We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEW LOCATION IS MUCH BETTER” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lucky Dill Deli

The Lucky Dill Deli
33180 US Highway 19 North, Palm Harbor, FL 34684
727 789 5574
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 173 Restaurants in Palm Harbor
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“NEW LOCATION IS MUCH BETTER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

The new location on US 19 is much,MUCH better than the old one. It's a regular restaurant now, not a place where they try to cram you into a sardine can. Now you can eat without some stranger jabbing you in the ribs each time he takes a drink. Quite a bit better interesting decor as well. ANd more intimate dining locations--not a noisy mess-hall atmosphere like the old location. Unfortunately, this is just going to make the place that more popular and crowded.

I had the chopped liver sandwich on rye, complimentary matzah ball soup, and complimentary Cheesecake and a draft beer. Everything was great except the potato salad that came with the sandwich, which was not potato salad at all, it was just a few large pieces of oiled potato.

Anyway, portions are still huge, and facilities are MUCH IMPROVED.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    145
    51
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A jewish deli in Florida???!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Yup!!! Matzo ball soup could be better - but the sandwhiches are HUGE and fantastic!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Bakery and Pastrami Sandwich is to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My husband and I had an early lunch there over the weekend. We've been trying to get into the place ever since they reopened in the new location, however it's always so crowded. We ordered the pastrami sandwich which was really delicious (and huge). We enjoyed the complimentary cheesecake and apple streudel. If it was easier to get a table during peak hours, we would probably go more often. I'd like to try some of their other dishes.
They have a really nice looking full liquor bar as well as a bakery full of gorgeous desserts.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Overcrowded atmosphere and mediocre food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

Our group of 6 was sat at a 4 top, and all the tables were so close together you could barely move. Food was average, few healthy options if you're trying to eat right. Good service.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just like NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

This is a real New York City deli in the midst of palm trees. Sandwiches are piled high with meat, and the prices are reasonable. The place draws quite a crowd. We arrived at 4:30 p.m. and were surprised at how full it was at that hour. Service was good, food wonderful. There's a bakery attached, so we got our desserts to go as we were so full. No one was disappointed with their selections.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lucky Dill Deli also viewed

 

Been to The Lucky Dill Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lucky Dill Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.