water turned ice cold in the middle of her shower. The next morning as the children went to go swimming - pool hours are very limited, we found the slides were not working. The rooms are old, the buildings smelled. Rooms were not of the quality we saw on line. Needless to say, we left Innisbrook, and now had the job of finding 6 hotel rooms for our family for the balance of the week. This was the most disappointed I have every been with a resort.

Room Tip: Just don't stay at Innisbrook
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
We want to thank you for choosing Innisbrook as the place to bring your whole family. We truly wish that your experience would have been completely different and leaving you wanting to make your next reservation for a family vacation and not with the impression you left with. We are a unique resort with a lot to offer, but we didn't live up to the expectations you had before visiting us. We feel strongly that your experience wasn’t the normal for our guests and hope you reconsider staying with us should your travel plans call for a trip to our area so you can see how your most recent stay should have been.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I was recently at this hotel for a conference.
The hotel is spread out in small buildings across the property and they have shuttle buses that take you from the check-in building to your room or restaurant. The rooms are in small 3 story buildings that have about 30 or so rooms each.
The conference facilities are nice, small but nicely appointed and comfortable. The hotel had 2 dinners for the conference, both were buffet style. The one dinner was not good, very dry chicken and not a lot of choice but the second dinner was great, lots of selection and everything was good.
The rooms are a little odd, they are bachelor apartment style with a mini kitchen (aged but clean) a couch, dining table (with huge chairs) and a bed. The room felt modern but a bit worn around the edges. The room did have a very large balcony which was nice.
The grounds are beautiful and definitely the highlight of this hotel.
There is a bar at the Osprey building (the building where you check in) that was great. It has a large outdoor patio with 2 large fire pits. It was a great place to meet at the end of the day to enjoy the weather and have a drink.
It was a nice place for a conference and I would recommend it for booking one there or attending one there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with others on your recent trip here. We appreciate the time you took to be so detailed and tell others about your visit. We wish the one buffet dinner with your conference would have been different and that you would have enjoyed it as much as you did the other one. We are glad that you enjoyed your conference here and found our Resort to be accommodating for meetings. We pride ourselves that we are a place that groups can come and meet, in addition, guests can find plenty to do to relax and enjoy their free time while they are here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetwater, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a classy "Old Florida" golf resort (Late 60's, early 70's) that went through some tough times until the current owner (Salamander properties, owned by a business woman) came in and refurbished back to "better than new". We have been going long enough to witness the transformation, and it is incredible. Firstly, the entire property, including three golf courses, is in Tarpon Springs, near the beach, and not far from Clearwater and Tampa. Spectacular, peaceful and beautiful. Many pools throughout, with the "Loch Ness" pool being the crown jewel. Slides, restaurant and activities abound. Excellent for kids ANY age. Games ongoing, drink and food specials, and don't miss the "Dive in theatre" Saturday night! They put up a big screen on one end of the pool, and you hang out in water or out, watching!
The rooms, are "condo" type, with a single room, efficiency or all the way up to a three bedroom unit, complete with kitchen. All rooms are well kept, clean, fully equipt and there is ongoing shuttle service throuhout the resort. All have pull out couches too!
Despite NOT being a golfers, we love this place. There is also a "Spa" for those that desire, and are always "packages" for discounted price. Spa packages, golf or romantic getaway, Jazz concerts, etc. They also have other resorts that we are anxious to try. This Lady did a fine job rejuvinating this classy resort!

Room Tip: For a few bucks more, upgrade to a one bedroom. Worth every penny, and gives the feel of a Condo, in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with others. We are pleased that you have been coming back for so many years. As you mentioned, we have gone through many changes, and would agree with you when you say “better than new”. We pride ourselves on having something for everyone; we do offer golf, spa, tennis, recreation, shopping, dining, and so much more. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for a conference at Innisbrook and found it an interesting mix of highs and lows. The room was a very large and comfortable 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom apartment with full kitchen, one king bedroom and one with two queens. We had a nice view over the golf courses. But, we were in a 3rd floor walk up (they warned me, and I was willing, but it does seem a little odd to have so many inaccessible rooms at a resort), and housekeeping was a little spotty: we got local newspapers on our second through sixth mornings, and maid service on our first and third through sixth days. Each day, we seemed to miss something--washcloths one day, paper products the next. On the plus side was the large and free-of-charge laundry room (but bring your own detergent). The property is very large and pretty, but not designed for pedestrians. There's one small, short "Nature Walk," but no sidewalks or walking paths, except for the golf cart routes. The fitness center is large and well-equipped, and there are several large swimming pools scattered around the property. The food, wine, and service all ranked about a C+/B-. When I mentioned to a bartender that the buffet had run out of food before members of our group had been through the line, she said, "That shouldn't be that way," but took no action. There were some very good employees, notably Casey at the front desk. Our group probably ordered the cheapest wine on Innisbrook's menu, but no hotel should have such bad wine on its menu. A testament to how bad: I noted that there were a number of full glasses of wine left on various tables after our group went in for dinner. A symbol of the general hit-or-miss nature was the fact that the flags flown at the convention center were out of proper order and not raised to the tops of the poles, as if they were just a little too tired to get them put up properly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalamanderHotelsPR, Manager at Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to share your comments regarding your recent visit with others. We pride ourselves on providing great customer service at a consistent level. We fell short of that with your visit. We would agree that our service professionals are among some of the best in the hospitality industry and are happy that Casey went above and beyond and provide you the level of service we are known for. We truly wish your dining experience would have been better as well. We do hope that if your travel plans do bring you back to this area, you would consider staying with us again, to see what type of experience and service we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort

Address: 36750 US Highway 19 North, Palm Harbor, FL 34684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Palm Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 685
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers everything from golf courses to water slides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innisbrook, a Salamander Golf And Spa Resort
Innisbrook, a Salamander Golf Hotel Palm Harbor
Innisbrook Resort Palm Harbor
Innisbrook Hotel Palm Harbor
The Westin Innisbrook Golf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innisbrook, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.