We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monkeys, monkeys everywhere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suncoast Primate Sanctuary Foundation, Inc.

Suncoast Primate Sanctuary Foundation, Inc.
4600 Alternate Highway 19, Palm Harbor, FL 34683
727-943-5897
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 things to do in Palm Harbor
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Suncoast Primate Sanctuary is a non-profit 501(c)3 organization home to over 70 animals including Chimpanzees, Orangutans, Monkeys, Reptiles, Tropical Birds, and more! Whether coming to the Sanctuary after being a personal pet or retiring from the laboratory and film industries, the Sanctuary is here to provide these magnificent animals with a safe haven to spend out the rest of theirlives in peace and with dignity.One person can make a difference in an animal, child, or senior's life!
Fairfield, OH
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Monkeys, monkeys everywhere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A great place for a couple of hours of "zoo time" with your kids. The sanctuary is hoping to expand and really needs to do so. It is currently on about a 5 acre tract but could use another 20 acres. It is well maintained and the animals are entertaining, to say the least. Good, clean fun with great atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    41
    23
    11
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
HAines City FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Winter 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Lots of wild life/ birds, variety of raptors and birds of the coastal area of Florida. Many birds were in recovery from the gulf oil spill.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun visit with grandchild”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I found the staff to be very helpful and was glad to support the work they are doing with thier primates.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have lived in the Palm Harbor area for 14 years and never visited this place until today. It took a Groupon and a 3 year-old grandson who loves animals to finally explore the place I have driven by countless times. I love animals and have avoided zoos since I was little because I hated to see animals in cages. The animals here are in cages...but these cages are their "homes." They are clean, well cared for and very well fed. The volunteers were all amazing...kind, knowledgeable and committed to the humane treatment of these animals. We met "Pongo," a 15-year-old orangutan that "retired" from showbiz two years ago. He is a beautiful animal and our favorite of all their great apes. The animals have a variety of toys individualized for their likes, skills, etc. The Sanctuary also had exotic birds, goats, alligators, turtles, tortoises, ducks and a big snake. My grandson and I loved the place and we will certainly go back again and again now that we discovered it right in our backyard.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awsome Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Wonderful place most helpful staff you even get to hold aligators they get fed 5 times a day 24hour water licksits toys to play with and there not out in the wild having to wonder about bullets flying at them every day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suncoast Primate Sanctuary Foundation, Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Suncoast Primate Sanctuary Foundation, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suncoast Primate Sanctuary Foundation, Inc., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.