We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the very worst motel in the country bar none” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Clearwater -Tarpon Springs

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Clearwater -Tarpon Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Clearwater -Tarpon Springs
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32000 US 19 North, Palm Harbor, FL 34684   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Palm Harbor
Palm Harbor, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“By far the very worst motel in the country bar none”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I opened the door, turned on the light and couldn't believe my eyes. There are no words to describe this hole. Please, whatever you do, do not ever even consider a stay here. I would rather sleep with my head propped up on an armrest in my car than to sleep in this place. And I didn't go there for price. I went there because it looked nice in pix on the net. All lies, repeat do not even pull your car into the driveway. I want to say more but I'm speechless. I charged the room on my card to get a reservation from across state. The desk girl has no power to give a refund so you must take action by calling your card company and telling them not to pay for this substandard wreck. Just disgraceful. Do not, I repeat, do not listen to one good review on here. They must be relatives of the franchisee. To post this I had to push one button, I didn't want to push one but I had to. Terrible is right.

Room Tip: Go some where else.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    10
    9
    37
See reviews for
13
22
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alpena, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

To realize we will NEVER stay here again. We read the reviews,but, stayed anyway, figuring we've had good luck at many other RRI's. But, nope, never again. Dirty room, very noisy other guests, smelly room, overall, just a bad experience. Nothing like other Red Roof Inns we've stayed at. STAY AWAY !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofpalmharbor, Owner at Red Roof Inn Clearwater -Tarpon Springs, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review the hotel. I am sorry that our hotel did not meet and exceed your expectations. You comments have been taken to heart and plans have already been put in place to ensure the next guest has an excellent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you want a place to sleep for under $60 that takes dogs, this will do. Do not expect a 3 star place as 2 of the stars have fallen down. No place to take the dog except for a bit aof grass off the parking lot. Not the worst place we have stayed but would not go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights. I thought it was a good place. The front desk receptionist and other hotel staff were really friendly. The room was clean as well. Also, One thing I liked about the location was that, the rooms were located away from the road so it was really peaceful.
Definitely worth the price

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I arrived at the hotel after 17 hours of driving. I was worried because even the parking lot was in disrepair! The first room had no heat...as well as no internet, was smoked laidened (I specifically asked for non-smoking room), the room looked slapped together and there were holes in the walls! Even our second room had only a small amount of heat, was also smokey and I have asthma! I could hardly breathe! My husband could not find a plug to use to connect his c-pap machine...we checked out the next morning! We had gone through priceline.com and they charged the full amount of our stay before we left home! We asked for a refund (willing to pay for the one night we did stay) however they would not refund the full amount!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owingsville, Kentucky
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Traveled 14 hours, upon getting to hotel they had give my room away, had to stand there for 30 minutes while receptionist called her manager and tried to straighten the situation out...Got to room there was an awful stink as soon as you opened the door....Sleeping on the bed was like sleeping on concrete, no clean towels or linens for the bed....Will never stay at Red Roof Inn again, and wouldn't recommend to anyone.....

Room Tip: Don't stay there.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroofpalmharbor, Owner at Red Roof Inn Clearwater -Tarpon Springs, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Clearwater (Tarpon Springs) Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for three weeks while visiting family in nearby Dunedin. It's close to Clearwater, Honeymoon Island and Caladesi Island. It's no four star hotel, but it's clean, spacious and the pool is very nice. We had someone clean our room everyday, without asking, and there would be fresh sheets and towels. I'd say that's pretty good for a $50 a night hotel in which we stayed for 21 nights. The staff was friendly and the grounds were quiet and secluded. I'm not sure why people have so many complaints. Some people just like to complain, I suppose. We travel often and stay at some high end places and this by far is not a bad place for the price. Sure, the tv and decor is a little dated, but by no means bad. We are returning to the area this winter and plan to have yet again another extended stay at this location. Don't trust the bad reviews. It's a great place to stay in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Clearwater -Tarpon Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Clearwater -Tarpon Springs

Address: 32000 US 19 North, Palm Harbor, FL 34684
Location: United States > Florida > Palm Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Palm Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Clearwater -Tarpon Springs 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Red Roof Inn has just undergone a complete renovation of all rooms and interior amnenties to the rooms. The hotel is now also under new ownership and management. We live up to the Red Roof Inn name and will provide second to none customer service and ensure you have the best stay possible with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, Red Roof Inn, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Clearwater -Tarpon Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Clearwater -Tarpon Springs Hotel Palm Harbor
Palm Harbor Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Palm Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Clearwater -Tarpon Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.